We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jianguo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 2,797 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Sometimes..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Sometimes you don't really care for opulence, nor luxury, just a simple value for money hotel. The location is very close to the GZ east train station. About 3 minutes walk, make it 5 minutes if you are of a more relaxed walking pace.
The hotel is clean, which is always a bonus. The check in and checking out procedure efficient.
The beds hard, as with most Chinese hotels.
This is strictly a travelers/business hotel - not for a romantic getaways for two.
the price of around 70USD a night is very reasonable.
One negative- the menu is overpriced, and my 5 year old can cook better- so eat out, and sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    277
    56
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
25
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai, jersey city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family, location wise this hotel is 5 mins walk to Guangzhou East station from where you can get connected to Shenzhen and then Hongkong, check-in was ok..post check-in one over smart bell boy almost took my luggage forcefully and demanded tip against it when we entered room.. That time I was not carrying much local currency, so just offered him just 5 Yuan, upon that he gave me a long lecture on minimum tipping standards in China...hotel management should make such bell boys understand first that any guest voluntarily gives tips if Guest is happy with the services..and tips are not suppose to be demanded..room was spacious and clean..room had a mini bar too but prices are exorbitantly high..I would suggest visiting Jusco super market just opposite to the hotel for anyone's need of soda or beer or chips..next day we went for break fast in hotel's restaurant on 2nd floor I guess, there after I was informed that I am eligible to get only one complimentary break-fast though I have booked a room for two people...while booking I didn't see any option to select break-fast for two people else I would have selected that option.. I was given an option to pay on the spot for that day's break fast but I dint select it as their staff had already started winding up brk-fast food stalls by 10.15 am..in mean time i took a sip of an orange juice from my partner's glass..this was noticed by one of their restaurant manager..he straight away came to my table.. took away all spoons, forks dishes in front of me so that I should not eat from my partner's break fast...I found this behavior very insulting..I wonder restaurant staff is trained for such type of Hospitality?? I wanted to convey this to front desk but again they had very limited English understanding..and finally I gave up...These back to back incidences spoiled my stay at this hotel..Dont feel like recommending this hotel to foreigners..if you speak Chines things might be better with you..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in September 2012. I was encouraged to book by the favourable reviews on this site. The location was important to enable a day return trip by train from Guangzhou East station to Shenzhen. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station.

Taking the advice of other posters, we booked an executive level room with a plaza view and were not disappointed with the choice (bearing in mind the city landscape is not very visually appealing). Also, we booked directly with the hotel via their website and encountered no difficulties doing this.

Check-in and check-out were easy and the executive lounge attendant was friendly. Breakfast was in their large restaurant on the ground floor and the choice of food was excellent.

As the hotel is very close to the metro station for lines 1 and 3, much of Guangzhou is easily accessible and the train service is excellent and inexpensive. For shoppers there is large underground mall, anchored by Japanese giant retailer Jusco, beneath the nearby plaza and bus terminal.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room with "plaza view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel while on a business trip to Guangzhou. It's a nice hotel to come back to after a crazy day out in mind boggling Guangzhou.

Pros:
- Good reception & door staff, all English speaking. Check-in was fast & professional.
- Room & bathroom is modern, comfortable & clean (a big relief from the buzz & dust of the outside).
- Free wifi.
- Good range of TV channels (50+).
- Fantastic buffet breakfast spread which gives us a great start to our day, full range from hot to cold, western to eastern.
- Good location: opposite Guangzhou Eastern Railway Station (which is convenient for those needing trains to move around), Starbucks is here too as well as some other international fast food chains (some staff speak good English here)
- 100m to Guangzhou's IKEA store which is great for IKEA fans (can request for English speaking staff here too).

