We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change from staying in Beijing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vanburgh Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vanburgh Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanburgh Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.126 Huangpu Avenue West, Guangzhou 510623, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 2,796 Hotels in Guangzhou
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A change from staying in Beijing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a 2 day business planning and review meeting. Facilities were good, however I did move rooms to the other side of the hotel due to construction noise next door to the hotel. Overall it was a pleasant stay and a good alternative to holding a business planning meeting in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel is located at the busy district of Tianhe, a grand hotel entrance and atmosphere. However, the receptionist claimed cannot find out my reservation even I have shown my confirmation letter until I asked her to look for someone for help as well as she insisted there is no more King-size bed room but force me to take the twin bed. But I was confirmed by the hotel that kind bed can be arranged as this is the anniversary trip. The room finally have been upgraded to executive floor on 13th floor, I will say it is perfect since not smoggy on the non-smoking floor in China. The corridor, room, bathroom are nice. The bed, sofa are really comfortable. My girlfriend and me had a superb sleep until 8am in the morning, a construction just front of my room.
Metro station is far from the hotel(nearly 20mins walk) as long as you are just looking for the coach heading to HongKong or Macao as the coach station is close and easy to reach.

Room Tip: Make sure you know how to get to the metro station before you leave the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was part of a study group so we all had very large rooms for ourselves. The hotel was really modern and well stocked with everything including a set of scales. I did weigh myself to ensure that I didn't overeat with the buffet breakfast. Well set up with both western and chinese cuisine. Did not have dinner as lots of local eateries around the location. Very good location to a mall and many surrounding food places.

The room was very well stocked with toiletries, however the maid threw out perfectly good tubes of it even when it was half used - I could've used it for then next day. Really clean and perfectly made up each day.

The only issue which is probably wide in China is the air conditioning I managed to sleep in - due to lack of fresh air. I noticed the artifical airflow effected me quite a bit.

Very helpful concerige which told us where to go for shopping and eating, and tried very hard to speak english for us.

Excellent service

Room Tip: Higher up for views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were in Guangzhou for a tradeshow at the Canton fair convention centre. The Vanburgh is well located not too far and offered a complimentary bus to and from the convention centre. Free wifi, nice rooms, good restaurant, well located. Overall totally satisfied with this hotel and would stay there again on my next trip to Guangzhou.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July.
First impression of the hotel was grand and modern. Room was big and clean. Nice bathroom but it has unusual shape that I could not understand. Hotel could be attentive to more details, e.g. the blinds for the glass window was opened/closed from the bedroom side rather than in the bathroom.
Coffee shop was big but food was average. There are many tour groups in this hotel and the lobby area and coffee shop are rather crowded at times. Unpleasant odour smell in the lobby which was rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel was great. Lovely large room. Bed was firm but I still slept well. Buffet breakfast & dinner was really good, lots of choices and good value. Coffee quality needs to be improved.
Close to Happy Valley Shopping centre and many other food and shops in the area.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Very happy with choice of hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff speaks almost no English. The mattress was harder than most and felt like a sheet of plywood with a sheet over it. Asked for a mattress topper and maid showed up with a thin duvet instead. Pillows all poly fill. Asked for down they said they were down. Marginal breakfast. Gym limited. Gym lockers "not open at the time I went " but then was told they weren't "finished"! Do yourself a favor and pay 40 bucks more and stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanburgh Hotel

Address: No.126 Huangpu Avenue West, Guangzhou 510623, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 2,796 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vanburgh Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overall Positioning StatementLocated in the hub of Guangzhou’s business centers, the Vanburgh Hotel is a five-star business hotel. With perfect integration of European flair and natural elements, the hotel creates a fantastic theme for guests to enjoy the tranquilpeace in the busy city. Covering an area of 13,000 square meters, the Vanburgh Hotel has a floorage of 100,000 square meters with 23 stories. There are 382 guestrooms, 18 stories of office space, and the 800-square-meter Grand Ballroom with panoramic views and advanced multi-media meeting amenities in the hotel, providing a perfect venue for business events. Complementary to its business facilities, the Vanburgh Hotel’s various restaurants and bars offers a wide range of dining options and international cuisines with unique style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Vanburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.