We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect to much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Century Hotel to your Saves list
New Century Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.43 Huadu Xiuquan Dadao Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not expect to much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hi just go back o the uk ,stayed here for 5 nights. ,not much English spoke ,and do not ak them to change up any uk pounds ,they will not ,so not very 4 star ,
Rooms are not great ,only stay floor 23 they are better ,or tell them on the check in ,you want to see the room first
Breakfast is not for us to be honest ,,the bar no one seems to us ,but on a good note it is not very expensive ,
But,just a good 3 star is the true rating .
Harry

Room Tip: Ask for a good room ,or ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    107
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
3
19
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our flight from Sydney to Guangzhou was delayed so we missed the last connectimg flight to Shanghai for the day. We were put into this hotel overnight by China Southern Airlines. The hotel's lobby looks great, however when we entered the hotel room the 4 star hotel dropped to 3 stars immediately. The room is spacious, but poorly furnished. The minibar had a bad smell and it was empty and unconnected. We had to ask staff to connect the minibar and ordered some cans. The beds were so hard as if we were sleeping on a log. The towels were not white, but grey. I actually took them down to the front desk and requested replacement. The buffet breakfast had limited and low quality food. The worst thing was that the waitresses did not clean the placemats once diners left. They just shook them and put them back on the table. I have visited China many times and this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed. I will not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel or fly with China Southern Airlines if possibly avoidable.

Room Tip: Pullman Baiyun Airport Hotel is immensely better, it is a difference between heaven and earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After being delayed in Sydney by fog for an hour, we missed our connecting flight to Shanghai. We were on a Wendy Wu tour (fantastic by the way) and they arranged a hotel for the night. We had to wait 30 minutes for a bus and then it took another45 minutes to the hotel. The New Century Hotel looks rather grand with a huge open lobby, the staff has very limited english skills which do not help with check in.The hotel kept the restaurant open for us as it was around 10pm that we arrived. We had room 1322 which was large enough with two 3/4 beds. No top sheet on the beds just a doona cover, bed was as hard as a rock!!! this is not uncommon in China. Bottled water is a must in China as you cannot drink the tap water safely. Hotels usually supply two free bottles daily but, in this hotels' case the fridge did not work so we had the water at room temp. We had a shuttle bus pick us up the following morning at 5.30am the ensure we were on time for our flight, as we were very early breakfast was unavailable but the hotel did a package for us to take. It consisted of fried bread and spread, a boiled egg, two small tomatoes and a tub of youghurt but no spoon.But it was something at least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for first 3 days of Canton Fair phase 1 and again first 2 day of phase 2. Bed is firm which I don't mind. Showers were terrble, like standing under a hose. Rooms were a good size, plenty of space to spread things out on our return.

Food in the restaurant is OK, just. They seem to concentrate on quantity rather than quality. Breakfast, the biggest downfall was the toaster, a 4 slice model. One slice gets cooked perfect, two middle ones don't cook at all and end one cooks half your toast. I did pont it out the lead lay said, "I know".....came back second week, No change, manky old toaster still going.

Hotel looks grand, operative word 'looks', staff speak very little English, and they seem to have no idea where the bus leaves for the airport and leaving the lobby its just to the right of the entrance about 30 meters. Our helpful bellboy rook us and our bags past the sop area and around the back. Luckily one of the kitchen staff came out and put him right. So our second visit was a lot easier.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoker room if you don't otherwise you can smell the smoke. Don't go to breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a 15hr stop over traveling with southern china, thinking i would be sleeping on the airport floor, it was a trip i was not looking forward to,so i was pleasantly suprised to say the least when they informed me i would be staying in a hotel, even happier when we walked into this hotel after mabe 30mins traveling in a small van, yes the bed was abit hard but everything else was ok, no complaints at all for a freebie!

kudos to southern china airlines and new century hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we stayed there for a night as our flight was cancelled and we were transfered to this hotel. i think 7 th floor is reserved for airlines. The room was odd in shape ,very dimmely lit. Only one ceiling light in the room.The room service was pathetic,didnt know english at all. The hotel had a very old chinese feeling. Didnt enjoy at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I don't recommend this hotel just because bad location. The Hotel is located in a big district in north of Guangzhou, called Haudu. This district is near to Airport but very far away from city. there is no transport to the city unless Taxi (more than 120 RMB, if you are lucky). other way is taking taxi to airport or one of Metro stations (Renhe) and continue with Metro. both of them will take minimum 1 hour.

Positive points: Big reception area, minimum one English speaking staff in reception, clean, big and safe rooms, free Internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Address: No.43 Huadu Xiuquan Dadao Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.