We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan to your Saves list
Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan
No.3 Zhongshan Middle Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 521 Hotels in Guilin
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Having asked to be changed from my last hotel I found this hotel to be worth it. Very helpful staff. Seemed to want to go out of their way to help. Usually at least one who spoke English. Rooms comfortable and clean and a good size. WIFI available everywhere. Breakfast was Ok although on my last morning I had a packed breakfast for an early flight - this was made up of cake and a pastry and water. (could have added fruit and yogurt).
Location not so great for shopping. There is a Chinese restaurant opposite which is very popular. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    81
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was close the Elephant Hill Park which proved to be a very worthwhile visit.
We had a room on the top floor. However there was no minibar fridge (which was advertised). I complained to the front desk and within minutes the housekeeping staff arrived at the door with a fridge. Unfortunately the fridge didn't work and they had no others to spare, so we went the four nights without a fridge: rather inconvenient! The beds were hard (as was usual in all the hotels we had stayed in) and the lifts in the hotel were inadequate. There were four lifts: one was out of service for the whole of our stay, a second was intermittently out of action and the other two were very, very slow. The restaurants on the second and third floor meant that it was always much quicker to walk down the stairs around meal times, rather than wait for the lifts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here with a huge group. The hotel itself is located in a not-so-special area overlooking an empty road.

The rooms are very spacey. Everything is working well and all the basic needs are provided in good conditions. Beds are a bit hard for those not used to Chinese bed.

Breakfast could've been much better. We only got warm bread and Chinese paos with little taste. I guess that is normal in China, but as a foreigner I was craving for more.

Ate dinner here as well, and got to say that the food here tastes a bit better and more 'normal' (conforms to foreign taste of Chinese food) than other hotels and even restaurants I've been to when in China.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

make sure you have the hotel business card or hotel address with you! there are 2 Vienna Hotels in town
we stayed in the one close to the river and large intersection
room 705 3 nights 20 to 22-11-12 normal price cny 300 p/night
room has standard fit-out: tv (chinese channels) kettle, no fridge, carpet looks worn out but room is very clean,
has special travellers power point near desk all other power points are australian 3way & euro american 2 way,
internet (cat5 cable needed), heating takes a long time to actually heat up the air (reverse cycle), towels changed every day,
hair dryer & special travellers power points in bathroom, soap & shampoo in dispenser unit near bath
door opens with card & card in storage unit activates power for the room
the english knowledge at the reception is limited, there are 2 in house restaurants

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The moment I arrived in the evening of Dec 1,I was greeted by a very friendly and smiling bellboy who warmed my heart and my body in the cold winter in Guilin!He is so helpful and genuinely concerned about you. Front desk staff generally are courteous too.The restaurant on the top floor is a letdown,plain and quite dirty. Spending 3 nights and eating the same breakfast is annoying!The supervisor at the restaurant is very good and she makes sure you are well-served. She even served me hot coffee when I requested it. This was a kind gesture on her part.Both the bellboy and the restaurant supervisor made my day during my stay there.I would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and fortunately.The staff don't even speak English. The breakfast is very poor (the dining room is even not clean). And if you choose a non-smoking room, it is more expensive !! During our trip we stayed in 5 hotels in China and it was the only one which charged us more for non-smoking room !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was a good experience. The infrastructure may be a 4 star but the service they offer is only a 3 star.

Pros: clean and spacious deluxe rooms, good service in general (but no single smile), stable internet connection (only cable), clean bathroom, very well located.

Cons: hard beds, communication in english is hard, no bathrobe, no wifi (as offered on agoda-website), no minibar, only 4 bags of tea (8 yuan per bag!!!), room service is only a 2 star, no airport transfer.

Approx. 45 min. drive from airport (fixed taxi fare 100 yuan, no taximeter).

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice and spacious, higher floors have a better view, hotel bedrooms start at floor...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan

Address: No.3 Zhongshan Middle Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel(Guilin Zhongshan) Hotel Guilin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.