We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Forest Hostel

Save Saved
You added Green Forest Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Forest Hostel
No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Guilin
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Central location, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night in a double room in Jan 13 for 90 yuan. The hostel common area is very nice, several big tables, sofas and a TV with Wii and loads of games. Got a free drink voucher on checkin!

The tours here were cheaper than another hostel I stayed at in Guilin and staff were very friendly and helpful.

The google map result for this place is completely wrong, if coming from the train station cross the road, walk left down the main road and the hostel is just before the bridge.

The room was a little noisy but the bed was great.

This isn't a party hostel but I did meet some nice people. If you want a party go to WADA.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonville, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our favorite hostel in China. Just returned from a 3-week vacation. The two rooms we rented at the hostel had large windows and comfortable beds. The common area was sunny, large and inviting with large windows, sofas, dining tables, a full bar and meal service. The coffee was terrific and the staff could not have been more helpful. We wish we could have spent more time here. Really loved the lounge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we had a really nice stay in Guilin and this hostal. we would recommend to everyone!!

The staff were amazing... very helpful and would bend over backwards for your needs. My Partner came down with a cold, they provided her with extra blankets, chinese medicine and ginger teas free of charge.

we stayed here the two nights that we spent in Guilin and if we were to come back we would choose this place again. We stayed in a Private double room which was what to be expected.. an average room to have a good quiet night sleep in.

The staff really made our stay the best and most welcoming staff so far from Beijing to Guilin!! If your visting the area you should really consider this place!

Thanks to everyone there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in room 204 for 2 nights. The room was large and had a nice view of one of the tributaries of the Li river. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and plenty of hot water. There was a kettle in the room. The TV only had Chinese stations. The wifi was really slow, but worked very well out in the common area.

The problem with this room was the noise. On the second night here, I had the worst night’s sleep of this trip so far. One whole wall of our hostel room was glass. That made for a nice river view, but beneath it, groups of men sit at tables and play cards and smoke and talk loudly. The first night was raining, so they quit around 9:00. But the second night, they kept at it until after 1 a.m. Their voices and noise even came through my Bose noise cancellation headphones and their smoke wiggled its way into our room despite the windows being closed. So then I started coughing. I was up til 3 a.m and we had to get up at 6:30 to get ready for our boat trip down the Li River.

We came back for one night’s stay after visiting Yangshou and were moved to room 229. This room is very large and sunny and has a small table and chairs, a desk and a window to a back courtyard. No TV and the wifi does not reach this room. The floor is light colored wood laminate, one of the walls painted a golden orange; there are nice paper lantern light fixtures and a big potted plant. The room is Zen-like. But, its now 6:30 pm and loud music has been broadcast all day from somewhere nearby. Its not bad for afternoon and evening. I am hoping it quits sometime reasonable tonight.

The hostel has a really nice and very welcoming and comfortable common area lounge, helpful, English speaking, young people working at the hostel, a decent small restaurant and a nice sound system. It is very centrally located. The local bus stop is 3 minutes at most. The long distance bus station is 10 minutes at most. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. There are posted signs with instructions for how to take local transport to the famous sights. There are some good sights within easy walking distance, too: the Two Pagodas, the Elephant Trunk Park, the night market. The hostel will arrange tours, boats down the Li river, trips to the rice fields, taxis, etc. They have a small washing machine that they will let you use for free and a drying room to hang clothes. That was very convenient for us because we needed to wash clothes. If it weren’t for the noise (from outside the hostel, not from within) I would give this hostel a 10 out of a scale of 10.

Room Tip: avoid the river view rooms (see my review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espagne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The service is very good!! they have in lobbing games like mahjong, there is card games a mini billiard, books...the connection wifi is really fast but not work in our room.. The hostel is located near the river and within walking distance of train and bus station its really convienient. The staff speak good English and are more than willing to help, We had a single room which was lovely and clean, western toilet and silent room. The common area has computers and good music, as well as a small restaurant. I highly recommend, just the price it's a little bit higher than other places...
Great atmosphere in this hostel !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently had a couple of nights here at Green Forest and would definitely recommend staying here! The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable and all staff were very friendly and spoke really good English. They helped us to organise a (slightly cheaper) trip to the rice terraces which was a good day! It had a pleasant feel to it and would have no hesitation in coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I liked this hostel. It was easy to locate on arrival from the train station, and only a ten minute walk (or cheap taxi) away. It is centrally located - restaurants and places to eat are just outside and up the street. And other attractions such as Elephant Trunk Hill and river boating is an easy walk away. (Also remember to check out the footpath across the river that descends from the side of the hostel!).

The hostel itself is laid back, with a bohemian vibe. There are dozens of rooms, 6 bed dorms with en-suite showers. There are people from many nationalities, to the point where the majority of books on the shelves are non-English. There is a mahjong table where Chinese groups often play, and a poster on the wall explaining the rules to anyone interested in learning. But the star residents are undoubtedly the two cats who live in the hostel lounge - you can often find them fast asleep in an armchair or on a shelf!

There is a kitchen which serves food and coffee from morning until night - and a night time there is a fridge full of beer, and a menu full of cocktails to order. The staff are polite, friendly, and helpful. There are a number of tours bookable from reception, such as to visit the minority tribe villages, or to boat on the River Li to Yangshuo. For $5 a night, you can't really go wrong!

P.S. Also note this hostel is predominantly named the How! Hostel, with a red logo, rather than the Green Forest group of hostels that it is listed on tripadvisor under.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Forest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Forest Hostel

Address: No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Green Forest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Forest Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.