We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Chinese" cleanliness lets it down....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station to your Saves list
Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.74-1, Nonglin Road, Guangzhou 510000, China   |  
Ranked #131 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“"Chinese" cleanliness lets it down....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1. Location: Good 2 minute walk to the Ouzhuang Metro Station Exit B. Only downside is, once you enter the subway station it takes 5 minutes of walking underground to get to the train line. The surrounding area is not very glamorous.

2. Price: Good for the time of stay (Canton Fair)

3. Service: Average. The English interpreters assisting the international guests from the Canton Fair were fantastic. Front office staff were just okay, no complaints. Typical Chinese service.

4. Cleanliness: Poor.The hotel is new, so its fairly clean for now....The cleaners do not use vacuums, therefore the floor of my room was dirty. It had hair, toenails, and other crumbs from previous guests. In addition to this, the carpet had stains from drinks etc. From my perspective this is the biggest issue for this hotel.

5. WiFi: Poor. If you're a businessman and you plan to do some work at the hotel, don't bother. I had so many issues with the internet, it drove me crazy. One minute I could get access to a particular website, the next minute I couldn't. I tried connecting to other rooms wifi which seemed to help, but not for long. I wasn't sure if this was a ChinaNet issue or an issue with their system. Overall I found it frustrating, and unproductive. I also used a VPN called "express vpn" so I could get access to the banned websites eg. GMAIL etc..Welcome to China...

6. Water and Electricity: During my stay for the Canton fair, the electricity and water was switched off TWICE. I found this completely unacceptable, you cant have the water and power off in a building whilst there are guests occupying the rooms, its a simple safety rule the western world abides by.
What would of happened if there was a fire?
I was told my front reception that this was a government issue and they had no control over the scheduling of the works. Bad timing from my perspective....Some guests were at the fair, but not all (eg. me)

7. Summary: Poor. Its a cheap hotel and I suppose you get what you pay for. If you're a westerner and you like clean hotels, then maybe spend a little more on staying at the Westin Guangzhou or the Garden Hotel. I stayed here for the Canton fair and was paying approx $150 USD a nite which is very cheap.... But they need to lift their game in the cleanliness department and buy the maids vacuums so they can clean the floor once in a while.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks into the atrium (center) of the hotel, not the outside. If you have a room fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cangzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

the furniture was nice nice rooms
but very small in sizes nothing like the pics
frej was not working tried to ask staff several times to help put nothing happened
breakfast was served in very old way had to go down every day to get the coupons !!! this was in the old days
all the food in the breakfast was chines had to buy breakfast from a shop near the hotel

Room Tip: if your going to sleep only then this is the hotel for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is very clean, with very nice room furnishings. The price was nice. We will go back again. The staff there was very nice, except for the language barrier. But that is expected any where you travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you have business in Guangzhou is an excellent location to stay. Very convenient with the metro. The environment is very poor, the facilities as the most Chinese building after some years look very bad, the ladies from the room service although they are very king they don't know how to clean the room... You should be very hungry and desperate if you have to eat at the restaurant. They should change the name for the breakfast, it's something else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice modern comfortable rooms with big bathroom. Little touches like iPod charging dock, dressing gowns and toiletries provided.
I was happy with breakfast for the one morning I was there. Typical mix of different dishes you can expect in China. Close to subway but check the map first, it is on a main road Sth of station, with reception up a small side street. Wifi worked in room and free Internet use in lobby.
I had no problem with staff understanding me, found them quite helpful.
Would suggest a taxi from airport as no direct line. Though subway is useful for getting to the major areas. Get a map of Guangzhou from airport as not much info provide in English at hotel.
Not much of interest around the immediate area but good base for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Only good thing with this hotel is it the modern interior, quite refreshing. The rest is seriously disappointing:
1. Customer service is poor (english very limited): our room was stinking cigarette, so we asked for another room. we got nothing...
2. Breakfast limited to 6 dishes, all of them Chinese... and nothing fresh... really a big let down
3. careful, location of the hotel on Hotels' or Trip Advisor maps is wrong! We lost so much time trying to find the hotel, and of course calling the hotel was useless...
all in all a BIG let down, forget it...

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms... So noisy at night and morning you won't be able to sleep properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel through Booking.com with the impression this is a newly built hotel and looks good in the photos. This is my first time to Guangzhou and the beginning day I check in was already a mess at the reception. I had to wait for 2 hours before the room was clean because lack of manpower. Many guests have to wait for long time. Then a warm reminder was passed to me stated that no electric power the next day. That first night inside 707 room, water was dripping from the ceiling lights just beside the bed and that blew me off. I immediately request for another room but to no avail as the hotel was fully occupied. I did not sleep well at all and was supposed to stay for another day but I told the hotel staff - was enough to get tortured. There was no power from 8am until evening 6pm (see photo) how would your guest stay behind? I was looking to confront the hotel manager but reception mentioned he was not available at that time. Without second thought, I packed up my things. "Sorry for the inconvenience caused" was muttered by the hotel staff as I left the hotel.
While making this review, I am still looking for a refund from booking.com and the hotel to resolve my complaint. The hotel still owe me an answer for the unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station

Address: No.74-1, Nonglin Road, Guangzhou 510000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ouzhuang Subway Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.