We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, honest staff, big comfy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guangyong Lido Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guangyong Lido Hotel to your Saves list
Guangyong Lido Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.182 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Makassar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, honest staff, big comfy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 5 nites and never felt boring to sleep and relaxing after walked so many hours. The bed were stiff, it's good for our back, the bathroom were clean and the towels were soft. One of the staff was very honest to keep my husband watch which left behind and we have to turn back to got it. Altough the receptionist had no smile at all, but hey..this china! Don't expect to much nice attitude, they help you it's enough.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    142
    88
    27
    23
See reviews for
27
17
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its strategic location on Beijing Road. The road is lively until midnight as it is a shopping street. The hotel itself is ok for the price we paid. The room is just the right size, the bathroom is also clean and not small. There is a bathtub. Coffee making facility is also available in the room. Free wifi also in room. The room is fully carpeted. You can also find offices of shipping agents in the hotel.

The staff at the reception were not very polite and friendly though. Only one or two staff can speak and understand English, on a limited basis.

McDonald's is just next door. And for Muslims like us, fear not, because just a block away there is an Indian muslim restaurant and the Indian chef used to work in Malaysia previously and he speaks fluent malay. But the price is a bit on the high side maybe because it's the only halal restaurant on beijing road.

Just at the corner after McD, there is a good dessert shop. We tried the durian pancake and it was awesome. From this hotel you can take a taxi to the wholesale outlets. We did not take the subway. Taxis are readily available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing beijing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

For me, this hotel is quite old and need change in terms of their interior design. However, the location is very strategic. The hotel is located at the beginning of Baijing Road, the shopping place where you can find all kinds of items that I call "original copy" ...... what most important is you need to know how to bargain for what you want but don't expect these items as same as original.

About the hotel, it's quite old-fashion interior. It's also not so clean as you see in the internet. There a lot of dust on the carpet and waste flakes under the bed.
The hotel workers also not fluent in English but can still understand when you request someting from them.

Their restaurant also not very interesting and not much food been served during berakfast. However, I still say that this hotel to be a good choice for short-term and worthwhile

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

it is located right on beijing street and that is the biggest advantage for shoppers many restaurant near by indian also fast food liek mac donalds pizza hut burger king around rooms are okish its also walkable to subway sation form where u can excess many places in guangzhou

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A hotel in the junction of Beijing street nearby to all wholesale clothings, accessories,textiles, stationeries etc and virtually everything. Night market .Good halal restaurants,Indian muslims and Chinese Muslims .
Clean hotel ,very good traditional massage and a clean street.
Will stay again if next time visit Guangzhou.
Only problem is the language communications which made things a bit difficult to communicate

Room Tip: A corner room facing the Beijing street.can see the night market and the buzzing of activities at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My family & I planned to go to find our root at HuiZhou, China. Since we will be visiting relatives in Guangzhou, we looked around the hotels which are convenient and reasonable in price. Finally, Lido Hotel is the choice.
It's situated at Beijing Road, a very famous pedestrian shopping area in Guangzhou. Very convenient for shopping and eating. Mc'D is just beside, and the Beijing Road pedestrian shopping area is across the road, where you can do your shopping for clothes, shoes, bags, and nice bookstores as well.
If you would like to take a boat ride at ZhuJiang River, it's only about 15 minutes walk. Not far.
Talking about the price, because we called and booked about a month before our departure date, hence, it cost us RMB380++ for 1 twin bedroom.
The hotel lobby is a bit old and need some rennovation. Staff are quite helpful.
One thing that I would like to emphasize, I actually read through all the reviews that posted by tripadvisor before made a decision to book the hotel, one of them was: insects in bathroom and I really found it during my stay. It was on the shower sheer. That's the only setback.
Other than that, it's okay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I choose to stay at Lido Hotel because of the location near Beijing Road and the low price. But I really dissappointed when I saw the very dirty bathroom with lots of dark stain on the floor and bathtub. The beds are also really hard and the room smelly. Their service is also horrible, they didn't tell us about the check out time before, then charge us 50% for the late fee. When I want to see the hotel regulation about it, they say they didn't have it because they only three stars hotel. In the end they didn't even give me the receipt of our payment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guangyong Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangyong Lido Hotel

Address: No.182 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangyong Lido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guangyong Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangyong Lido Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.