We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful American food!! If you're looking for Chinese food, don't go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Grill and Pizza

American Grill and Pizza
Zhengyang Road, Pedestrian Street, Xiangshan District, Guilin, China
0773-8999922
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 288 Restaurants in Guilin
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Pizza & Pasta, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: This is restaurant is in a new section of the Pedestrian Street in Guilin and not even listed on google maps. I got the address, but it's all in Chinese. The place has only been open for 6 weeks.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful American food!! If you're looking for Chinese food, don't go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

After eating so much Chinese food day in and day out, we gladly welcomed a change. This place had the comforting taste of home! Americana at its best with quality ingredients. Great price for a foreign restaurant. You really can't compare it to local cuisine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guilin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"What a treat"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I first read about this restaurant here on Tripadvisor and had to try it for myself. It is small but during nice weather have added seating outside. The marinara was wonderful with homemade garlic bread for dipping. I had the lamb and was extremly happy with the quality and the baked potato was a good choice. George, the owner, wanted me to try his in house made ground beef patty. and gave me a sample. It had very good flavor and just enough moisture. I will have to try the burger next visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nothing special to me - but I do not miss the US when travelling through China. In addition, food is overpriced and Chinese kitchen is much better and more tasty.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great American food in Guilin! What?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Absolutely, legitimately great American food that even my two picky daughters loved. It all starts with great ingredients ( nothing spared) and finishes with friendly service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food is delicious and the service is very friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

American Grill & Pizza is a great place to hang out and eat great food. Menu items include burgers, sandwiches, spaghetti, salads, pork chops, baked potato, etc. They recently added two of my favorite foods to eat, fish sandwiches and philly cheesesteak!
My favorite dish has been the fish sandwich. The fish was fried to perfection and it came with all the fixings including homemade tartar sauce.

We have been there so many times now that the owner knows us by name and food preference. The service is very good and the atmosphere is very laid back. The waitress tries her best to speak English and is eager to deliver great service.

One of the great things about American Grill & Pizza is that they will make accommodations or special orders. My wife has a food allergy and they were more than willing to cater to her dietary needs. The staff always make us feel welcome and special. I only wish that the place was bigger for parties or group gatherings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Grill and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to American Grill and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Grill and Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.