We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wow. It's like being in a grand palace in Italy... Only your in China....
From the second you pull up outside this hotel, you know it is something very special. Inside its INCREDIBLE! It's full of gold, marble, ceiling murals, etc...
There is a few interesting shops in the hotel too.
I'll get my small issues out of the way first. 1)The food isnt great, I'm Irish so noodles for breakfast and chicken feet for dinner isnt anything I would ever go for. 2) The staff speak VERY little english. 3)It's very out of the way in terms of location. About half an hour drive from the city.
The swimming pool was UNBELIEVABLE! I've never seen such a luxury pool in my life. Surrounded by beautiful lakes and gardens. There is also another pool inside. And a great wellness spa.
The rooms are nice and clean and modern with good space and a nice bathroom.
Good hotel if you are in town for the Canton fair as it's nice and quiet, comfortable, easy for work and also a free coach takes you to and from the fair. Would be amazing place to host clients/collegues.
Lots of little secret areas to explore too.

Room Tip: Get a room with a 'lake' view as its beautiful but remember to close your windows at night b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    175
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
5
6
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

Good location,calm,quite and comfortable place.just a little peoblem with food inside:-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very nice hotel in a quite location, surrounded by beautiful gardens and spectacular pool. The hotel is somewhat remotely from Guangzhou center; however there is a shuttle bus to downtown for someone who likes to feel the pulse of the town. Rooms are very spacious, clean and with comfortable bed. The bathroom is spacious with separate tube and shower. On the down light inside the bathroom needs improvement. Decent breakfast, with a lot varieties selection for both western and oriental tastes. Try breakfast on the business floor where it is less crowdie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights Oct 2011 while attending Canton Fair.
Had been there about 8 years ago when it recently opened.
Accommodations are spacious and clean. Good breakfast buffet included in rate.
Free shuttle transportation to/from hotel/Pazhou convention center (45-50 min).
Hotel is pretty isolated, cab ride to Guangzhou areas of interest 45-60 min depending on traffic. Food at the restaurant is very regular, according to my western standards.
Again, it was an ok stay, OK for the price considering it's Canton fair, where prices go up. Next time I'll reserve ahead of time to get a hotel better located. Even though one is tired from walking the fair all day, GZ has many great things to see!
If possible, try not to miss the 2010 built GZ Opera House, designed by reknowned Iranian architect Zaha Hadid...... spectacular!!!

Room Tip: One not too far from the elevators!!! It's a big property and after walking al day, you just wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a very impressive looking hotel, with extensive marble and painted ceilings. Staff are polite and friendly and if you work hard you get a lovely smile. Tends to get a lot of Conference business as well as Trade Fair delegates and the room prices are certainly value for money for this level of hotel.
With one main dining restaurant and a single Chines Restaurant, it is certainly lacking in variety for a hotel with this number of rooms! For a Westerner, not versed in Chinese, the descriptions of the dishes in the Chinese restaurant are 'interesting'! I must try the braised tit!!
Internet connection is free and good coverage throughout the Hotel for WiFi, so Smartphones get well used for free.
My only gripe is this hotel is well away from Guangzhou, so when you tell people you have been to Guangzhou and they ask what it is like, I have to say I have not been to the city!

Room Tip: Hotel is huge and spread out in Wings, so asking for a room near the lifts will save a lot of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Although a little way out from the City, this hotel is beautiful. We bought a Groupon package and took a coach directly from HK to the shuttle bus stop at Phoenix Village. The free shuttle bus takes you to the hotel in around 5-10 mins, so it was quite easy to get to. It is quite impressive inside. Rooms are big and very clean, with an ordinary room having two 4ft beds, and there is a very large bathroom. We requested connecting rooms and this wasn't a problem. We overlooked the mountains and lake and had a large balcony. Facilities are good, with a large outdoor pool and a decent sized indoor one. We stayed here with 2 other families for a weekend. All of us had kids and the children were happy to play in the pools. The food in the restaurants was ok and we tried both the buffet breakfast and the buffet dinner and also ate in the Chinese restaurant. There are 2 different Spa facilities and we went to the cheaper one. It was very clean and the massage was very good. We tried both full body massage and foot massage. Service was good and it's a good place to relax and you can always take the free shuttle bus and eat in the village if you want to eat out. Good for a relaxing weekend away from the City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Phoenix City is a pseudo-Venetian megahotel in the ‘burbs of the Guangzhou megalopolis - about half an hour by taxi from the city’s East railway station (make sure you get a metered taxi, definitely don’t prepay more than 100RMB). We stayed here for a couple of nights on a group-buying deal from Hong Kong, so no complaints about the price.

The room was stupidly spacious. The vast emptiness between bed and balcony could easily have held another king-size bed, though a sofa would have been nice to fill the gap. The bathroom was equally generous, offering both bath and shower. Unique touch: a glass-bottomed sink. I’ve never been able to look at my toes while washing my hands before, and I found it curiously disconcerting.

A large balcony overlooked the outdoor pool offering views across to the verdant hillside. Is this really Guangzhou? Could be Samui! (Except the full moon is orange because of the pollution.)

The outdoor pool is huge, though not deep, and wasn’t busy during the day. The indoor pool is a decent size too, and there’s a gym, karaoke and mahjong rooms, spa, and sauna to amuse. And a billiard room, which I couldn’t find.

Overall, the hotel has a cheesy charm: from the rows of customer-free shops displaying 1980’s fashions, to the medieval frescos on the reception ceiling, to the soft-rock pumped out during the breakfast buffet. It’s Macau without the ching! ching! ching! of the slot machines.

Not much to really dislike, though I toyed with two stars because it’s sometimes a bit shabby. The showers in the men’s changing rooms face the toilet stalls so there’s an ever-present smell of pee; the food was average, at best, and made unpleasant by the aforementioned soft rock at breakfast as well as live singing at dinner; I had wine stains on a tablecloth; and there was a smoker’s smelly residue in our room. Oh, and the Internet connection varied between fine and unusably slow.

But go in expecting adequacy and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Address: Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#60 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#78 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix City Guangzhou
Hotel Phoenix City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.