We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, under construction but still sell full price ticket, go somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Garden (Lanpu)

Orchid Garden (Lanpu)
Jiefang Bei Lu, Guangzhou, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 690 things to do in Guangzhou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Right in the heart of this bustling city is a welcome retreat with an orchid garden, tropical plants, palm trees, fishponds and tea houses.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Overrated, under construction but still sell full price ticket, go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The green house was totally under construction when I went there, so practically there was no orchid to see, and they didn't notify the visitors about it when selling the ticket. They still sell it at full price. Shame...

The whole park is mostly about plants used for medicine. There are several tea houses inside the park.

Other than that, nothing.

I was expecting to see orchids and take some pictures of them. None that I can find in this "Orchid" garden.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been living in GZ for about 2 years and this is the first truly relaxing Chinese style GREEN spot in town where you won't find more then 3-4 people all together (at least on weekdays)r! It's just beautiful and peaceful, surrounded by trees and plants and every spot in there is just perfect to enjoy the natural view. There are also three lovely teahouses where the tea is served according to the traditional Chinese ceremony. You will pay 38-58 CNY per person for drinking tea, but you will spend for sure a few hours in there and feel just fine! There's a 8 CNY entrance fee, but it's quite worth what you see and experience. I took my 2.5-year-old child (children under 1.2 m do not need to pay entrance fee) with me and he loved it. He simply enjoyed lying in the grass, crossing the small lakes and going up and down the little bridges. We stopped at one of the teahouses for a siesta and then, after a second walk, we had lunch at the biggest one. The food there is a little expensive but the view from the window is really something. When we left the restaurant a Chinese lady not too far was collecting medlars from a tree and she gave us some. They tasted just like rose petals!!! I will definitely go back some other time and take my friends!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you have gone in Singapore, you should go there. The world's most beautiful orchids, the edges of the road. The most exclusive environments. On the treesbriefly everywhere, colorful. Fragrances are awesome.

Roads are a bit uphill, but very enjoyable.

entrance fee is cash only, they do not accept credit cards,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Orchid Garden - nice place but underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited the Garden due to the rave reviews but were unfortunately underwhelmed. Contrary to the title of the site there was only a small greenhouse in the middle of the gardens with no more than 20 orchid plants in bloom. The rest of the garden, although pretty and peaceful, did not have any other flowers. Perhaps we arrived at the wrong time (3pm) but the tea houses were dead. This would be a nice place to visit if you were on your own and wanted to relax and drink some tea but isn't however an 'attraction' per se. Yuexiu park opposite seemed more lively and interesting and should have opted to go there (for free)...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet tea house and tropical like garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

If you're tired by your trip, and wish to see some nature while drinking good tea, just go to this lovely place. It's both a modern and ancient type chinese garden, with a lot of different plants, and gorgeous orchids. The price to enter is very modest, and you forgot that you're in a loudy city since everything is quiet and green.

Just the type of break you need after visiting a noisy market or a dark museum. Take the time to choose your tea house, and your quality of beverage, while eating some sweets or dim sum! The women will do the tea for you in a beautiful way, and you will wish to stay here forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Garden (Lanpu) also viewed

 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Been to Orchid Garden (Lanpu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid Garden (Lanpu), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.