We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The penultimate of luxury in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #3 of 2,798 Hotels in Guangzhou
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
550 reviews 550 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“The penultimate of luxury in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Everything that you would expect from the Ritz-Carlton. Opulent luxury, gigantic comfortable rooms, and impeccable service. Situated in a great location right next to the Opera stop on the APM metro line, literally next door to some architectural marvels: The Guangzhou Public Library, Museum, and Canton Tower. Beautiful pool and nice cardio equipment in the fitness center (no weights).

Not my typical choice to stay in a place like this, but my company had a great rate for business travel so could not turn down the option. Breakfast buffet is great! This is also home to Lai Heen, rated one of the top 10 restaurants in all of China. I had to try for this reason alone, and found the 3 bites of fish for my $50 to be absolutely delicious! This is a place I really could have enjoyed if I was not footing the bill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGuangzhou, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    246
    38
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
24
20
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz-GuangZhou for a "Saturday overnight business break" while in China. It is great. Brand new facility, focused courteous staff at all levels, beautiful decor, very nice location ( on the river and next to the GuangZhou Museum and impressive public library). As you wait to check in -- not long at all -- you are offered tea and a wet cloth. My room was a real "Wow"... Large, beautiful bathroom and a closet that was like a walnut-constructed library. Given our brief stay I really didn't have a lot with me but I was compelled to hang up my one shirt just to make use of this amazing closet -- it wasn't huge but I have never really seen anything like it before and I have seen A LOT of hotel closets.

Breakfast is extensive and can be had inside or outside on a patio, which we did listening to classical music and Christmas carols.

AND the Churchill Lounge is a must place for a drink ... and cigar with colleagues!!!...an excellent selection of Cubans and DRs. My only suggestion for the hotel is that it needs to deepen its stock of bourbons and wine at the bar....it falls down in this space. While nothing is perfect, the RC in GuangZhou is very close to it.

Give it a try!!

Room Tip: Any one is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGuangzhou, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely consider your suggestions about our Churchill Bar. Look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Super noisy! So many construction sites nearby. Cannot sleep at night! Called the front desk and complaint about the noise, I was told that there is nothing they can do. Not many places to eat, surround by all those new buildings. Not convenient at all

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCGuangzhou, EAM of Rooms at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your message. You are most welcome to contact me at chris.sommers@ritzcarlton.com. Your direct feedback is much appreciated. I will personally follow up with you. Look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back.

Chris Sommers
EAM of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for one week whilst on a work trip in Guangzhou. The location is a bit far from the shopping and exhibition centre. The hotel is truly stunning and you would never believe how new it is, it seems like it has years of culture built into it (in a good way)

Not many of the staff spoke good English and communication was a big issue, especially when ordering food in the resturant. But they were all very polite.

The rooms were beautiful and the pool and spa were great although it doesnt get much daylight, only about 4 hours. One frustrating problem was the lifts, of which there are four but it takes about ten minutes to get up and down, if you want to go to the 30th floor for example, they stop about 6 times on the way and sometimes go back to ground before taking you up again!

Was one of the most relaxing and luxurious stays Ive had for a long time. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleLv, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! Lovely to hear your compliments. Welcome you again to The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel on my birthday and they have decorated the room with balloons and the roses. I could spend really nice birthday with my fiancee on that date. I would desire to be there if the price gets bit lower :D

Room Tip: Very Expensive but perfect/romantic atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Guangzhou during November. I am pleased with almost every aspect with the hotel rooms, facilities and especially its exceptional service. Our standard room is large with classic decor, with very spacious marble bathroom. there is central panel that controls lighting and shades. Hotel staff is very helpful. Each service call is responded within less than 5 minutes. Solutions are delivered with competency and courtesy. I would like to give special thanks to Paul at Concierge. This was our first visit to Guangzhou, and Paul went out of his way to recommend historical sites with detailed maps and transport routes. We are delighted with out brief stay, and will surely return on our next visit. Congratulations to management!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

my last stay in GZ was in ritz Carlton. this hotel chain is very well known of its high quality. the room I stayed in was just a superior room but it was beautiful. the service was of cause great. the view from my window was perfect too. I had a memorable stay here. but the price was over 3k during this peak season of the trading fair.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#125 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the new CBD Pearl River New City of Tianhe District, the 351-room Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou is a luxury destination in the hub of Southern China. With 40 minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport and ten minutes from Guangzhou East Railway Station, hotel provides travel routes to various destinations in China, including direct trains to Hong Kong which take less than two hours. A series of new city landmarks such as Guangzhou Opera House and Guangdong Museum are at just steps away from the hotel. Distinctive services and facilities include 6 restaurants and lounges serving Cantonese and Western favorites, special cigars and wines. From intimate groups of ten to a conference for 800, meetings planners can choose from over 1,000 square meters / 11,000 square feet of exceptional function space available in The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom, three multifunctional meeting rooms, two boardrooms and spacious pre-function areas. An extensive health club and The Ritz-Carlton Spa® rejuvenate body and mind, while The Ritz-Carlton Club® Level anticipates guests’ needs with its dedicated personalized service. The Residences at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou features 91 luxury serviced apartments of one to four bedrooms in size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
Ritz Guangzhou
Ritz-Carlton Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ritz Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.