We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desk Clerks lack local Knowledge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jianguo Hotel to your Saves list
Jianguo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Desk Clerks lack local Knowledge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stay occassionally at the Jianguo Hotel. It is a very comfortable, well-located 4 star hotel. I have no complaints about the room or the breakfast. However yet again I was let down by the lack of local knowledge by the desk clerks. I wish they would admit to lack of knowledge!
Due to a delayed flight I had to stay the night in GZ unexpectedly and needed to get to Zhuhai veyr early the next morning. The desk clerks were not busy when I checked in a midnight so I asked if they could look up bus departure times. Without looking they said the first bus is 8:30 am. Since this was too late for me I arrived at the bus station at 7:45 - to find the 7:50 bus to Zhuhai was just boarding, but I was too late for a seat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenchung, Executive Assistant Manager at Jianguo Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
First of all, thank you for your recent visit in February this year.

Unfortunately, we regret to learn about your unpleasant experience upon checking the local bus schedule with our Front Desk staff. We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies. The hotel management team would definitely look into the possible ways to improve our hotel services in that area.

We trust this is only a single incident and hopefully will not prevent you from visiting our hotel again. In the meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming your good self come and visit our hotel again in a not very distant future. Until then, I remain.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    285
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
26
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip w/ family. Location - right next to the East Railway Stn with Lines 1 & 3 connection so very easy to move around and convenient too since we took a train fr/to HK! Hotel provided free shuttle service to places of interest such as Beijing Street and Grandview mall. Staff - very nice & accommodating. Fast check-in/check-out! Rooms - booked 3 rooms, clean and big with all the amenities. However, kinda poor wi-fi connection in the rooms. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was a good experience. It is right outside the East railway station( we were travelling from HK), the check-in was fast, the staff speaks English and are very supportive,they even accepted HK dollars for deposit since we didn't have Chinese Yuan.
The rooms are adequately sized with all modern amenities, the beds could be a little more comfortable though. Overall cleanliness of the hotel was good including the lobby toilets.The breakfast was ample and had many vegetarian options which took us by surprise because we had expected to eat toast and butter. The mall on the other side of the road (Poh Mall, I think) has this restaurant called FG fine foods which had quite good vegetarian selections and reasonably priced too.

Guangzhou is a new city with a lot of sparkling additions, the streets are lined with trees and make for a good walk. We found some delightful treats on these streets like sugar cane juice, steamed corn and hot Nan bread topped with sesame fresh from a mobile tandoor cart!(outside grand view mall). This was beyond our expectation :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Of course, the main feature that this hotel is literally 'on' the East Railway Station makes it superb place to stay if u need to go to Shenzhen or Dongguan. Yeah, getting good rates via booking website's makes it even better, but the cleanness and staff support is not so great as ones could expect from 5* hotel.

Been there twice and both times once in a year - can admit, they are getting worse, but not as bad as ones could expect for as low as 600 RMB per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

this is a nice business hotel. I stayed there july 2012.

i booked an executive room with agoda, since it is only a few dollars more than the superior room with breakfast.

after printing the hotel voucher, i was a little shocked as it indicated "No breakfast". If i change my booking, there is a penalty of 10 us dollar.

This is the dilemna in booking a "chinese" brand 5 star hotel. Sometimes their executive room does not mean executive/club room, but just room with a working table, or internet, or whatever.

For western branded hotel like westin shanghai, executive room always comes with breakfast at the lounge, if they indicate free breakfast, then you have the choice of eating at their main dining area, meaning more choices of food.

Alas Jianguo is a true 5 star hotel. They gave me free breakfast for my room and there is an executive lounge where you can use computer and have afternoon tea.

The location of jianguo is beside east railway station of guangzhou. ikea and justco is just stone's throw away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We travelled to Guangzhou from Hong Kong for a quick city break, so wanted a hotel that was convenient to the train station, had good access to transport in the city, and was clean and well run. The Jianguo Hotel definitely ticked all those boxes, and at great value (we got our room for about $60 on Agoda without breakfast).

The rooms were very comfortable, and have been recently renovated. The beds were comfortable, not the super hard type you find in some Chinese hotels. The bathroom was extremely clean with new fittings and a nice, hot shower. Whilst the hotel is on a busy road, we couldn't hear any traffic noise from our room (on the 12th floor) and had a very good night's sleep.

The staff was very nice, and we went through check in and check out quite quickly. The concierge speaks fairly good English as well.

As we were in town to see the sites, we didn't check out the pool (closed for winter cleaning when we were there in December), restaurants or spas but the hotel has plenty of these.

Overall, on a par with much pricier, international hotel chains as a base for exploring the city. You probably wouldn't want to spend a week just hanging out at this hotel, but as a place to lay your head and relax in your room at the end of a long day it's definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its location, connectivity, quality of rooms, and pricing (got mine at US$70 inclu taxes).
Location : It's not exactly at the heart of Tianhe, the main shopping area but close enough. Right next to Ikea and the Popark mall, where there's Jusco & its supermarket and numerous restaurants so if you feel tired after a day's shopping, you can easily grab a bite here.
Connectivity : hotel is just a minute walk away from the subway, on Line 1. You get off on the last station which is GZ East Railway Station. This station will also connect you to Line 3 which is a direct line to the airport. I don't like taking taxis in GZ, and have never taken one on my previous visits as I have heard pretty negative things. Most of the main shopping areas and wholesale malls are a few stations away.
Quality & pricing : this hotel offers great value; I was really surprised the 1st time I stayed here. For the kind of price, you'd expected much less but this wasn't the case. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, stylish corridors and full amenities. Didn't try the breakfast but did the dim sum in the Chinese restaurant. Reasonable but I found the food so-so.
This is a hotel worth staying if you plan to spend most of the time shopping & sightseeing and just want a safe and comfortable place to sleep in. Plus the price is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city , as the other side faces a building under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#28 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#95 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jianguo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.