We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying and Relaxing by the Beautiful Lake Side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nissi

Cafe Nissi
18 Binjiang Road, Guilin 541001, China
0773-2829055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 250 Restaurants in Guilin
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Dessert, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe Nissi is now moved into a new location and providing a 100% smoke free environment! ** Breakfast service is currently unavailable **
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Enjoying and Relaxing by the Beautiful Lake Side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Situated by the side of the beautiful Ronghu Lake of Guilin City---Pleasant location, nice atmosphere, freshly cooked food and good service. It provides me with a wonderful place to relax, to enjoy my breakfast and dinner, with the delicious home made food (including both western and Asian food) and the tasty tea and coffee. I like the special home made dumplings. Also free wi-fi service is provided.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

I found Cafe Nissi is a great place to unwind and relax as it's lacated at one of Guilin's most scenic and tranquil locations. The staff were also happy to accommodate my requests, I personally like the breakfasts, the home baked breads, and especially the dips and the Bananna smoothies.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely People, Place & Peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Big thumbs up for the brownies, sometimes they make bagels and a lovely place for a cup of coffee on an afternoon walk around the 4 rivers 2 lakes. I think there is better for main meals. They speak good English. The burger lunch was good! Other dishes I have not tried yet but these are safe good bets and in my view (living in Guilin nearly 3 years) I would not go any other place because the view, environment is so nice. This is not one of those places where you will be deaf, or have someone smoking in your face, its non smoking inside! :) So a breath of fresh air on two counts. I use to visit the lijiang river (near walking street cafe's) but the sound of all the traffic, scooter alarms would drive you crazy, as the cafes all have a road between them and the river, so not ideal there. Overall choice is not as good, but coffee and location make this a nice choice in Guilin for expats or anyone walking around the 4 rivers 2 lakes and wanting a nice afternoon drink or coffee. Price is a little cheaper than average. Most cap coffee in Guilin is about 30-35 RMB in a cafe, this is about 25 or less from memory.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“mixed quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Reasonable quality Western breakfast, expensive by Chinese standards, ONLY if the owner is on site. The girls (family?) are slapdash with a couldn't care attitude and the food is poorer.

Closed all day on Sunday.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

A most helpful, people orientated proprietor. A great place to sit and relax under the shade of trees, looking out over the lake, drinking coffee or a cold beer and watching the World go by. Wi-Fi available. What more could you want. If you came for top cuisine you'd be disappointed but the food we ate here was fine for us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nissi also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.