We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this basic budget hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 193 Reviews
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommend this basic budget hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I booked for three nights, however upon my arrival I quickly decided that Guilin itself isn't the right place for me and that I wanted to go onto the more picturesque Yangshuo. The hostel is good value for money, I paid £52 total for a three night stay. I was on the second floor and the wifi worked perfectly. Surprisingly comfy bed, i didnt sleep that well due to noise from busy road outside my window. I was unable to close my window as the lock was broken :-( , the walls are also very thin which meant the noise travelled easily to my room. Cleanliness was average but this didn't bother me as it was adequate for the price I paid. The shower was freezing cold and upon turning it on the whole bathroom was wet including the toilet as there is no shower curtain- not ideal but it's ok.


I would recommend this hostel but only to those who don't mind noise & cold showers.

The staff are excellent, I cannot fault them at all. Very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I’m sorry that you didn’t find Guilin up to your expectations. However, I hope that you like the paysage of Yangshuo. Because of the convinient location of our hostel, near the renowned Li River and surrounded by many tourists sites, it also brings some noise of the trafic on the road. It’s a pity that you have to experience all that. Nevertheless, it’s only that one row of rooms that are affected by it, others are perfectly quiet. Next time when you stayed with us, we will surely arrange you a room of quietness and with a great view. Oh, do come by and visit us again! We can surely change the average impression you have formed of Guiln. As the heater is on the roof top, it may need a while for the hot water to come to the second floor. So, it would be better if you turn on the water and leave it for some time before get in to have a shower. But thank you so much for the suggestion of having a shower curtain. It’s a brilliant idea! As you have said, our hostel is cost-efficient. We will try our best to make it a perfect ecperience to stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    53
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
48
44
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The price started a little high for the room when we got here. After the first night we asked to get another room, no problem. The new room was a little bit smaller so we could actually stay in the old room for the same price as the smaller! Woho!
Great staff!

The Lobby/common area is great, relaxing music and comfy sofas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

By far one of the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The rooms at this place were so spacious and comfy,stylishly decorated as the owner is a painter.The best location in Guilin,a few minutes walk from the Ming Palace in Guilin old quarter.The famous pedestrian street, a shopping paradise is about 500m away.Plenty of restaurants and eateries close by,2 supermarkets right across the road.
Downside: Expensive breakfast and drinks.The price of beer was 4 times the price of the ones sold across the road. So,those of you who loves to drink,just cross the road, and stock.Also,in my opinion,LiQ (a beer produced in Guilin is great),and better then famOus Chinese export,TSINGTAO.

Room Tip: The following rooms are great:201,301,401(the corner ones).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I know of three International Youth Hostel in Guilin. All are very good but I like this one best. This is the second time I stayed at this nice clean friendly hotel. As others have said, the staff here is most impressive. The room was excellent, the people were nice and the breakfast buffet was very good. I Will stay again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I kind of randomly chose this hostel but I am so glad I chose this one. It is simply one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at and I have stayed in over a hundred... The girls at the reception work hard (as well as everyone in the hostel) and service is very efficient.
Beds are comfortable, big lockers for each guest, private bathroom, toilet paper provided (it is rare in a hostel in China!), bed light and various plugs for each bed, cool chill area/bar with TV, pool table, food, drinks... I had a great time and had to extend my stay a few days. Thanks for teaching me mah-jong! One of the girls took me out for a BBQ and I tried food I had never tried before, delicious! I will definitely recommend this hostel to anyone I know going to Guilin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi, thanx for your review~
I just want you to know that we enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed staying with us. It is a little bit of a pity that you didn't won during the ma-jong game, though. Hah, next time then! Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future and you'll beat us all by then. Best wishes and lots of love to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in MingPalace hostel during the busy chinese holiday period. Despite the busy time the staff was super friendly and helpful. It was nice to get to know them a bit better not just exchanging a few words while paying. They had time to talk/ interact with guests, made me feel like at home among friends, which was very nice. All that and more not mention that i left my lucky shorts in the hostel which i will collect in different part of China, thanks to amazing staff in Ming Palace :-) ..i thought i would never get the shorts back ..how cool is that?! Hostel itself is very clean and cosy. Highly recomended! Will be back!
Thomas

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a great experience in this hostel. The place is well located in a calm street. We had a large clean room for a 100/n. Staff was very friendly and helpfull, spoke quite good english. The common room are pretty big so that it doesn't get too loud. Good breakfast and fare price food. The 5th floor roof terrace also has a nice view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Address: No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.