We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean well kept zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Zoo

Guangzhou Zoo
No. 120 Xianlie Middle Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510030, China
020-38377702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 495 attractions in Guangzhou
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This the largest zoo in South China with over 2,000 animals including the giant panda.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very clean well kept zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we went to see the pandads and they where both just sitting aroun d and waiting for food once they where feed they just went inside and didnt come out again it was a very warm day so please go when it is a bit cooler and its hard in china but they will come out more if it isnt to hot as we where told

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    29
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
“mad zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

great long day out - tons of animals to visit - large free range enclosures for the well treated animals - comes complete with a massive circus next door with animals like dancing bears and trained orangutans entertaining the crowds.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An awful, awful place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It would be hard to design environments which would stress or deprive animals more. This is a zoo from the early 1900s, where concrete is the preferred setting and animal have nothing to divert or stimulate them. It's just hideous. However, this seems not to be an issue, especially in countries like China, where animal welfare is not even considered. I'd recommend voting with your feet and staying away, but lack of patronage is unlikely to be a factor here. I expect that there will be thousands of visitors prepared to throw food at hapless animals for decades to come.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An ok zoo but if GZ go to the Safari in Panyu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an ok zoo with a wide vareity of animals but if you are in GZ why not go to the Safari at Panyu wich is much better and more interesting. And the birds are not behind cages which is so thick you can not see the birds just pixales from them... On the plus side this is in central so it is easy to reach and you can see some Pandas ...

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts, usa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Easy place to be for several hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Attended with my wife and 5-year-old. I have been to a lot of zoos, and this one is above average. It is clean and well priced, although like all zoos in China you will find extra fees inside the zoo to see certain animals or enter specific areas.

The goldfish area is a bit odd, but my kid loved it. So that's that. We also caught a Chinese acrobat-family show that was very entertaining.

Overall, this zoo is much easier to get to than the others in the area. And, because of it's price, cleanliness, and wide variety of animals, it gets a "very good" rating from me.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guangzhou Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Guangzhou Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guangzhou Zoo to your Saves list