We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eva Inn

Save Saved
You added Eva Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eva Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.66 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 462 hotels in Guilin
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Like just about everyone I came to Guilin for the Li River cruise. I booked the Eva Inn online without having had the chance to read reviews but under the circumstances it was a good pick. Large, tidy rooms in a fairly central area of Guilin, the hotel also had a tour desk that charged very reasonable prices to book the Li River cruise (about 50 Yuan cheaper than the tourist office around the corner.

As for the cons, obviously the staff spoke no English at all and, although this isn't really the fault of the hotel, you WILL have locals attempt to scam you and the Eva Inn's proximity to the Sheraton (probably the most upmarket hotel in town) means that the scammers seem to concentrate on the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    125
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
34
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I walked in and booked this hotel on the recommendation of our Chinese driver. I did not read any of the reviews here before I booked my room.They showed us the standard double room - it faced the Sheration Hotel. The walk in rate was CY298, no breakfast - we stayed for one night and had to pay a CY600 deposit. The other type of room (which I did not see) was Y398 per night. This is a Chinese tourist class hotel.The good thing about the hotel is the location. Located right next to the river, Elephant Hill, the Lake, Zheng Yang Pedestrain Street ( where you get all the shops and restaurants).

The room is dated and the furnishing looked worn. But the room is clean, bedsheets are clean (beds are hard with 2 thin pillows) but the bath towels are really old (and grey). I speak Mandarin, so had no language issues and found the staff helpful. As it was raining that morning, we went for the hotel's breakfast at the restaurant on the 7th floor (it did have some kind of view) and paid Y25 per head for a typical basic Chinese tourist class breakfast buffet - that means all Chinese food - bread with pineapple jam only, boiled corn, sweet potatoes, cabbage, plain porridge with condiments, steamed mantous, fried rice etc but they did have an egg station where you can get fried eggs and they served decent brewed coffee - for these, I feel Y25 was a decent price to pay. Otherwise, you can walk out to the nearby Pedestrain Street where you will find a KFC and Mc'D.

There is free wi-fi in the room but signal is weak. Better to use the lobby's wifi. There is a travel desk but they seem to speak only Chinese. They arranged for our (2 person) transport to the airport for Y80.

For 1 or 2 night stay, I would recommend this hotel - as long as you know this is Chinese tourist class hotel and have the right expectation (smoking is permitted in the rooms).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yantai, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel, and somewhat romantic since it is near the Li River(just across the road) You can see folks dancing and enjoying the park near the river from your room. The rooms are small but clean. Be careful of tourist traps nearby.

Room Tip: Just be careful in the restaurants nearby. There is an internet cafe just down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We thought it was a very nice and clean hotel. We really liked the rooms. The restaurant was delicious and very well priced. It was well located too. Staff were OK but I didn't think it was great service. They had a travel agent onsite and was terrible. They didn't speak at all English and didn't try to help either. Great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The location is convenient found after searching. Booked the hotel through travel agent CTS. It was tween bed double room. After checking in found the carpet was dirty, Lamp shed was old and marked. Surprised that complelementary free bottled drinking water are not available. We were charged for using the botled water. This hotel has policy to make money from travellers purchasing in room utilitis eg snacks, condom, crisps, etc - It is like mini convenient store inside hotel room, not seen in other Hotels in this catagory. Never have this experienced.

Room Tip: You have to pay for bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

+ve :-
*Locatoin is good to all amenities and places to eat and see.
*Food on the 7th Flr Hotel is reasonably priced which is quite surprising IF you want a quick meal and NOT wanting to walk to the pedestrian mall behind.
-ve :-
*Foreign tourist/non-speaking Chinese will require guide service to get around or else get duped by over-zealous scalpers waiting outside the hotel.
*The female front desk personnel needed to do some PR courses in interpersonal skills to improve their attitude towards foreign non-speaking Cinese customers. One female staff(Cant read her name tag) was rude and loud to me whilst I was checking in on 25th Aug and since then, HAS NOT attended to me thusfar when I am the front desk. Almost everyone except the supervisor and mgr are unable to converse in English.

Room Tip: Great Location hotel ,BUT female front desk staff need an Attitude ReAdjustment course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Staff were helpful and kind, the room was clean and the bathroom too. There was a great restaurant on the rooftop overlooking the town, had great combo western/asain breakfast. . Great tour guide in the hotel called steve . his trip is better than the published tourist trip

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Inn

Address: No.66 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eva Inn looks out over Li River and Elephant Trunk Hill in Xiufeng District, Guilin, China. It is a cozy four-star accommodation of 113 guestrooms and boasts a gourmet restaurant with terrace dining. The rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, free high-speed Internet connection, mini-bar, and safe. Non-smoking rooms are available as well. Hotel services include a 24-hour front desk, massage treatments, tour desk, business center, and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Guilin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eva Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.