We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have stayed here thrice in the past three years - it's really a good hotel at affordable prices. Nice large beds and bathroom, friendly staff with good command of English, good location in the heart of the old town right next to the main pedestrian street (lots of good food) and near the metro and more Western comforts (mall with hypermarket). Also it's part of a global chain so you get to chalk points and be assured of quality (not always the case in China, even at so-called "5 star" domestically-run establishments)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind word. It is our pleasure to ensure a great stay and memorable experience for our guests, and many thanks for your valued feedback and encouragement to us. We would look forward to having you stay with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    322
    57
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
66
38
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

holiday inn as the name is very good hotel , but location is little odd if you want to move fast in guangzhou , cant get taxis very fast as location is slow and far from mtr station , but pedestrian street is very good and is near to liwan plaza if you have work their

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable opinion concerning your recent stay to our property. We are pleased to learn of that you were satisfied with overall service delivery during the whole process of staying experience. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is clean and staff is very helpful. A minor issue is communication with staff since not all of them were capable of communicating efficiently in English. However, they were really pleasant. Breakfast was really good and the setting is soothing. The location is directly next to a street market with many things to buy. I would stay again if I returned.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback with us.Your recognition would undoubtedly be a great encouragement and motivation to our team to keep aiming higher and better.Thank you once again for all your great and continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the nearest future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Don't be surprised that it's rated at 4 stars: a lot of the Holiday Inns in China are upscale hotels, instead of the usual "nice motel" you find in the USA.

You can't beat this location. Bustling shopping area; and it feels great to be able to pick up some street food downstairs after midnight. The area is very old-fashioned authentic Guangzhou-style. If you are coming to Guangzhou for the first time, this hotel is probably a good place to start from.

My room was nice and spacious. Lobby had beautiful Christmas decorations when I visited too. The buffet breakfast provided a nice spread for both western and Chinese food at reasonable price. There was even a little canal in the restaurant. IHG member recognition and treatment were very good.

The hotel does show some age but the management tries their best to keep it up to date. The only problem I ran into was bathroom glass door didn't close tightly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable staying comments during your recent stay in our property. We are pleased to learn of that you were satisfied with overall service deliveries during the whole process of staying experience. For any further comment or enquiry, please send e-mail to serviceenquiry@holidayinnshifugz.com. Once again, thanks for your comments and hope to be seeing you on next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Staying here for two nights. Hotel is on a major shopping area with one side a total pedestrian walk and a small street on the other. Might be hard to get to with most taxis. I got a taxi from the immigration terminal that I thought was a mistake at first (380 RMB) about $60 American,but they picked me up in a new car and took me directly to the front door. Hotel staff is nice. I got room 1215 on the Exec floor facing the street. VERY NOISY. Then at 11pm everything closes but all night construction across the way was so noisy it was impossible to sleep. Asked for a room change which was not granted. Don't go if you dont like a noisy crowded area. Construction is going on now while I write this. Wait a few years. Staff is wonderful. Rooms are large American style rooms. Carpet is filthy as with most Chinese hotels.I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Much grateful for your unvarying staying and thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your feedback is very important for us to ensure ongoing satisfaction to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have just arrived at Holiday Inn Shifu. After staying here before, it being close to area we need to stay, we made sure the booking included breakfast. BUT now they say that breakfast for 4 nights, 2 people, we must pay an EXTRA 828 rmb, around $200aud. It doesn't show up on the receipt that I have anything about breakfast, but I know that when I booked the room, the main thing I checked when paying, was that breakfast be included. I requested non smoking room, room smells of cigarette smoke.

The hotel is nice in reception area, the room is clean and spacious, apart from stink of cigarette smoke.

Asked about late check in (4 hrs), they want half a night extra money, which I think is a bit steep.

The staff are helpful, but really I think we have been a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu. We apologize for the inconvenient and upset experience that you had during the period. Necessary training is provided to the entire team to improve the service. We appreciate your views regarding your stay, and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights in late December. Ample space in the deluxe room that we booked. Service was fine, except for the slight lapse at check-in. We arrived after 3pm, with a confirmed booking that we made over a month prior to arrival. So it was a little puzzling when we were told that our room wasn't available as the room had yet to be cleaned following the late check-out of a priority member. Eh... isn't late check-out on request? If so, why should the next guest with a booking confirmed over a month ago be made to wait? To be fair, the frontdesk staff were apologetic and worked to get the room ready in about half an hour. The hotel's location -- near a buzzling pedestrain shopping area, though yet still quiet enough for a good night's sleep -- was fine. Proximity to food joints, including those that serve up local breakfast fare, and also to spots like Shamian Island and Qingping market, was a certain plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind word. It is our pleasure to ensure a great stay and memorable experience for our guests, and many thanks for your valued feedback and encouragement to us. We would look forward to having you stay with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#71 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.