We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 2,831 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Courneuve, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel’s centrally located, nearby a pedestrian precinct. Many shops all around. The rooms are somewhat old fashion but comfortable. I don’t really like the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is served. For Western taste there is a buffet area, where also the breakfast is served. Wide choice, eggs, the chef prepares a too, basically everyone found something. Tasted it was sufficient however the great breakfast buffet from Hong Kong over, where I recently had been.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    320
    57
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
65
38
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Holiday Inn Shifu - September 2012 and again the hotel was great.

This time we travelled with our two children, we had a very large and very clean twin room.

The location is wonderful - straight out the doors and you are on Pedestrian Street, great shopping and lots of places to eat.

It was a bit of a walk to the subway, but we still did it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is all about its location. It is located in Liwan district with immediate access to Shangxia Jiu St (shopping and food). Walk the other way and it leads you to QingPing Lu for pet shops and rows and rows and buildings of Chinese dried goods which are sold at wholesale prices! An overhead bridge further from QingPing will lead you to Shamian Island - all within walking distance. This is important for our 3 nights stay, as it rained for 2 days and we still get to enjoy the best of Guangzhou.

Room:
- Very big but smells damp, rather dated and poorly maintained. Its furnishing is as expected of a 4-star hotel
- Bed is very comfortable and that is a redeeming factor
- Bath room has a blind that separates the glass wall which was dirty and worned.
- the tap water (not sure if its in this part of China) after boiling comes with a unique taste. So had to buy more bottled water, although 2 free bottles given.
- the hotel only accept certain currency for changing money and unfortunately, Singapore $ is not one of them
- When we checked in at 4pm, one of our 3 rooms was not ready! We were asked to go in at 5pm. Had to request for a change of room as the one that was the last to be ready was reeking of cigrette smell.
- Although next the major shopping street, the room was very quiet and we could sleep well.

Service
- professional reception and concierge service.
- asked for extra kids pillow from housekeeping and although prompt, I find it strange that the lady had to barge into my room to pass the pillows to my kids... she was expecting a tip.

Location for great food/mani-pedi and shopping
- coming back to location, if you are staying here, or shopping at ShangXia - must try Lian Xiang Lou. It is one of the over hundred years old Cantonese restaurant that is still around. The food was fantastic and the price reasonable. We had many meals here and every meal and dish was unforgettable.
- GuangZhou restaurant, another "founding restaurant" of Cantonese cuisine is right across the street and can be seen from our room. The food is pleasant (winner of many awards) and focuses on bringing out the natural food taste, which can be bland to some. Price is about double that of Lian Xiang Lou.
- There is a nail parlour just next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced and although I had my nails done at 10.15pm after all the shopping, they were still smiling and attentive.
- We could also bring up our shopping bags and go down for another round of shopping!

Based on the above, I will still come back to this hotel and will recommend it to anyone visiting GZ who love good food and shopping (economical). As long as the hotel and room's standard does not deteriorate any further...

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the Shangxia Jiu shopping street. It will not be noisy. If its facing the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room is spacious and well furnished, beddings and pillows are very comfortable and air con works perfectly. The hotel is well managed and the staff are well trained and very helpful.

The hotel is in the "old town" of Guangzhou and there are a few Chinese restaurants within one or two minutes' walk serving Cantonese style Yum Cha, lunch and dinner. We stayed in Tianhe area on the way back and found the food in Tianhe area a lot better in terms of both variety and quality. For sightseeing, this hotel is a short taxi ride to Sha Mian Island and Chen Jia Ci.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked a triple sharing superior room and was fortunately upgraded to a suite. Hotel staff are friendly and hotel is clean. This hotel is situated in the middle of Shang Xia Liu pedestrian shopping street. On the other side of the hotel is a pet street selling pet dogs, cats, birds, pet food and accessories. At the end of pet street, there is another street selling Chinese herbs. There are plenty of food choices (KFC, McDonald, Guangzhou restaurant (famous for their dim sum). Will stay in this hotel again if I visit Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was just ther two weeks ago, and since I was on a bussiness trip for a trading fair, we allways had breakfast at the hotel. The price was somewhere in the 35 USD per person. Since time was more important we did not care that much.
Staff was incredible. Ask for Simon, the bellboy.
For some reason We booked another room afetr the fair was over and the price of the room was considerably lower, very undertsandable (demand), but food was also half price. That I cant believe, since is food, if any, it should be lower.

Room Tip: Taxi cab for this hotel are very hard to find, they dont like to go to this part of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Shifu is loctaed just at the pedestrian area in Guangzhou and are near the old town and the local markets. There is huge shopping possibilities nearby but not many restaurants and bars. The hotel is nice with spacious rooms. The room I stayed in was a little worn. Very expensive minibar and bar at the hotel. The WiFi is not free and if you choose to use it you must be very patient - it is extremely slow. Nice big pool at the roof where the fair gym also is located. Breakfast buffet has a good variety of Chinese and western meals. Serviceminded and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#16 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#75 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.