We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Guilin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Drive your way to Guilin
Ranked #2 of 462 hotels in Guilin
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in april 2014. As soon as you arrive you are greeted by a beautiful design of the hotel. The rooms were spacious enough and very clean. The bed was a king size and very comfy, had a good nights sleep. The upper floors provided a beautiful view of the river and garden. The bathroom was clean and very roomy. There was a room safe and everything worked well. The breakfast buffet was great with many choices to choose from, omlet bar, noodle station their croissants were the best I have eat. Outside the hotel is a very short walk to the main road which offered many local eating places and stores. The area is very safe to walk. I definitely would stay here again if I'm ever in Guilin again. All big hotels in China offers smoking rooms, Just ask and they will accommodate you.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room to avail the view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    161
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
221
23
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel with vast public spaces from another era. The rooms have a magnificent view over the Li River and the town itself with its karsts. The buffet breakfast had an excellent choice of food that was delicious.
We relaxed in the elegant lobby on our first night over coffee and pastries while we listened to a pianist.
We decided to dine in one night at the hotel's buffet dinner - exceptional value and quality including alcoholic refreshments. Grilled food, sushi bar, local delicacies and a gorgeous dessert selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights - on arrival we paid a small surcharge to stay on the Club floor as this included breakfast, internet and drinks in the evening in the club lounge. The room had a terrific view of the river and hotel gardens. The bed was comfortable, good pillows and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath and nice toiletries. There was a blanket and extra pillow in the wardrobe which was useful as the doona would have been too hot.
Breakfast at the cafe on level 1 had a slightly larger range of food but the club lounge had a great outlook and was nice and quiet. They would cook eggs to order if you wanted them. We also enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine there one evening.
The gym is well equipped. We also took advantage of the two for one offer at the spa for treatments before 6pm. We had a one hour massage and enjoyed that - slightly different style to massages in Thailand but very relaxing.
I would really recommend this hotel - staff are efficient and helpful and it is a gorgeous hotel to return to after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Initially not very impressed with this hotel, we had arranged airport pick up with the concierge, however on arrival at Guilin Airport at 11pm there was nobody there to pick us up. Calling the hotel, the concierge did not appear bothered that he had forgotten to arrange our pick up and was more interested in when we were going to pay for the tour we had booked. We negotiated ourselves a taxi - which actually was a lot cheaper than transfer price (taxi was 90RMB). On arrival at the hotel an hour later, we were greeted by concierge an hotel check in desk which was lacking on structure an professionalism, we were pestered about the tour and were utterly confused by the check in clerk who kept quoting different amounts of money we needed to pay- non of which matched my reservation confirmations.

Breakfast was average, not as good as other hotels we have stayed in china. Nice lobby area, room was okay, looking a bit tired as is the rest of the hotel. Bed was very comfy, nice pillows. Had an executive river view room which is also a view of the hotel gardens. We had a Horizon club room so used the club lounge happy hour 5-7pm which was nice, free alcoholic drinks, teas and snacks sat on comfy sofas overlooking the river.


On checking out we noticed there is a free shuttle bus from hotel into the town centre which nobody told us about which we would haves used as the hotel is a good 30mins from the Guilin Centre.

We booked the half day city tour as we only had one day and had heard that it's not worth doing the one day river cruise if the weather is raining or misty as you can't see the views. The tour was good, tour guide David was excellent and went out of his way to show us other parts of the river/scenery that weren't on the tour schedule.

Apparently this is the number one hotel in Guilin, which may be so but it's not one of the best hotels I've stayed in china.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Although hotel standard is not same as other Shangri La hotels, but it is the best hotel of Guilin. Horizon club is very nice and very nice lady manage it. It has a nice spa and good restaurants. We was there during earth hour and hotel had a nice ceremony for this event.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at the Shangrila Guilin and all Shangs are getting so predictable that they can be a bit boring too. once you see a shangrila you have see them all. big impressive lobby, same old luxury décor and same FNB concepts. rooms are well designed but again boring in design.
maybe they should hire new designers and change a bit their mind set as what luxury should be in todays competitive hotel world.
Staff are not as professional as in other locations, quite logic bearing in mind this is Guilin, with waiters they don't clear the dirty dishes, don't assist as much as they should, and the buffet offer has more quantity than quality.
I paid Horizon Club Floor and surprisingly for lunch time snacks at the club lounge there was only 3 type of fruits, sweet bread and nuts. they explained to me that the club only serves better food for breakfast and cocktail time but not for lunch. after I complained a few times - as a club should have at all times decent snacks even more when is a Shangrila - they invited me for their lunch buffet.
u always expect a lot from this type of hotels but this time I did not get any superb feeling.

shangrila needs a revamp !!

Room Tip: choose river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel that sits away from city. Spotless room with all amenities and free WiFi. Breakfast buffet is excellent with Asian and Western choices. They also serve lunch and dinner buffets that attract large groups who snatch food......we ate ala cart dinner one night and had difficulty getting a waiter's attention....but, our food was excellent....best vegetarian quesadilla ever......staff most accommodating of anywhere on month long travel through China.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 462 hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Guilin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.