We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CNY600 F&B or Spa credit
Ranked #3 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It seems like you have gone back in time when entering your room. Walking through a quite long corridor you will find a complete bathroom and a dressing room before you enter an incredibly spacious bedroom, with Classic style furniture, paintings and curtains, with a large desk and a extremely soft king size bed. Every single object in the room seems antique, and there is a whole lot of carefully chosen items to help you out in any possible need. From connecting cables hidden inside a antique box, to suit brush, it is hard to find anything missing. However, that is all you get from the past. Every single choice, from the lightning to the curtains position is made by carefully positioned switches. Really exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleTANQ, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Pedrolpanema,

It was so kind of you taking valued time in sharing your pleasant experience with us here. It was truly a pleasure to discover the unique European elegance at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou. The Artwork Discovery program is one of them. Plan your next trip here and spend more time in exploring with us. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Nicole Tan
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    250
    38
    6
    10
See reviews for
24
26
20
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having stayed in the other GZ hotels for long I decided to change to other hotels offered by my comp just to at least explore a bit more of this city, and this hotel was definitely a great start. Just staying a night before the crowded fair time (Oct 9), I went there by taking a random taxi from offices, which was a challenging start. Speaking to the driver the hotel name, he didn't quite recognize (!) "Ritz Carlton" in Chinese, though he later knew it by the name "R&F" part in Chinese name which I believe is the partnering company of this hotel.

Anyway arriving the hotel the service was great as expected. After some casual conversations with the check-in staff, I was told that my reserved non-smoking standard room was no longer available, but a bit of surprise was the staff asked if I'm fine with smoking room. I am not sure any smokers would initially prefer non-smoking room but wouldn't mind a smoking room. But as a non-smoker, I definitely don't want to stay in a smoking room. I immediately refused with a "reward" of a upgrade room.

The upgraded room was luxurious, beautiful, roomy, pleasant, as many expected / said. Facing the river, the room was supposed to have a good view even at night when the sight-seeing tower lit up. But it soon turned off lights at 11pm, about the time I checked in. Better luck next time.

After a comfortable sleep, I headed down for breakfast, before realizing that the promised newspaper wasn't delivered. The breakfast was great with loads of choices as many mentioned.

Check-ins were efficient as a business person needed. There are some minor things that would be great if improved, so to keep itself up to the top 5-star level.

Room Tip: Ask for river-facing room, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This will be my main stay hotel when traveling in Guangzhou. I stayed here during October 2013 for Canton Fair and more. I will definitely be back.

Easy shuttle to fair. Also, concierge arranged taxi for me to get to airport at 6AM to travel to Beijing.

Very helpful staff. Very clean hotel. Good room service. Very comfortable and quiet. Beautiful view of Canton Tower! Excellent cigar lounge, Churchill Bar. Cant go wrong.

Room Tip: high room facing Canton Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a terrific hotel with very nice club level in the only area you stay in town. The Four Seasons is in same area and is a beautiful property but very crowded while the Ritz appears to be calmer and more private. Great rooms and great breakfast buffet but doesn’t offer any health club/sauna benefits. However, across the street from the hotel is Great/Blue Wave a fabulous sauna/massage experience that is on par with the sauna experiences in Korea with hot tub at 40 degrees with lots of different jet settings, hot tub at 44 degrees and a cold tub at 18 degrees plus steam and sauna and lots of massage offerings. Very reasonable in price and very clean. The area around the hotel, the new town area, is unbelievable with amazing architectural and a well planned park area-truly amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights from 14-17 October 2013 for Canton Fair, they have a shuttle bus from and to the fair. Well organized, they have the Ritz standard, They greet you, they make conversation with you, compare to other hotels in China they have a quite good English. The decorations are nice with European style.

I tried only one restaurant, FOODS, the breakfast over there is nice but i tried the buffet for Dinner on 14 October, it is overpriced the variety is not many, nothing special on the choice and it is always empty on the favorite foods such as oysters, big prawns and many others because they did not cook fast enough. That is why i only tried the dinner once.

