We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloumant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 344 Reviews
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gloumant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The entrance is good.
But too big thus it would be hard to go restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    175
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
5
6
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed in 3 different hotels in Guangzhou over the past year. This one is the worst. It is a beatiful building with extravagant painting and a gorgeous lobby but it heads downhill from there. The rooms are large enough, but as others have said the floors are stained, there is mildew in the showers and in my room a portion of the ceiling in the shower looked like it was ready to collapse at any time. I was fortunate to not see rats, as others had, but there were large dead bugs in the room every couple of days. The hotel claimes to be 5 star but I believe it must me on a 20 point scale. The service in the restaurants is sub-par. In 9 days I never once was offered a re-fill on coffee, always had to get it myself. The breakfast is mediocre compared to other hotels in the area. It is also a long way from downtown so there is nothing within walking distance. If you are looking for a relaxing evening in the hotel, there is no restaurant with a bar that I could find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

First the hotel is located far away from dowmntown guanghzou.the rooms are very large,but is not maintained.the furniture is scratched And the carpet is stained.the lobby is huge with a lot a marble and granit.after one night we moved to another hotel close to dowmntown

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I had a chance to stay at this hotel for two nights recently. The hotel has a very opportune site, however, has not been utilised to delight the customer. There is a very large scope to do something great here, given the location....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

There is a reason why this website is a success, and that is because there is candid reviews by actual patrons of establishments, and not just clever marketing at work..

This property could be very nice, but it is mismanaged, not maintained, over-run with rats, and the 5 star rating had to have been a bribe.

carpets are stained, air conditioning hardly works, rock hard beds, food is terrible..

in the evening there is a lobby restaurant, and i saw a rat run across the carpet..

in my room there was crown mouldings that ran the two long walls of the room, and i heard mice or some kind of rodents run back and forth.. i even threw french fries up there and could hear them eat..

it's the second worst place i've stayed at in china..

if the property were maintained and managed like a world class hotel, it could be, the geography and infrastructure is there, its just run down and out of control...

it is convenient if you need to be in this area, but have avoided staying at the phoenix, and now commute to this area from the shangrila downtown..

the only pro for this hotel is that there is a McDonald that isn't far, and you can order delivery right to your room.. Order extra fries to feed the rats! if nothing else it is entertaining..

across the street in the park by the lake, there is two restaurants, a bbq place that is open really late, rats running all around, as it is hardly lit with small canopy covered tables, and a japanese restaurant at which i saw one evening when a rat actually ran through the open kitchen, all the workers were running after it..

unless you can't afford better, i would stay away.. commute as i do, the shangrila is a respectable chain in china with true star ratings..

Room Tip: ask for a room with no rats and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice lobby, and the rooms are large. But the carpets in the room are stained, there was a dead roach in my bathroom and the breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbó SC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

It's one of the most perfect hotel that I have ever seen. That's perfect for who is attending the Canton Fair, there is shuttle buses and the reception is awesome. The staffs speak English very well, are very nice and Kindly. There is Gym and pool for free. I am sure I will stay here again next time. Indico para todos Brasileiros!! Muito bom hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Address: Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#59 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#77 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix City Guangzhou
Hotel Phoenix City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.