We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IT World Hotel

Save Saved
You added IT World Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
IT World Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.20 Keyun Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510665, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 2,386 hotels in Guangzhou
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited Guangzhou for business purposes.
The hotel was arranged by my hosts as the location is a walking distance from their office.
The bottom line – good value for the money.
The rooms are newly decorated. Wide and comfortable. The Bathroom is modern and pampering (big shower!!!). Breakfast is very good with wide variety.
The location was great for me and in over all the stuff tried to help with any issue.
However, few minor things stopped me from giving the full star review: The Air-condition stopped working at the morning and only a natural wind vented out. The water on in the shower (the used water) did not run out fast enough so after 3 minutes you were standing in a pool. There is not effective closet, the existing one is too small.
I most probably get back to this hotel due to the good location. I will make sure to get the same room again :-)
(1023)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window as there are non windows room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    51
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I travelled to Guangzhou with my mom this past May to attend the Canton Fair. It was a last minute decision so in the end we didnt have much choice in terms of hotels. Having looked at the photos (misleading) of the IT World we decided to give it a go since it was close to the Fair and included breakfast.

Rooms:
Upon arrival we were very disappointed with our room to the point where we considered going somewhere else but it was non refundable so we had no choice but to stay. It was dark, smelly and claustrophobic. The mattresses on the bed were awful. I think I read in another review that you could feel the mattress springs. I can confirm that indeed you do. As for the shower, it didn't drain properly nor was there any pressure. We just never felt clean. Also at night you can literally hear people slam their room doors and hear them walking up and down the halls. While we were there, they were doing construction in the middle of the night (only one night) which in my view is unacceptable.

Hotel Staff
Nobody at this hotel speaks English so that was very frustrating. There was one person, the desk clerk, that spoke a little English and in all fairness she tried her best to help us out but it wasn't enough. Please be aware that this hotel will take a 1000RMB refundable safety deposit upon arrival. When you leave remember to get it back because if you don't mention it, they won't either. That is what happened to us.

Breakfast/Restaurant
We were happy that we had breakfast included but we were so disappointed at the lack of quality. The breakfast eating area itself was not clean and needed serious renovation. The breakfast buffet was just random things thrown together like pasta, dumplings, bacon, noodles etc. Although it sounds tasty none of it was trust me. That being said, what saved us was the omellette bar where the chef made you one on the spot with whatever you wanted in it. This sustained us for a few days but to our disappointment one morning we realised that the service had been taken away since the canton fair was over. We were staying a few days extra and still had breakfast included. When the staff realised our disappointment, they brought us an omellette and then charged us for it. We just sent it back. To me this was totally unacceptable. And on the last day of our breakfast, my mom saw a cockroach run near the fruit bowl. We just stopped eating and left.

Conclusion
I am not a picky by any means. I have been to many countries and stayed from the best hotels to the basic. This hotel was a big let down and if you ask me, we got ripped off but we are to blame as well since we booked last minute. I am sure if you book in advance you can get something a lot better. If you're stuck and you can afford it, I'd put in an extra 50-100 dollars per night and get something a lot better. In the end, do not stay at this hotel. When I think of it all I can think is 'gross and dirty'.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzele
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

we were invited by chinese company, big big room, with kitchen, big bathroom .... suite ???? but so dirty and old !!! after more then an hour of big discussion, they put us in a small, but clean :-) room. not friendly at all , and no english !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I arrived there on May 2 2011. They gave me a smoking room , so the cigarette smell was awful. I requested a changed, but they did not have more rooms available. In general the hotel is not that bad if you do not care about food and comfort . The hotel need total reface . The maintenance is not good , so you can see the deterioration all over the place. Only few people speak English like every where in Guangzhou. The hotel has a good location for the canton fair in the new complex. Price is cheap. You have to be careful when booking and ask rooms with windows. The breakfast buffet is included , so you can not spec for that price to have a 5 stars hotel buffet.

Room Tip: Ask fro rooms with window and non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I am staying this hotel for a trade show in the expo centre; my friend in China booked this hotel for me through his HR dept. to save me trouble.

I've read some not so good reviews on this forum before, but decided to take a chance. Well, it didn't pay off. It's a 2 star hotel disguising as a 3.5 star hotel.

They messed up my reservation; originally, I was going to stay here for 6 days, but they had only booked 1 night; so when I asked them, they said they can move me up to a better room tomorrow night for a fee. Considering all the hotel is booked up in this area, so I didn't have much choice.

Anyways, my suggestion to you is this, if you're a light sleeper and require a good bed for sleeping, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Overall I can say that staying in this hotel was worthy. We choose the hotel because it was close to Canton Fair un Pazhou Complex. The rooms are good enough, the price good. Generally I can say it is good experience.

However, avoid Restaurant. The service is very poor. There are not capable to attend a crowdy hotel, while you have to stand there watching others to stop eating and leave their table for you. Even in less crowdy stays, the food is poor and the service is terrible bad. It took more than 30 minutes to get a dessert, finally they came with the wrong dessert and at the end they charge you a tip, that they don't deserve

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We loved this hotel for business and would stay there again, In fact now we're in Shanghai and first looked to see if there were here so we can book or stay

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IT World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IT World Hotel

Also Known As:
It World Guangzhou
Address: No.20 Keyun Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510665, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 2,386 hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IT World Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Otel so you can book your IT World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IT World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.