We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Western oriented @ all....nice room though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Hotel to your Saves list
Sapphire Hotel
No.9 Xicheng Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
3.5 of 5 stars 96 Reviews
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not Western oriented @ all....nice room though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The deluxe twin room was well appointed, clean & very comfortable, with only Chinese TV, if that is important.
Water was always hot when needed, A/C worked very well (in contrast to all other more celubrious places we stayed) & beds were also the most comfortable of all places we stayed to date.
This downtown area of Guilin is dirty with street hawkers/restaurants piling their waste in & around bins meant for pedestrian type rubbish. This leaves a permanent greasy waste footprint in areas around the hotel that is off putting to say the least.
The only real Western communicator/person @ the front desk is Jennifer & she is great, as is Yang Qing Qing who is very accomodating & helpful.
I sent some Europeans standing like rabbits caught in the glare of headlights off to KFC 2 minutes down the street when they wanted morning coffee & the desk could not understand or advise them on where to go.
The hotel is good value for money if you are not expecting too much in regards to Western stuff.

Room Tip: Choose the road side & make sure windows are closed properly. Close curtains, no room noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My son and I experienced a dreadful time at this hotel. We were given a windowless room which also had an offensive odour. The room was dark and dreary and we spent as little time in this hotel as possible.

The Internet service was temperamental and unpredictable and the hotel had no restaurant or toilet in the foyer.

In fact the only positive thing I can say about this hotel was the location. It was in the heart of the night market, the restaurant district and around the corner to the main high street with all the shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

LOCATION: The hotel is in a great location for enjoying the night market, it is literally at the hotel doorstep.
The streets out the front of the hotel have a selection of restaurants which really liven up at night. Perfect for a couple of nights stay.

TYPE OF ROOM: We booked a King Bed room via Agoda, this was approx $47 per night. And for that price, we weren’t expecting too much.
The room was large. Our room (608) overlooked the street the market was on, and we did not hear a thing all night.
The air con was quiet and worked well.
The bed was large and the mattress was firm (which we like).

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was quite modern with a decent shower, and good water pressure. Water did tend to end up all over the bathroom floor if you had a shower as there was a large gap in the door.
The bathroom was clean but in need of repair such as regrouting and some scrubbing on the tiles.
There were ‘extra’ bathroom amenities in this hotel room which were chargeable if used, such as a razor and cream, condoms and lubricant (which by the way we didn’t use).

CLEANLINESS: The room looked dated and needed a coat of paint, and some general cleaning.
I kept my flip flops on the entire time I was walking on any floor in the room as the carpet was filthy, not only in the room, but also the lift foyer and hallway of level 6.
I don’t doubt the room had been cleaned, but Id say the room needed a really good carpet clean and wall wash down.

CLOSET SPACE: There was a closet and general space for storing bags/cases.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with a decent selection of Chinese channels. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the hotel lobby.

SERVICE: Staff were pleasant and efficient. Given the number of guests we saw coming and going I actually think the staff did very well to still be so polite and smiling. While we were waiting to check out there were quite a number of very demanding and rude guests at reception.

OVERALL: ‘What you pay is what you get’, would certainly be the statement that comes to mind for this hotel.
The location is perfect for a couple of nights, the rooms are a good size and quiet.
If the rooms were cleaner I would certainly give this hotel a higher rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, less chance of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Usually people stay in Guilin for one-two nights and I believe this hotel it is the perfect deal for such a stay. The price is so low and the value of the room so high that you have to choose it. of course there are some negative points:

1. we had a horrible view on the back of the hotel where you could see everything you DON'T WANT TO SEE. However you stay there for two nights and you spend the day visiting, the view doesn't really matters. You could even be put in a better view room

2. No breakfast available, no restaurant. However there are few bars around

3. Walls are very thin, if you want to listen to music or watch television you will have to do so while listening to some kids crying or somebody talking. However after 11pm nobody was talking anymore.

4. Not the best area to go out for dinner unless you like snails. If you walk 10mins you will find better restaurants, therefore not such a bad point.

5. No wifi in the rooms, only lobby

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lower your expectations... we checked in late and they had CANCELLED our room citing we didn't call ahead and forced us to pay for an upgraded room with a PC with Internet.
Unfortunately, the Internet didn't work and the technician was very unhelpful and asked me to put in my own IP address. The location is near a crowded street market with many restaurant options and subway so that was great. The shower had major flaws as whoever designed it put a gap between the hinge and the door and water was all over the floor when you step out and I almost fell several times. If you can get a cheap rate then bearable, if not there are better options in Guilin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was worried the rooms facing the walking street would get the noise in the evening but that wasn't the case. There was sufficient sound insulation and the bed & pillow were very comfortable which made for a very good sleep.

The hotel changed name & ownership, and the rooms & lobby were recently renovated. After the hiking & trekking in Long Sheng and Yang Shuo, I certainly welcomed the elevator, even though it was a little slow. The reverse-cycle air-conditioner in the room works well in the summer and winter.

Staff are friendly and helpful but many may not be able to communicate in English.

There are several decors to the rooms. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious. The network cable provided stable internet connection in the room while wi-fi is only available in the lobby. The main light switch in the room is a little difficult to spot as it's positioned near the LCD TV, instead of near the entrance or next to the bed.

The bathroom and shower stall (yes, there is one!) are a little tight but adequate. Both hand shower and rose shower are available. Strong hot shower.

There isn't a restaurant in the hotel as mentioned in the other reviews but there are plenty of good restaurants around the hotel. The popular Zheng Yang Walking Street is about 2km from the hotel. The gold and silver pagodas are less than 1km away.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and couldn,t really complain about anything. Perfectly located, right on the night markets walking street. Close to all facilities, including bus station ( 5 minute walk)
Breakfast not provided, but close to restaurants, KFC and Mcdonalds ( if that,s your thing)
Lift is really slow, but that is a minot thing. Starway was in dismrepair and really not fit for walking. Wi fi in lobby only.

Room Tip: If you want to visit the night markets, look no further then here. Right on the corner. Street comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: No.9 Xicheng Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.