We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay for the weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Save Saved
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥688 (RMB)
Ranked #22 of 2,796 Hotels in Guangzhou
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good stay for the weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We live in Guangzhou and were looking for a nice 'stay-cation' for a weekend. The location is great! So many bars and restaurants to choose from, right outside. The rooms do look old, but the hotel is old as well. Not to say they were bad, they were just not 'shiny and new' The staff were very pleasant. The pool was lovely. The revolving restaurant puts on a very good spread. My only complaint was that we were smokers, and it was difficult to convince them that we were just going down and outside to enjoy a smoke. Being that you are allowed to smoke in the rooms, I would have thought there would be a section of the eating area for that too. But, overall, a very lovely weekend. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that the room was not able to meet your expectation. For your easy reference, we have the Deluxe Room and Executive Room are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities, which are more suitable for you.

For smoking, basically, it is prohibited in public indoor area in China. In considering needs from customer, we do provide outdoor tables at The Cascade Café plus a lobby Tavern Bar which have its own ventilation system.

Last but not the least, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,008
    169
    33
    16
See reviews for
86
33
40
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very comfortable, home away from home hotel.
Rooms were large and comfortable bed, where one is guaranteed a sound sleep.
Bathrooms were a good size and very clean.
Service was excellent and staff make a good effort to see you are looked after.
Ideally located with a good choice of international restaurants just around the block, left side coming out of the hotel entrance.
Good choice of food and nice breakfast selection, good cross section of western and Asian breakfast so all covered.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking if you don't smoke as the smoking rooms are quite bad..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our room, facilities and services.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Garden Hotel was wonderful. We had a suite with all the amenities. The breakfast buffet was delicious! The garden area was very nice.

Our suite had two thermostats: one in living area and one in bedroom area. This allowed the bedroom area to be cooler in the evening. The rooms were very modern and user friendly.

The staff of the hotel took total care of us.

I would go there again and again!

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities and services.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at the Cascade restaurant is ridiculously expensive. Kids meal for 138 RMB for a small hot dog, corn chowder, and frost bitten ice cream? Would recommend not eating at the hotel except for breakfast buffet which is very good. A/C had issues keeping up with the humidity and the WiFi is extremely slow and unreliable whether in the room or lobby. Wired connection is much better. Probably among the best staff outside of Disney owned hotels at Disney World.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn that dining and facilities are failed to meet your expectations. Your comments had been shared among our operation team for improvement. In addition, new promotions of authentic cuisines which are worth of value to customer are for your referrence. 
Once again, thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Hotel was amazing. I was incredibly beautiful, the lobby is an experience of its own. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent they had everything you could want from Chinese to Western foods. And the view from the restaurant is an incredible garden with 2 large waterfalls beautiful pools and trees, an oasis in the middle of a big city. The service was excellent everyone went beyond the call for us.I highly recommend this hotel. It was also try clean.

Room Tip: We were there for an adoption so we had no choice of our rooms we had 3 room located on various side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and you were impressed with our facilities and services, especially the Cascade which is one of the most popular restaurants in town.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms though i didn't have good view for my room but it was fine the service is excellent and location is very good
Close to business district and many attractions and shopping malls
I'd recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms,service and location. In regards to your comments about the view from your room, we will take note and try our best to meet your requirement in your future visit.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was much better than previous reviewers had stated. We had two adults and two small children. No charge for a crib for our youngest child.

Since it was raining most of the week we were there,didn't see much of the neighborhood. The breakfast buffet was adequate.

Although it was off the beatan path, did enjoy going to a chinese market for food and clothing.

The restaurants in the neighborhood were good. I liked having a 7 Eleven across from the hotel.

The nearby park was nice and our children enjoyed the playground.

Yes I would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our newly renovated room and location. For your reference, children playing room on 6th floor of Garden Tower and as well as the back garden of hotel are ideal place for children to play.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#118 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou, the first and only Platinum 5-Star Hotel in Guangzhou, the flagship hotel of the Lingnan Group's deluxe hotel collection — LN Garden Hotel and the Headquarters Hotel of The 16th Asian Games, is a premier destination for guests from home and abroad featuring exceptional facilities, superb services and personalized Lingnan style hospitality. The Garden Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Guangzhou's prosperous business and entertainment district, with easy access to the airport, train stations and the Taojin Station of Guangzhou Metro Line 5 located in front of the Hotel. The Garden Hotel boasts 828 exquisite guest rooms and a wide array of distinctive restaurants and bars offering exceptional fine dining and wining experiences. The grand Convention Hall and ten versatile function rooms, feature state-of-the-art facilities and impeccable services offered by a dedicated catering team, are the perfect venues for hosting high-class banquets, meetings and special events. The hotel also features a well-equipped business centre, health club, spa, shopping arcade and back garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.