We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice reliable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel
No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 515 hotels in Guilin
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice reliable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a nice reliable hotel suitable for western guests (as well as Chinese).
It is little bit warn out and beds are a bit hard (not like real Chinese but harder than western beds), location is handy, 10min walk from pedestrian street. Priced bit high and always busy.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms can be bit damp and smelly in damp months March/April
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    88
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
67
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Loved this hotel! Front desk gals were always helpful and kind, They all seemed to speak good English. Location was fantastic, short walk to nightly market, and directly across street to lake. View from room was great. I was on third floor, and room was quiet, clean and spacious. Shower water took a little while to get hot, but not a problem. It was funny having one wall of the shower be a mirror...not sure I needed that much information!
It was so fun leaving hotel front door and being able to walk around that beautiful lake. Nighttime is especially beautiful, but also great during the day as you see and hear singing groups, tai chi groups, grandparents and children, etc. It really is a community gathering spot.
We didn't eat in restaurant, so can't comment on dining. Girls at front desk gave me directions for my morning cappuccino and I made short walk to bakery every morning for pastry and coffee.
Decor in hotel as just gorgeous, it is like a museum and worth it to take a slow walk around the place. Loved the outdoor back deck on our floor...we sat out there and had dinner one night and it was lovely.
Really a great place; I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

During our vacation, we were able to stay here a couple different nights as our jumping off place. The front desk and breakfast staff were both very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms had a nice Chinese feel to the decor and the rest of the hotel had some beautiful antiques. The last night of our stay we had a very noisy family next door who were playing cards in the hallway. They had also done all their laundry and it was hanging throughout the hallway to dry. A bit strange. The view from the breakfast room is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovigo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we had a pleasant experience. Our bedroom was nice and quiet. We liked the traditional Chinese decorations and ceramics. The bar/restaurant offers a nice view of the lake. The only weird thing was that the hotel was empty and we had the feeling that we were the only guests. The bar/restaurant was empty and cold - we had to keep our coats on and my husband didn't feel well after having dinner at the hotel restaurant. The location was good - next to the lake where you can take a nice walk. The service was good - the people at the reception were nice and spoke a little English.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late December 2013 for 1 night (1 or 2 nights is probably sufficient for Guilin itself before you get out and about).
Positives:
The location is great, you can walk to all attractions of Guilin.
The room is clean, nicely decorated, large with a comfortable bed.
Nice ambience with antiques scattered all around the hotel as mentioned by other reviewers.
Nice breakfast room (our breakfast was included, it was fried eggs with bacon, nothing speacial but it was fine) with the view on the lake.
Free wi fi.
Friendly and helpful staff (they booked the Li River cruise for us which was good).

We only had one issue. The water in the shower was luke warm in the morning. Test your shower when you check-in and let the staff know if there is an issue so they can fix it. There is nothing worse than a luke warm shower on a cold dark winter morning in Guilin (you will have to get up early for your 8am pick up for the Li River tour).

We would stay again if we happen to be in Guilin.

PS As mentioned previously, they have an interesting selection of personal products for sale in the bathroom.

TIP: Walk down the street from the hotel past the Mosque - there is a pedestrian street there with lots of local and not so touristy restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. The location is great. A short walk to the city center. I ordered airport pick-up via eMail and it worked well. The hotel has a nice and individual design. Staff is hekpful and speakes good enough english. They booked a Li-River-cruise for me and I was satisfied. Room was spacious, clean and quite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were originally going to stay at the Shangri-La, but that was really expensive, and we were only staying one night.

This place was great. Our room was very pretty, and it was located around the corner from everything. We were able to walk to the Elephant Rock and all of the sights, which was really pleasant. Had we stayed someplace else, we probably would have had to take cabs.

Additionally, the hotel was kind enough to set up everything. They arranged for a cab to pick us up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Address: No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 515 hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.