We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guilinyi Inn, Guilin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guilinyi Royal Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Guilinyi Royal Palace to your Saves list
Guilinyi Royal Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.117 Huancheng West First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 109 Reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Guilinyi Inn, Guilin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at Guilinyi Inn located in the Botannical Gardens. The Inn offers a buggy service pick up to and from the gate entrance, there is a great shopping centre just out side the gardens and it is only a short cab ride to downtown Guilin. The staff were very helpful with limited English, we managed. The teahouse is fantastic, breakfast was filling but limited, we ate out every night. Very quiet in the hustle and bustle of urban China. The room appointments are very luxurious considering it is a very affordable room rate. Well done Guilinyi for the memorable stay we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks a lot for your praise of our hotel.We will do it better !Welcome back you next time in Guilin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this new hotel is out of the way in the botanical gardens. On the positive side, the hotel rooms have a resort look to it, as it is quite spread out in the gardens and it certianly is quite. The environment is very pretty with lovely views over the gardnes, It is quite luxurious and the rooms are very nice, well fitted out and quite spacious and comfortable.

However, it had the feel of a struggling hotel - very few guests, empty restaurant at breakfast and more evidence of staff than guests.

The location is quite isolated from downtown which we found to be inconvenient, Next time, I would opt for a hotel closer to town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will do it better!Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I book the trip to Guilin for one night. It locates in a botanic garden with beautiful surroundings. Newly open hotel with pools, bridges, tea house, and nicely planted trees making it a beautiful chinese style garden.

They charge us around 300 RMB for one night, which is a very good price for what they offer.

The room is nicely decorated with big bath as well. We were offered a coupon for the teahouse, which I cannot compliment more. The tea house was lexiously built and with live classical chinese music. We really enjoyed the time drinking tea and having snacks in the teahouse.

The only thing I am not quite happy about this hotel is the breakfast. Not matching the standard of the rooms and setting, could have been better.

Room Tip: We had a honeymoon room which is romantic with bamboo trees outside our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your praise of our hotel. We will do it better.Welcome back next time in Guilin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our first hotel on mainland China. It is in the Botannical Garden away from the commercial/downtown district. Beautiful setting -- peaceful and quiet. Friendly staff. Large rooms and baths. After day long tours, we elected to have our dinners at the hotel instead of venturing out in cabs. This is one area they can improve on as far as offering a more varied menu.
Good breakfasts. No regrets for not staying in-town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thnak you for your highly praise for our hotel! ‘Bit of Paradise’,it will encorage us do it better.Welcome back next time in Guilin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We're a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids under 12). We booked the hotel through Expedia.com. We traveled in May, and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, total of two rooms. On the description, it says there's complimentary airport pickup, but we were charged 200 RMB for it. We booked the Li River Cruise tours (CITS Tour Company) through the hotel, we were charged for 4 adults and 1 child. (480 RMB x4 + 300 RMB x1) The first hint that I knew we were tricked was when we were on the cruise, the tour guide counted us as 2 adults and 3 children. Later on the trip, we talked to a local gal who also joined this tour (booked through her hotel), she told us that she paid only 350 RMB for the tour. She told us that she found out other people have paid 315 RMB. I highly suspect the hotel has a sweet deal going on with the tour company.

Anyway, the assistant hotel manager tried to get us to sign on to more tours for the next day of our trip, going to the Longji Rice Terrace. We were touring China on our own, and at every city (Beijing, Xian, Shanghai and Guilin), we booked a private car with a driver to take us to sightseeing places. If we had wanted to join a big tour bus, we would have done that from the beginning of the trip. Anyway, we booked the hotel car with the driver prior, and the manager would not let us take the car to go to Longji Rice Terrace, saying that their hotel cars NEVER go to far places, and would only allow us to go within the city. He simply wanted us to book the CITS tour through his hotel, so he could just earn the commission. We had been to other city before Guilin, and we knew from experience that when we booked the car and driver, the price difference between the daily rental for inside city limits and out city limits is around 100 RMB difference. But the manager told us that he would not let us go to Longji Rice Terrace with their hotel car. We even offered to pay for the gas, and 100 RMB extra on top of what we had already paid for the daily rental, that he gave us ridiculous looks and would not budge for the longest time. Only after we told him that he could go ahead and charged us 1400 RMB total for what we would have to pay for five of us to go on the tour with the tour company that he relented. His attitude was very bad, he kept telling us that there was no way he could let his hotel car go this far. Anyway, we ended up paying 100 RMB in addition to the daily rental fee of 500 RMB. While we went on the trip to Longji Rice Terrace, we chatted with the driver. The driver revealed that he drove out to Longji about 7-8 times a month, and out to Yangshuo about 7-8 times a month. The other days of the month, he would take the hotel guests on the city tours. So, the manager outright lie to us about their hotel car does not take hotel guests out of the city limits.