Cons:
- poorly patronised F&B outlets (except for breakfast), so take that as a sign to go elsewhere. Dinner in the Chinese restaurant was measly and very expensive. Service was slow although we were the only diners there.
- Bed is a bit too hard, pillows are too soft.
- Shower has weak water pressure.
- Only 1 universal power outlet at desk which is hardly sufficient so bring an adaptor.
- Bedroom's light switches are inconvenient to use.
- Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so request front facing rooms.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms overlook a massive construction site which may be ongoing for many years, so reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Jianguo Hotel is the ideal hotel for everybody. If you are here for the Canton Fair (as me) or as a tourist, you will find the central location of Jianguo Hotel ideal for your activities.
The hotel is just 50m away from the Guangzhou East Railway Station, which is a metro station on line 1. From here, you can easily reach the Canton Fair (Panzhou ) , visit Canton Tower and enjoy the city´s skyline on Pearl River (Chigang Pagoda) or go shopping on Bejing Rd Pedestrian Street (Gongyuanqian) - some of them even without having to change line.
It is also easy to get there from the airport. Just take line 1 from the airport and you reach Guangzhou East Railway Station after 10 stops – take exit F and turn to your left, it is 50m to the hotel. It is less than 1,-€ and takes approx. 30 minutes, same as the hotel bus leaving in front of the airport which is 21 Yuan (3,-€) which is a good alternative if you arrive after 11:00pm and metro is not running anymore. Don´t take the taxis they offer to you inside the airport, they ask 70,-€/100 USD to get you downtown which is just a rip-off! The airport buses run between 5:45am and 1:00am so you should not be forced to take a taxi even if you arrive too late for the metro. Also, just change little money at the airport exchange counter. They offer a very bad exchange rate and take a huge commission so only change what you need to get to your hotel. If you visit Canton Fair you find a bank there (don´t forget to bring your passport) as well as many other services (flights, ferry/train/coach tickets to Hongkong,etc.).

The hotel itself is a 4****hotel with nicely furnished rooms and all the amendities you expect such as pool, international breakfast buffet and choice of various restaurants for the evening. Dinner though is very expensive both for the Japanese or international buffet restaurant (43,-€/ 55 USD) but if you are looking for a cheap alternative just get opposite the hotel into the Coach Terminal and walk through it, you will find Mc Donalds, KFC and some little Chinese stalls. If you walk left of the hotel you find IKEA and opposite a small plaza with Pizza Hut. If you get into the Metro station and take exit G you find Popark, a small mall with shops and a few small restaurants from pizza to sushi and baked potatos.

I did find it easy to get around with the metro but it was vital that the hotel was located that close to a station as it is still difficult to find Chinese people which you can ask for directions. Very few speak English and are able to help you if you need some information. Also at the hotel reception they were not able to answer questions apart from their daily routine topics. So better be well prepared when leaving the hotel. I used the internet in the room (sadly no WLAN but cable) to get all relevant information and fortunately you can access the tripadvisor page in China. Stayed 5 nights and the only bad thing I can say is that my room on the non-smoking floor was the worst smoke-smelling room I encountered in whole my life but at 2:00am I did not want to change rooms and it got better day by day. Breakfast is served until 10:30 am and during Canton fair there is a bus service in the morning (9:00-10:30) and again in the afternoon (4:30 - 7:00pm) to/from fairground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really cant fault this hotel in all aspect, the check in and check-out was smooth and request of late check-out for 2 hours was granted with no question asked, Jianguo is kind of old fashion 4-5 star hotel, as hotel was built more than 10 years ago.
Everything works, clean, decent size room, the wifi is rather slow compare with 2 other hotels that i stayed in Guangzhou during the same trip.
The chamber maid offered bed turning service which is rare in most 4 to 5 star hotel, refilled the bathroom amenities and also asked whether any laundry service needed.
I did not had the breakfast so is not able to comment on the service and quality.
With the Subway Station just opposite the Hotel, you are actually close to everywhere and there are many eateries and shopping just opposite the Hotel.
Overall is a pleasant stay and i don't mind going back for my stay even though there are so many new hotel sprouting out there in Guangzhou.

Room Tip: From the subway and bus station just across the street, you can go almost anywhere so conveniently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really cant fault this hotel in all aspect, the check in and check-out was smooth and request of 2 hour late check-out was granted with no question asked, Jianguo is kind of old fashion 4-5 star hotel, as hotel was built more than 10 years ago.
Everything works, clean, decent size room, the wifi is rather slow compare with 2 other hotels that i stayed in Guangzhou during the same trip.
The chamber maid offered bed turning service which is rare in most 4 to 5 star hotel, refilled the bathroom amenities and also asked whether any laundry service needed.
I did not had the breakfast so is not able to comment on the service and quality.
With the Subway Station just opposite the Hotel, you are actually close to everywhere and there are many eateries and shopping just opposite the Hotel.
Overall is a pleasant stay and i don't mind going back for my stay even though there are so many new hotel sprouting out there in Guangzhou.

Room Tip: Room facing the Railway Station offer better view, room behind facing a construction site of super c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#96 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jianguo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.