We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥688 (RMB)
Ranked #22 of 2,814 Hotels in Guangzhou
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pleasant hotel in a good location, opposite a mall and lots of shops and next door to the efficient, clean and cheap metro system.
The size of the rooms is good. Beds a liitle hard, as is common in China. The bathroom could do with a revamp but it is perfectly adecuate. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Excellent outdoor pool with comfortable sofas to lay down. Great service all round at the hotel.
I ate at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel and wasn't at all impressed with the food, the poor service or the expensive bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We do apologize that our bed and chinese restaurant failed to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Please contact us for feather mattress pad to made it softer in your future visit. In regard to the food and service of Chinese restaurant, we have immediately shared your comments among our operation team for improvement. You are rest assured that hotel is keen to raise the worthy of value to customer. 

Once again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    1,012
    171
    33
    16
See reviews for
91
33
40
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

stayed here for 2 nites to attend Chinaplas and loved it.Booked a Deluxe room and was blown away...the room had a lounge and office area. Bedroom was huge as was the bathroom.
Ate one night at the Cantonese restaurant on the second floor which was very good. The lounge bar had nightly enterrtainment and a good atmosphere....the Tavern Bar was a bit too smokey. Good location with shops bars within walking distance...try The Paddy Field Irish bar. and also huge shopping malls across the road. Would stay here again as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: if you book the Executive rooms you gain access to the Club Lounge on the 30 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and impressed with our room, facilities and services. For your reference, your comment on the Tavern Bar has been shared with our departments concerned for improvement on ventilation system.

Again, thank you for your compliments and comments; we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We live in Guangzhou and were looking for a nice 'stay-cation' for a weekend. The location is great! So many bars and restaurants to choose from, right outside. The rooms do look old, but the hotel is old as well. Not to say they were bad, they were just not 'shiny and new' The staff were very pleasant. The pool was lovely. The revolving restaurant puts on a very good spread. My only complaint was that we were smokers, and it was difficult to convince them that we were just going down and outside to enjoy a smoke. Being that you are allowed to smoke in the rooms, I would have thought there would be a section of the eating area for that too. But, overall, a very lovely weekend. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that the room was not able to meet your expectation. For your easy reference, we have the Deluxe Room and Executive Room are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities, which are more suitable for you.

For smoking, basically, it is prohibited in public indoor area in China. In considering needs from customer, we do provide outdoor tables at The Cascade Café plus a lobby Tavern Bar which have its own ventilation system.

Last but not the least, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very comfortable, home away from home hotel.
Rooms were large and comfortable bed, where one is guaranteed a sound sleep.
Bathrooms were a good size and very clean.
Service was excellent and staff make a good effort to see you are looked after.
Ideally located with a good choice of international restaurants just around the block, left side coming out of the hotel entrance.
Good choice of food and nice breakfast selection, good cross section of western and Asian breakfast so all covered.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking if you don't smoke as the smoking rooms are quite bad..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our room, facilities and services.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Garden Hotel was wonderful. We had a suite with all the amenities. The breakfast buffet was delicious! The garden area was very nice.

Our suite had two thermostats: one in living area and one in bedroom area. This allowed the bedroom area to be cooler in the evening. The rooms were very modern and user friendly.

The staff of the hotel took total care of us.

I would go there again and again!

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities and services.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at the Cascade restaurant is ridiculously expensive. Kids meal for 138 RMB for a small hot dog, corn chowder, and frost bitten ice cream? Would recommend not eating at the hotel except for breakfast buffet which is very good. A/C had issues keeping up with the humidity and the WiFi is extremely slow and unreliable whether in the room or lobby. Wired connection is much better. Probably among the best staff outside of Disney owned hotels at Disney World.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that dining and facilities are failed to meet your expectations. Your comments had been shared among our operation team for improvement. In addition, new promotions of authentic cuisines which are worth of value to customer are for your referrence. 
Once again, thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Hotel was amazing. I was incredibly beautiful, the lobby is an experience of its own. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent they had everything you could want from Chinese to Western foods. And the view from the restaurant is an incredible garden with 2 large waterfalls beautiful pools and trees, an oasis in the middle of a big city. The service was excellent everyone went beyond the call for us.I highly recommend this hotel. It was also try clean.

Room Tip: We were there for an adoption so we had no choice of our rooms we had 3 room located on various side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and you were impressed with our facilities and services, especially the Cascade which is one of the most popular restaurants in town.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#122 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou, the first and only Platinum 5-Star Hotel in Guangzhou, the flagship hotel of the Lingnan Group's deluxe hotel collection — LN Garden Hotel and the Headquarters Hotel of The 16th Asian Games, is a premier destination for guests from home and abroad featuring exceptional facilities, superb services and personalized Lingnan style hospitality. The Garden Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Guangzhou's prosperous business and entertainment district, with easy access to the airport, train stations and the Taojin Station of Guangzhou Metro Line 5 located in front of the Hotel. The Garden Hotel boasts 828 exquisite guest rooms and a wide array of distinctive restaurants and bars offering exceptional fine dining and wining experiences. The grand Convention Hall and ten versatile function rooms, feature state-of-the-art facilities and impeccable services offered by a dedicated catering team, are the perfect venues for hosting high-class banquets, meetings and special events. The hotel also features a well-equipped business centre, health club, spa, shopping arcade and back garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.