The hotel is situated inside a botanical garden. Its atmosphere is serene and beautiful. The hotel rooms are like apartments. So, when you go to your room, you have to go in quickly, otherwise you would invite some insects or mosquitoes to your room. We were given two rooms right next to each other. The rooms were comfortable, and the showers were fine. The beds were firm and clean. Everything about this hotel's amenities are great except for the assistant manager, whom I think should be fired.

We booked the hotel through Expedia, and got them for US$130, included breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, when we went to eat breakfast, there was no breakfast buffet in sight. We had the choice of either ordering the American breakfast or the Chinese breakfast. And since we only booked 2 rooms, they only gave us breakfast coupons for 4 breakfast per day. And for our youngest to eat, we would have to pay 65 RMB extra. While we were there, the restaurant manager was very apologetic that they did not have breakfast buffet. He said that since they only have 50 rooms, and many of their guests do not eat breakfast at the hotel, it was only cost effective to eliminate the breakfast buffet. Currently, Expedia.com still sell hotel rooms with breakfast buffet at Guilinyi Royal Palace, that is totally false advertising. We felt very much let down, since we had stayed in Beijing, and Xian prior to coming to Guilin, and the hotels we stayed at had very elaborated breakfast buffets. One good thing that the restaurant manager did was made some french fries for my kids off the breakfast menu, since they were not used to eating Chinese foods, nor did they like eggs and ham.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review and we staff will improve our service and do it better when next time you are in Guilin.Thank you!Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you are looking for something different that does not cost the earth this hotel is amazing. We walked in and felt like we did not want to go anywhere else but just enjoy the room and view. The hotel is located in a park and the grounds are amazing. It is great to walk and amble about. The rooms are spotless and staff are pleasant - especially the cleaning staff.

I can not recommend this place highly enough- please ask for a room with a view. It is so worth it. we spend many an evening having a drink and just looking at the view.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear guests,thank you so much for you praise. We will do it better !Welcome back you next time in Guilin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Unfortunately, we only used this hotel for 1 night on our way to Yangshu.After experiencing this atmospheric place, we highly recommend it.There is a free airport pick-up, which is a big plus, if you don't have any other arrangement,plus, as a previous customer pointed out, it is in the Botanical Garden and not many people know about it, in addition to the fact that it only opened in October 2011.If you are looking for a cozy place to stay which is not a high-rise non-charachteristic building, stay here. Mac, was very helpful in our correspondence prior to our arrival.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Director of Sales at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your reviews, good service is a part of FIVE STAR HOTEL. Hotel management will keep it forever.

Mac Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guilinyi Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilinyi Royal Palace

Address: No.117 Huancheng West First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilinyi Royal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guilinyi Royal Palace is located in Guilin central park---the botanical garden, which covering an area of 120,000 square meters. It is well provided with pleasant environment both inside and outside. The inn imitates the architectural style of the royal garden of Tang Dynasty. It has 52 different-style rooms in total, among which rooms on the first floor are provided with beautiful gardens and others are designed with independent scenic balconies. Besides, this hotel has complete facilities including a Chinese restaurant, a function room, Tasting Tea House, Pond Bank Cate, Sunshine Swimming Pool, etc. It’s really a good place to go for tourism, leisure and regimen. Furthermore, it is close to 101 Amusement Park and TOO Commercial Plaza, the biggest recreational and commercial district in Guilin, about 5-minute drive from the railway station and the bus station as well as 30 minutes from Guilin Liangjiang Airport. It’s pretty convenient for dining, shopping, sightseeing and traffic. Request Id 6558803 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guilinyi Royal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilinyi Royal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.