We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Second Home'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel
No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 198 Reviews
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A 'Second Home'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our 4th stay at Jing Guan Ming Lou n it did not fail to disappoint.
The old charm is still there because of its location opposite the Lake as well as the interior of the hotel. Staff has changed but are friendly n at least one will try to speak English. There is now an elevator which really helps for those staying on 3rd n 4th floors. The 5th floor (which used to be a suite with panoramic view of the lake) is now converted a breakfast room. At present,pre- booked breakfast is western, nothing chinese at all.
The towels n shower have come "of age" and it's time to replace them with new ones. Hotel should provide iron for guests' use upon request.
We would still come back to this hotel as we are so used to it especially the location and also the fact that the older staff knows us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
78
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a good 4 night stay here - the rooms are excellent value, and we're pleased to report that the building works seem to be almost complete (or, at least, the major remodelling is now over - they are doing painting and carpentry).

Positives
Good position if you like to be adjacent to the lakes for pleasant walks while also close to the night market, and yet quiet from the point of view of nighttime traffic.
Stylish interior with interesting ceramics, pictures and carvings.
It's undoubtedly good value measured by style-per-yuan.
Charming and helpful staff who, in our experience, mostly spoke quite good English.
Restful interior design to the rooms, with dark woods and low lighting.
They now have a brand new lift to all floors.
They arrange good-value airport taxis (80 yuan, with a safe driver)

Negatives
Yes, the beds are hard, but you do adapt over a day or two (and I have a bad back).
The kitchen is currently closed for refitting - I believe they will be offering more meals once it reopens.
It's a 5-10' walk to restaurants and cafes: it looks like the cafes others have mentioned nearby (on the lakes) have closed.
They need to provide some better bedside lights for reading.
You can save 70+ yuan by booking your Li river trip via CITS rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is actually named Jing Guan Ming Museum Hotel. It is in a nice position beside the beautiful walkways around the lakes and only a ten minute walk from the main shopping street. As the name implies, the hotel houses a wonderful collection of antiques and curios. The hotel was half a building site, as they are widening the corridors, installing a lift and building a new kitchen. It should be good when completed but caused us some discomfort. Breakfast, which is not included in the room rate, had to be ordered the night before and was served in our room. The dining room was full of dust from the building works. The staff explained that there was no laundry service as the washing machine was out of order.
Our room overlooking the lake was quite comfortable, although for some guests, the bed may be a little hard. The wifi worked perfectly OK.
When the building works are completed, it has the potential of being a really lovely boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front, higher up, have a nice view of the lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A hotel in a decent location: 10 minute walk to a touristy market area and 15 minute walk downtown. Also right next to one of the lakes, which is nice.

The hotel itself has a lot of potential. It is tastefully decorated, which is a rarity in China. However, we were let down by a range of things:

- Tap water smelt like it had bleach in
- Breakfast menu in the room which told us to contact reception, but when we did, we found no breakfast was actually served
- Signs to locations within the hotel, such as 'restaurant', 'panoramic views' etc meant nothing, as all of these places were under construction
- Extremely loud construction noises at 9am which went on throughout the day
- Coming back mid-afternoon and the entire hotel was covered in some sort of dusty substance and it was all through the air. Also smelt awful, like paint and diesel
- No coffee within a 10 minute radius (!)
- Bed was extremely painful to sleep in. I have a bad back and my partner has a bad hip and both of these were made worse by the bed itself

Despite all of this though, the staff were nice enough, the location was good and the hotel did really look like it would be great to stay in once the construction was complete. The owner is onto a great concept here. We just wish we had been informed of the renovations prior to staying, as the rate we paid - around 38 pounds a night, which I suppose isn't a lot, but it still could have gotten us somewhere else just as nice.

A tip - we went to a place in town along a pedestrian street called Tai Marry for dinner. Really excellent food at a fantastic price. We had 4 scallops, rice with minced pork, vegetables, sichuan whole crab and 2 lovely juice mocktails for 250 rmb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arriving at 1am, the friendly receptionist checked me in and gave the key without delay. Throughout 3 nights stay, staff are all friendly and professional (even with my sometimes funny mandarin).

The boutique hotel may be unknown to many taxi drivers as it is at the quiet corner of the city center and only 4-5 storey tall. It is walking distance from the right side to the night market and Xicheng Pedestrian Street (西城路步行街).

Across the street is the Ronghu Lake (榕湖) where you can scroll along the lake especially at night when it is gaily lit up. There is a pick up point for the 2 river 4 lakes boat trip nearby.

The room itself is traditional chinese style with hard bed (common in china). There is no onsite restaurant at the time of my stay, possibly under renovation. Many positive reviews here compliment the display of antique collections throughout the hotel and it definitely added to the ambiance of staying here for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel has not heating systems so the rooms are very cold and hard to get a sleep in winter time.

They ask you for a exact time you want the breakfast served but you are there on time and the breakfast come late and cold.

We asked for a lake view room and we had to pay more for it but we were given a room with a very little view to the lake.

Construction going on next the room where we stayed at 4th floor starting at 8 am making a terrible noise

No matter if this is a a musem or not; people are looking for a confortable and warm room to stay which is not offered by this hotel.

We took this hotel via CTRIP who charges much more compared to the real cost of the room rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is also known as the Museum Hotel, as there are many antique (reproduction?) pieces and artwork on display, including in the rooms. This really is a lovely hotel. Cool, quiet and inviting. Right across from the lake, within easy walking distance of the night markets, great little restaurants and the city square. The staff is friendly and helpful and there always seemed to be one who could speak English. The rooms are large, clean and quiet, ours had a tree framed view over the lake. In the morning the ladies do Ti-Chi in the garden below. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, it was the best we stayed at in Southern China.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Address: No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.