We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Canton Fair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Marina Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Marina Plaza to your Saves list
Royal Marina Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.288 Qinghe Road, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511400, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yantai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Canton Fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Recently we spent 3 nights at the Royal Marina Plaza Hotel while visiting week one of the Canton Fair. The hotel had courtesy buses to take us to and from the fair which made everything so easy. Service was very friendly and nothing was too difficult. Rooms were clean spacious & beds comfortable - which is not always the case in China. The only think I found was that the hotel was a little isolated from anything else, and while taxis are cheap it took us nearly an hour each way to get into central Guangzhou. One service you should definitely use while you are staying at the hotel is the spa - specifically the massages. A group of 6 of us (2 women & 4 men - yes I did say men) booked in for a foot massage after a long day on our feet at the fair. Just brilliant!! Not only did they massage our feet, but our legs, arms, neck, shoulders, back, all while our feet were soaking - they served us dinner & drinks also. I would just about return to experince this again. One of those "different" and "very funny" moments that I will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    91
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

ok all i have to say is good,,, I stayed in an Executive Suite for approx 10 nights,, hotel gave me a great price... Breakfast was good but i only woke up to it i think 2 times... Area is great... loved my stay and want to go back... every night when i got back to the hotel after visiting factorys, we first got foot massage body massage, and i even got my ears cleaned... then it was off to the clubs,, didnt really go to the KTV club in the hotel caus it was just rooms... wanted a proper bar / club for night time.. taxi was easy to get...

Bellboy went shopping with me,, when i wanted to go shopping,,, staff very profesional and friendly,,, it was wow... rooms were good, bed was good..

the executive lounge was great.. free food, drinks,,, etc... so that was great... i spent a lot of time there... and the food in the chinese restaurant was actually good...

only one issue,,, after one of my nights out with the factory owners, i met this friend of one of the factory owners, who after a few drinks, ended up driving us back to my hotel and ended up back at my hotel room spending the night,,, she was hungry and so ordered room service at 3am or 4am,, she ended up in hospital the next day from food poisioning,,, she was ok after, and i ended up firing my driver as she had a better car and decided she was free to drive me around where ever i wanted to go... bonus no need to pay a driver...

Hotel overall i would definately stay again and again... and recomend to everyone

Room Tip: go for the executive suites,, and up,,, as the executive lounge is good,,, and go for the massage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

For those of you who have to stay around Payun District for business, this would be a good option. The service was very good. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. Room rate was reasonable. I only tried the Japanese restaurant there. For pretty good price, you can have a sushi buffet, including lamb chop. I highly recommend it.
The only complain I have is that when you try to exchange money, they double check every bill and rejected many bills because of minor things, such as one tiny tear. So it took forever to get money exchanged, and at a lower rate. But I guess that's probably due to higher risk of counterfeit.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

After a long day this is heaven to come home to.
The rooms are extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean and spacious, though could use better lighting.

Restaurant - good.
Spa - EXCELLENT !!!! love the spa, reasonably priced and a perfect pit stop before heading off to sleep. (though i fall asleep during massage).
Better if you could stay at club level, same floor as spa.

A little dull if you are looking for nightlife and are travelling alone.
The lobby bar is quiet. I've been the to Kareoke bar, however was dead.
Given up on looking for nightlife at this hotel, but always appreciate the excellent sleep and comfortable stay.

Have met fun people on the patio during dinner.
I would love to send these people some cd's to play as for years I've been hearing the same Backstreet Boys circa 1998 being played over breakfast and dinner.

Service all around is excellent, though again I would suggest pointing at menu when you want something.
When asking for white wine, expect red...and vice versa. I've shower a few of the waitresses how to properly open a wine bottle. They are all exteremely sweet.

Another restaurant within walking distance which is quite good - Green Island.
Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My partner and I went to Panyu for a little romantic weekend break, and I booked this hotel after checking the reviews here.

The room was of a high standard I believe, at least for China. Loved the king-size bed. Everything was very clean. I liked everything about their room. We had some really good sleep.

Food at the Star Lounge was good. The breakfast buffet was fine, but not excellent. We didn't have time to try any of their facilities, unfortunately.

It was not cheap, but you do pay for what you get.

I don't think there's anything to do around Panyu except to see Chime Long's park and their show. So we probably won't come back again. I would really like this place to be in Guangzhou centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This is one of the regular hotels booked for business trips to Panyu. It is always clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is decent and there are enough restaurants for a short stay (not many other choices in Panyu). The service is good and reliable. The beds are large and the mattress is fairly soft (by China standards) so overall pretty comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend asking for a room way from the karaoke bar. I am not a light sleeper and it didn't bother me but I could hear singing until the early hours on Sun night / Mon morning. For a fellow business traveller with a busy work week, this could be quite annoying!

I would rate it a 3.5*-4* business hotel. For the leisure traveller, staying closer to GZ would be a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed at the Royal Marina Hotel for one night for business. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and large. The buffet breakfast was good. Front desk staff spoke English. Free internet and satellite TV with a lot of English channels. At $90.00 USD per night with breakfast a good value. I would rate this hotel a solid 4 stars and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marina Plaza

Address: No.288 Qinghe Road, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511400, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#37 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#39 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#39 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marina Plaza Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Marina Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.