We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but with strings attached” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jianguo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 2,387 hotels in Guangzhou
Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, but with strings attached”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Of course, the main feature that this hotel is literally 'on' the East Railway Station makes it superb place to stay if u need to go to Shenzhen or Dongguan. Yeah, getting good rates via booking website's makes it even better, but the cleanness and staff support is not so great as ones could expect from 5* hotel.

Been there twice and both times once in a year - can admit, they are getting worse, but not as bad as ones could expect for as low as 600 RMB per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    268
    55
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
23
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

this is a nice business hotel. I stayed there july 2012.

i booked an executive room with agoda, since it is only a few dollars more than the superior room with breakfast.

after printing the hotel voucher, i was a little shocked as it indicated "No breakfast". If i change my booking, there is a penalty of 10 us dollar.

This is the dilemna in booking a "chinese" brand 5 star hotel. Sometimes their executive room does not mean executive/club room, but just room with a working table, or internet, or whatever.

For western branded hotel like westin shanghai, executive room always comes with breakfast at the lounge, if they indicate free breakfast, then you have the choice of eating at their main dining area, meaning more choices of food.

Alas Jianguo is a true 5 star hotel. They gave me free breakfast for my room and there is an executive lounge where you can use computer and have afternoon tea.

The location of jianguo is beside east railway station of guangzhou. ikea and justco is just stone's throw away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We travelled to Guangzhou from Hong Kong for a quick city break, so wanted a hotel that was convenient to the train station, had good access to transport in the city, and was clean and well run. The Jianguo Hotel definitely ticked all those boxes, and at great value (we got our room for about $60 on Agoda without breakfast).

The rooms were very comfortable, and have been recently renovated. The beds were comfortable, not the super hard type you find in some Chinese hotels. The bathroom was extremely clean with new fittings and a nice, hot shower. Whilst the hotel is on a busy road, we couldn't hear any traffic noise from our room (on the 12th floor) and had a very good night's sleep.

The staff was very nice, and we went through check in and check out quite quickly. The concierge speaks fairly good English as well.

As we were in town to see the sites, we didn't check out the pool (closed for winter cleaning when we were there in December), restaurants or spas but the hotel has plenty of these.

Overall, on a par with much pricier, international hotel chains as a base for exploring the city. You probably wouldn't want to spend a week just hanging out at this hotel, but as a place to lay your head and relax in your room at the end of a long day it's definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its location, connectivity, quality of rooms, and pricing (got mine at US$70 inclu taxes).
Location : It's not exactly at the heart of Tianhe, the main shopping area but close enough. Right next to Ikea and the Popark mall, where there's Jusco & its supermarket and numerous restaurants so if you feel tired after a day's shopping, you can easily grab a bite here.
Connectivity : hotel is just a minute walk away from the subway, on Line 1. You get off on the last station which is GZ East Railway Station. This station will also connect you to Line 3 which is a direct line to the airport. I don't like taking taxis in GZ, and have never taken one on my previous visits as I have heard pretty negative things. Most of the main shopping areas and wholesale malls are a few stations away.
Quality & pricing : this hotel offers great value; I was really surprised the 1st time I stayed here. For the kind of price, you'd expected much less but this wasn't the case. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, stylish corridors and full amenities. Didn't try the breakfast but did the dim sum in the Chinese restaurant. Reasonable but I found the food so-so.
This is a hotel worth staying if you plan to spend most of the time shopping & sightseeing and just want a safe and comfortable place to sleep in. Plus the price is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city , as the other side faces a building under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Unlike a couple of the other hotels we attended in the 3 or so weeks leading up to our stay at the Jianguo, the fact that this hotel is situated a little away from the centre of Guangzhou made no appreciable difference to the quality of our stay.

In other words, distance in this instance proved both irrelevant and easy to control in that literally the amazingly efficient subway system which is easily entered via the many entrances of the Guangzhou East station and that is literally a 2 minute walk from the Jianguo Hotel, made getting around so easy.

We booked a Business Suite for its 65m size but were surprised at how small it felt. It was a case of design rather than false claims as the room was in fact very large with floor to ceiling windows the full length of the front and on one side, it was resplendent with a large desk, free WiFi, couch, table and chairs and a wonderfully comfortable King sized bed with terrific doona and pillows. Perfect for a good night's sleep.

Our room was at the front of the building and offered a wonderful outlook, but not such a good view from the quirky bathroom. Indeed the 10+ year old interior is quite unusual offering funky living. The bathroom is really different, but best you find out for yourself.

If possible, arrange for a city view room at the front of the hotel as the building works behind the building is ugly to the max. Indeed, even once the work is complete you will still be faced with an average outlook.

General amenities were of a decent standard, suffice to say the gym although clean and with a permanent attendant, lacked equipment, yet offered niceties including male and female saunas and great change rooms, the pool was nice but out of service at the time, I didn't attend the neat spa / massage facility, whereas my wife and I attended breakfast each morning.

I've read comments by others about the food, some good, some average, and I have to say that I am definitely erring on the average side. It definitely lacked western food options.

On a parting note and I hate to say I forgot the lady cleaners name, but she was absolutely fantastic doing not only a brilliant job of cleaning the room, but literally running to get the job done quickly. Fantastic!

For price, position and general overall quality you would be hard pressed finding much better in Guangzho

Room Tip: Book a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Sometimes you don't really care for opulence, nor luxury, just a simple value for money hotel. The location is very close to the GZ east train station. About 3 minutes walk, make it 5 minutes if you are of a more relaxed walking pace.
The hotel is clean, which is always a bonus. The check in and checking out procedure efficient.
The beds hard, as with most Chinese hotels.
This is strictly a travelers/business hotel - not for a romantic getaways for two.
the price of around 70USD a night is very reasonable.
One negative- the menu is overpriced, and my 5 year old can cook better- so eat out, and sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai, jersey city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family, location wise this hotel is 5 mins walk to Guangzhou East station from where you can get connected to Shenzhen and then Hongkong, check-in was ok..post check-in one over smart bell boy almost took my luggage forcefully and demanded tip against it when we entered room.. That time I was not carrying much local currency, so just offered him just 5 Yuan, upon that he gave me a long lecture on minimum tipping standards in China...hotel management should make such bell boys understand first that any guest voluntarily gives tips if Guest is happy with the services..and tips are not suppose to be demanded..room was spacious and clean..room had a mini bar too but prices are exorbitantly high..I would suggest visiting Jusco super market just opposite to the hotel for anyone's need of soda or beer or chips..next day we went for break fast in hotel's restaurant on 2nd floor I guess, there after I was informed that I am eligible to get only one complimentary break-fast though I have booked a room for two people...while booking I didn't see any option to select break-fast for two people else I would have selected that option.. I was given an option to pay on the spot for that day's break fast but I dint select it as their staff had already started winding up brk-fast food stalls by 10.15 am..in mean time i took a sip of an orange juice from my partner's glass..this was noticed by one of their restaurant manager..he straight away came to my table.. took away all spoons, forks dishes in front of me so that I should not eat from my partner's break fast...I found this behavior very insulting..I wonder restaurant staff is trained for such type of Hospitality?? I wanted to convey this to front desk but again they had very limited English understanding..and finally I gave up...These back to back incidences spoiled my stay at this hotel..Dont feel like recommending this hotel to foreigners..if you speak Chines things might be better with you..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#102 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jianguo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.