We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River View Cafe

River View Cafe
17 Binjiang Rd, Guilin, Guilin, China
7732883603
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 284 Restaurants in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 22 Reviews
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Ph: 0773-2183969
Restaurant details
Description: Ph: 0773-2183969
Cape Breton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were so excited to eat here based on the reviews,but were disappointed with a few of our selections.The Waldorf salad, while different than usual, was quite good as were the spring rolls. however, my pork chop steak was terrible. Ist was fatty and had a strange texture. My companions had the filet of sole and it was under cooked. The presentation was lovely and the sauce for the pork chop was good, but it really was not good quality meat at all. The meals came with vegtables,but it was two pieces of broccoli ,one piece of carrot and one thin slice of potato,so order a side of potato if you are hungry. The service was great and they spoke English.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenzhou, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place, cool feel, western food options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My group came here after touring Elephant Hill and it was a nice stop for a lazy afternoon meal. It wasn't too crowded, had many western food options which was refreshing, along with some good local beers. I liked the decorations too, as they seemed to be pictures of the owner's world travels and excursions.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good choice, given local circumstances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We decided to try River View Cafe after reading reviews and checking out the other options located in the main tourist-commercial streets. Place looks like a cafe, but you can go there for a full meal. What we liked about the place is that they serve local food (with a few western options), are used to tourists, but is not the obvious touristy option (the kind of place that you will meet group of tourists). Prices are very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton and we had read the reviews for this cafe. Yes, it rates it's excellent reviews. Nice location across the street from the river. Quiet setting, very nice decor, clean, comfortable and the waitress was very pleasant. My wife had the spring rolls, delicious and I had the lamb steaks set menu, excellent mushroom soup, fruit salad and tiramasu for desert (roughly 22 dollars).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the Spicy Chicken with Guilin Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was wonderful getting out of the heat and into a restuarant with great food.n Their smoothies are good, too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River View Cafe also viewed

Guilin, Guangxi Zhuang
Guilin, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Guilin, Guangxi Zhuang
Guilin, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to River View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.