I tried Churchill bar on the 3rd floor it is very good one of the server is European and of course he speaks English very well, he recommended me a Red Wine, the Red Wine was excellent. The ambiance is also very nice, comfortable not too noisy a good place to have a chat with your friends. Well Done

Apart from the Dinner issue there is nothing to be complained about, i still give Ritz 5 stars rating. Good Job Ritz Carlton Guangzhou

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleTANQ, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Winata,

First of all, thank you very much for staying at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou during Canton Fair, and sharing your wonderful experience with us.

I am delighted to know your compliments on our ladies and gentlemen from Front Desk and The Churchill Bar. The Churchill Bar is the place boasts the largest selections of Single Malt Whiskey in South China. If you are a Whiskey lover, I definitely recommend you to try next time and you will really enjoy it.

With regards to your suggestions on FOODS buffet dinner, we have shared this important comment with relative department and surely we will improve it. You will find it different in your next stay.

Again thanks so much for taking time in writing us your experience and suggestions. We highly appreciate it.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou.

Best regards,
Nicole Tan
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel's service is impeccable. The staff are very attentive and friendly. They strike up a conversation with you and if they notice you might need something, they will jump to it to recommend. The room was big and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable, The toilet was quite sizeable. Was was a bit strange was that the TV was beside the bed and not in front of it. Another thing, which is a minor point, is that the the flouring between the bathroom to the start of the carper area was a bit soft and bouncy. This hotel is not modern but it has a old world charm. The breakfast spread is extensive and delicious. They have cuisine of many kinds. The food at the Chinese restaurant was excellent and a great place to entertain. The Italian restaurant's food was lackluster. I enjoyed staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleTANQ, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Oriss,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time in writing kind comments to us. I am glad to hear that everything was impeccable in your stay, especially with our ladies and gentlemen. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou very soon.

With best regards,
Nicole Tan
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a good property, very standard Ritz's room. Front desk staffs are very professional. Breakfast is so so. Gym is nice Pool spoiled by all the construction sites around. It is outdoor pool, you can imagine all the dust flying around. Due to the building and structure, all the pool side beds are shaded, at least when i was there. I prefer to have some sun bathing but no luck.
Room is quite roomy. Bath room is nice. Handheld shower water pressure has room to be improved. Too me a while to figure out the lighting in the room. Internet speed is slow, typical China problem. Bed is very comfortable, just Ritz Carlton.
Incident I faced was despite I have asked for late check out till 3pm, DND sign on. I received 3 calls from the staffs checking if i need my room to be make up, if i need to extend my stay and someone knocked on the door ask if i have laundry at all the last 2 hours.
Other than that overall is a good hotel. I just hope they could improve their training.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleTANQ, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear VolVic,

Thank you very much for staying with us last week, and taking valued time in sharing your experience with us.

I am so glad to hear that your compliments on our professional front desk staffs, Gym and bath room, especially with the Ritz-Carlton bed.

I appreciate you bringing up the pool, shower water pressure and room service issues to my attention, which I have already shared with my team for the sake of special attention and future improvement. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you. Should I can be of any assistance, please feel free to send me an email at Andrew.Rogers@ritzcarlton.com.

Thanks again and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Andrew Rogers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#132 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the new CBD Pearl River New City of Tianhe District, the 351-room Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou is a luxury destination in the hub of Southern China. With 40 minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport and ten minutes from Guangzhou East Railway Station, hotel provides travel routes to various destinations in China, including direct trains to Hong Kong which take less than two hours. A series of new city landmarks such as Guangzhou Opera House and Guangdong Museum are at just steps away from the hotel. Distinctive services and facilities include 6 restaurants and lounges serving Cantonese and Western favorites, special cigars and wines. From intimate groups of ten to a conference for 800, meetings planners can choose from over 1,000 square meters / 11,000 square feet of exceptional function space available in The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom, three multifunctional meeting rooms, two boardrooms and spacious pre-function areas. An extensive health club and The Ritz-Carlton Spa® rejuvenate body and mind, while The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level anticipates guests’ needs with its dedicated personalized service. The Residences at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou features 91 luxury serviced apartments of one to four bedrooms in size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
Ritz-Carlton Guangzhou
Ritz Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ritz Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.