We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hostel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wada Hostel

Save Saved
You added Wada Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wada Hostel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Guilin B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK hostel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent a couple nights at the Wada while in Guilin.
The dorms were clean. I liked that each bunk had curtains for privacy.
The stairs to the top bunks are very narrow and a bit difficult to get up and down.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
We tried to rent bikes, but the less expensive ones were mostly unusable with flat tires and crooked steering wheels. The newer bikes are expensive compared to others we've seen elsewhere.
The hostel's location is a bit out of the way, but one bus took us downtown.
The restaurant was a bit expensive and we bought food and drink outside for much cheaper.
One staff member recommended an excellent noodle shop in the mall complex across the street -- the restaurant with the giant pot in front of it beside the McDonald's.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    63
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
53
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I travelled alone to Guilin from Yangshuo and stayed in Wada for three nights this May. Stayed in the female dorm sharing with other three girls. Room was clean and bed was comfortable and soft. For a price of 25 RMB/bed, it was really nice.
They provide BBQ every Friday night,25RMB/person. To be honest, the BBQ was not that attactive to me, but it was indeed a good chance to meet new friends from everywhere.I love the yard with cool couches and sofas. You also can play with their cool dog "Simba" and Karaoke in the little bar.
A large supermarket nearby which was convinient to buy anything you need. Food was cheap, especially eating " Guilin Mi Fen"---a kind of rice noodle here, yummy!
Staff were helpful with booking short trips to places around Guilin. I went to Longji Rice Field then, and they helped to arrange the buses for me which I really appreciated.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Room was fine, beds comfortable. Only had breakfast there. There is a large shopping Centre across the road to the left from Wada. It has a good range of shops and a supermarket, also on the top floor there is a great food court. Just choose your food from the display and pay the central cashier who will give you a token for the value which you then take to food stall of choice. you don't need to speak chinese just point. There is also a small cafe at the back of the McDonalds (it has a large pot outside) which is known for it's Guilin rice noodle dishes, just point to the pictures of what you want, bypass the McDonalds and KFC and get some real food! Buses stop just outside of Wada and return to the Shopping Centre. Coming back to WAda at night I found it was dark entering the compound where Wada is, more light is needed in this area

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here a night to get a flight out of China from Guilin.

The Good
Hostel is great - I stayed in the female dorm (4 pax) with en suite bathroom, and it was great for the price. It's got supermarkets across the street, and shops to walk to nearby if you want to have a look at the other parts of Guilin that aren't at the central area. It's close to the bus and train station though, and the number 16 bus takes you to the airport bus stop (Y20 to get to Guliin Airport).

The Bad
Unfortunately the hostel's a little far away from the main sights of Guilin, so it'll be a bit of a walk (or a bus ride) to get to wherever you want to go. The staff also seem to be a little confused about the bus routes to the main sights and transport centres - I asked THREE different staff about how to get to the airport bus stop, and got THREE different answers - none of which were correct. In the end I just guessed and muddled my way through, which was (thank God!) correct.

On The Whole
A cute enough hostel, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in the Wada Hostel for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay there. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff are very friendly and spoke good English. The communal area was good with DVDs, pool table, Nintendo Wii and games available for use. They also have free wifi available for guests. Staff were helpful and even offered to come with us to places to translate which was very nice of them. Simba the dog is very friendly! There is also no smoking inside the building and they have a courtyard for people to sit outside. Location wise it is a little out of town but easy to find and close to the bus station.

On the downside the food and drink was a little expensive and the food was not that great but they did have a selection of Western dishes to choose from. The wifi would only work in the communal areas and was quite slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Overall: The only place we stayed in China (4 hotels/hostels) that didn't really have any cons. I usually stay in hotels not self-proclaimed hostels, but had a twin room here - it was great.

Pros:

Clean rooms/hotel. "Dirtiest" part was some of the tile grout in the bathroom...which I'm afraid looks slightly more prominent in my posted photo than it should.

Everyone at the front desk was always fluent in English, and various tours were available at very respectable prices, and could actually be well explained by the staff in English. Though note: If you book the Wada Hostel Longhshen/etc. rice terrace tour - you're really just buying a possibly-no-English driver to the terraces, not a tour per se. We were happy with that, but it was slightly different than we had expected.

Across from the hotel (diagonally across the intersection) is a mall complete with large supermarket and KFC/McDonalds.

Neutral:

Location is not in the city center, and thus not central to sights. That said, it is pretty close to the train/central bus station. Additionally, there are bus stops right outside the hotel with buses going into the center. And again - huge supermarket diagonally across the street. Overall, I'd say the location was great - but some might prefer being able to easily walk to the city center.

Cute rooms/hotel. Not amazingly beautiful, but cute.

Cons:

Actually none.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

Hostel staff helped us with airline ticket for Sanya and also tours near Guilin. Good English. Really recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wada Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.