We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with wonderful breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jianguo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 2,781 hotels in Guangzhou
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location with wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance from Guangzhou East Station, convenient for those coming from Hong Kong by train. Superior room is spacious. Bed and pillows can be more comfortable. There is a good spread in terms of variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    274
    56
    10
    3
See reviews for
20
25
22
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by train from Hong Kong, exit from gate 2 and you have a walk of less than 100m.
greeted by friendly staff on arrival who spoke good English. Our bags were brought up to our room which was a nice touch.
Internet in the room very fast.
Breakfast included was fine, sufficient range to suit everyone.
We had dinner in the Chinese restaurant which although slightly oily was tasty and reasonably priced.
Staff gave good directions to all the different shopping locations.
Also take the train down to the Canton tower at night .
The gym although small had machines and free weights.
Being so close to the train station is a real winner.
Would recommend especially for the location and price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

GZ is usually my exit point from China and after a long trip my backpack is usually bulging. So I like to stay near GZ East - and this place is right across the road. I can then hop a train to HK or Metro to the airport without using a chinese taxi ( yes !! there is a God). The Hotel has that kind of overly- plush decoration - thick carpet, wood panelling, wall paper that dates it a little bit; but the rooms are clean and on the large size, great views over the city and good sized bathrooms too. The pool is not heated, but quite large and sheltered from the wind. The breakfast buffet has a large selection of both Western and Asian. Watch out for the senior chinese business men and their "special" friends at breakfast. Apparently the correct separation is a table and half apart. The employees offering profuse greetings to the Boss, and a nodding acquaintance to the lady, kinda gives the game away!

Room Tip: When in GZ get a travel card for thr trains and buses. They have a fantastic public transport system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the third time in two years. The rooms are the same but the executive club isn't worth the extra money for what you get. The breakfast was the most disappointing, it is nowhere near as good as it was two years ago. Service is also now lacking. Luckily it has location on its side

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
First of all, thank you for your recent visit in March this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience with our Executive Floor services. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is a part of a Chinese mid-high range hotel chain, located conveniently next to the East train station (which links with Hong Kong). Its 3-4 minutes from the metro too. The rooms were modern and comfortable with all required amenities. However all Standard Rooms face an under construction skyscraper so no views. The Breakfast was very elaborate though limited options for vegetarians. Bathroom was clean and functional though a tad small. Overall, i'll give a thumbs up to this property. An at $90/night (with Breakfast), it was a bargain too.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the plaza, but you will have to pay more for those since all standard rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay occassionally at the Jianguo Hotel. It is a very comfortable, well-located 4 star hotel. I have no complaints about the room or the breakfast. However yet again I was let down by the lack of local knowledge by the desk clerks. I wish they would admit to lack of knowledge!
Due to a delayed flight I had to stay the night in GZ unexpectedly and needed to get to Zhuhai veyr early the next morning. The desk clerks were not busy when I checked in a midnight so I asked if they could look up bus departure times. Without looking they said the first bus is 8:30 am. Since this was too late for me I arrived at the bus station at 7:45 - to find the 7:50 bus to Zhuhai was just boarding, but I was too late for a seat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
First of all, thank you for your recent visit in February this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience upon checking the local bus schedule with our Front Desk staff. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip w/ family. Location - right next to the East Railway Stn with Lines 1 & 3 connection so very easy to move around and convenient too since we took a train fr/to HK! Hotel provided free shuttle service to places of interest such as Beijing Street and Grandview mall. Staff - very nice & accommodating. Fast check-in/check-out! Rooms - booked 3 rooms, clean and big with all the amenities. However, kinda poor wi-fi connection in the rooms. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#79 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jianguo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.