We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard bed w/ springs poking your body” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IT World Hotel

Save Saved
You added IT World Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IT World Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 Keyun Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510665, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 2,710 hotels in Guangzhou
Markham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard bed w/ springs poking your body”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I am staying this hotel for a trade show in the expo centre; my friend in China booked this hotel for me through his HR dept. to save me trouble.

I've read some not so good reviews on this forum before, but decided to take a chance. Well, it didn't pay off. It's a 2 star hotel disguising as a 3.5 star hotel.

They messed up my reservation; originally, I was going to stay here for 6 days, but they had only booked 1 night; so when I asked them, they said they can move me up to a better room tomorrow night for a fee. Considering all the hotel is booked up in this area, so I didn't have much choice.

Anyways, my suggestion to you is this, if you're a light sleeper and require a good bed for sleeping, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    51
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Overall I can say that staying in this hotel was worthy. We choose the hotel because it was close to Canton Fair un Pazhou Complex. The rooms are good enough, the price good. Generally I can say it is good experience.

However, avoid Restaurant. The service is very poor. There are not capable to attend a crowdy hotel, while you have to stand there watching others to stop eating and leave their table for you. Even in less crowdy stays, the food is poor and the service is terrible bad. It took more than 30 minutes to get a dessert, finally they came with the wrong dessert and at the end they charge you a tip, that they don't deserve

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We loved this hotel for business and would stay there again, In fact now we're in Shanghai and first looked to see if there were here so we can book or stay

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

This is an average Hotel. Near to Pazhou exhibition.The good thing about this hotel was they arranged India buffet dinner during canton fair. No shopping mall, No place to hunt is close by location.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — No shopping mall or restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed there for whole 20 days as I had lots of work in the area.
The hotel is close to the canton fair, but about 5 miles away from the ideal center of the city - about 20-25 RMB by taxy.
The room and bath were OK. Very convenient digital panel next to the bed controlled all lamps and appliances both in the room and bathroom.
The bed was firm as is usual in China, but no too hard.
It was noisy. I could hear every single car on the street.
The staff doesn't know much english. Very basic. The restaurant has no western food as advertised, the breakfast was also completely foreign to me - didn't like it. The massage-girls also did not know any english and were not so skilled.
The internet access was free as advertised, but only wired with only short cable on disposal.
Overall it is acceptable for the price, but I would not go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I d say i agree fully with the statements of golden_planet. Its not aa pleasure to be here.

And the breakfast for instance is really not suited for westerners.
The baked beans are not done, the orange juice is just syrup. I could continue. Its not worth the money.
Its close to convention center though, but also far away from centre of city. Rmb 40 gets you there though.
No gym here. Quite loud, rooms are not sound proof.
Staff doesnt speak english, makes it difficult to even order roomservice.

Choose another place.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IT World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IT World Hotel

Address: No.20 Keyun Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510665, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#351 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#351 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#351 Casino Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IT World Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your IT World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
It World Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IT World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.