We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in central Guilin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel
No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 469 hotels in Guilin
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value in central Guilin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Jing Guan Ming Lou Museum Hotel is a real find. Other reviewers have noted its unique decor which is a real delight in an age of cookie cutter hotels. The rooms are very comfortable if you can sleep on a hard bed, very clean and modern bathroom with all conveniences. The location is terrific across a quiet street from the lake and the lovely walking paths. All the major Guilin city attractions are within walking distance. I did not try the breakfast but there are plenty of restaurants and food shops in the neighborhood. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with reasonable English. Overall the best value hotel I have stayed at in China.

Room Tip: Better view above 3rd floor but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    84
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
61
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found the hotel staff very friendly and they couldn't have been more helpful when our aircon was not working properly - they fixed it! Their English was excellent, too, which was refreshing after being in two Beijing hotels where only one receptionist spoke English and she was often busy.

Breakfast was very good and quickly made although we had not ordered it, as we had not noticed the information about ordering the night before.

The hotel design was charming and very relaxing and the position of the hotel was perfect for seeing the town and the park, which was beautiful. The artefacts on display were interesting and added to the ambience.

Just a couple of negatives: the bath had a gap between it and the tiling and there was standing water in it. This could be easily resolved.

Another thing that the hotel may wish to consider is a permanent plug in mosquito killer. The weather was very warm and there were several mosquitoes in the rooms when we arrived.

However, neither of these two things detracted from our enjoyment of the hotel for the night that we spent in Guilin! Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful old Hotel with lots of interesting ancient displays of Chinese heritage. Good size rooms with a pleasant view of the park opposite if you clear the trees. Hard king size bed which was comfortable for us and the WiFi connection is good. English at the front desk is confusing at times and the breakfast is simple but ok. You can get your washing done cheap in the lower roof garden. Great views from the roof especially at night. Massive night markets just a short stroll away and the beautiful park opposite is a real treat for early morning exercise classes of all description around the lake. Bravo Hotel is close by for westrern dinning as this Hotel has no restaurant. There is also no lift. Shampoo and soap are scarce in the shower. Overall a very good Hotel in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: A higher floor has a better view but you need to be able manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's not always easy to find a good moderately priced hotel in China but I can recommend this one in Guilin. The owner had apparently considered opening a museum to display his collections but decided instead to use them to decorate a hotel. So everywhere you look are interesting objects and if you enjoy tea the rooms are particularly well equipped to make your favorite with tea sets and a kettle.

My room was large and comfortable and looked out on a leafy space where a group of elderly ladies cranked up the music at 7:30 every morning to practice their tai chi, a very pleasant way to wake up.

The staff was pleasant but not big on service. There is an English speaker at the front desk but, unlike other places I stayed, they were resistant to calling me a taxi when I asked but instead insisted I go outside and hail one myself. That was OK except at 7:00 one morning when I was going to the train station and there were none passing. A puzzling and inflexible behavior for a service business.

The location is lovely with interesting walks afound the lake on the doorstep. There are not, however, restaurants in the immediate vicinity so it was sometimes a challenge to find a place to eat, especially for breakfast.

My only criticism of the room was it was dark. Because the hotel is located in an area of trees there is little light coming in and the lamps all have low watt bulbs making it quite dark. If you need a bright environment this is not the place for you.

But all things considered I would stay here again if I return to Guilin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I loved this place when I stayed there for two nights recently. The rooms have a unique, designer feel to them and are very elegantly fitted out. My room was also very large, with a huge king sized bed and room for a corner sofa and coffee table. The hotel itself has all sorts of artifacts on display, hence the use of the word "museum" in its title. It's close enough to the centre of Guilin to take a leisurely stroll over or around the lake too. The only criticism from me is that the common areas are not air conditioned. The rooms do have air conditioning though, although it is noisy. This was very welcome on the very warm and humid two days that I was there, although I found myself turning it off at night so I could sleep.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Extraordinarily beautiful and interesting hotel//museum in Guilin. It is small, without crowds or fake luxury. The owner seems to be a serious antique chinese collector. Every wall is covered with wonders of superb quality, the breakfast room gards neolithic jars, as well as delicate chinese potery and porceline. It is a sheer joy to rest in such an exquisit ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is by one of the many "lakes" in Guilin, on the south side just across from the central plaza and the "western" street. It is a nice hotel for a couple of nights (but who wants to spend more time in Guilin really). The staff at receptioni were very attentive and welcoming. There is a small breakfast room, but breakfast is not included in the price of the room. You need to book breakfast the night before and there are a couple of options both ¥45. The rooms are big and clean. On the funny side of things, the hotel has an hourly rate for the rooms, so don't be surprised when you find condom boxes and such things to buy in the bathroom next to the toiletries. :D

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel

Address: No.9 Ronghu South Road,Xiangshan District, Guilin 541001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 469 hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jing Guan Ming Lou Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.