We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BMW Test Drive Package
Ranked #18 of 2,821 Hotels in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 2,016 Reviews
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Revamp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The location for business is good and the facilities are ok but this hotel needs a makeover as the rooms are dated but comfortable.
The service is really poor and expect long queues for check in and departure.
The staff are surly to say the least with little or no English.
Best tip...be patient and book a superior room and take breakfast in your room

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn about your comment for long queues for check in and departure and the staffs' speaking English. Your comment had been shared with our operation team, they certainly will focus and improve the service. Besides, Operational English courses will be conducted regularly in order to improve staffs' English level and please do not hesitate to contact duty manager for check in and departure when you have problem. The newly renovated Deluxe category and above are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities. For your reference, one of the current preferential promotions to stay Deluxe room category and above, will be able to enjoy 90-minute session Body Massage and buffet breakfast.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    1,020
    173
    33
    17
See reviews for
92
36
41
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Before I write a review for this hotel, I would like to clarify on what are essential for me to like a hotel.
- Being an vegeterian and a foodie, I need eating options around(if not within) the hotel
- Well lit spacious room
- Good facility to workout
- English channels on TV

On all these ground the garden hotel is amazing. The first view of entering the hotel is mesmerizing where you see a hugh chinese art behind the reception.
The staff is very hospitable and willing to listen to your feed back. In one of my stay I wrote a note about having more vegeterian options for room menu and since then there is always a customized veg menu in my room. Also they have a very good breakfast spread and the ambience of restaurant is very nice. Around hotel you have many eating out options at reasonable price.
Conveyance is convenient from hotel with option of Taojin station just at the gate of hotel. Also taxi are readily available to take you around(I prefer subway to avoid traffic)
Rooms are getting upgradation on upper floors and they are good. The one in lower floors ore ok and nothing remarkable to talk about.
Workout facility is big enough to support multiple guest at same time and is well maintained. Staff is available around to help you in case you need some assistance.
Cost for hotel is reasonable as compare to many other similar cataegory hotel I have stayed in.
The biggest surprise for me is the english channels availability on TV. This is one hotel where they actually have many options and in this way is truly international.
A great hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the freindship mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assruance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had a enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our room, facilities and the go-aheadism of our team. Refurbishment plan of rooms in lower floor is scheduled to enhance our room design and product to meet the needs of our guests.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time in this Hotel. Usually the hotels in china have really big rooms, but in this case paying for a regular room and getting upgraded (I've always been upgraded) you would be able to play soccer in your room. This is not a room is a small apartment. Nice stay.
And do not forget having a beer at the Irish pub at the lobby.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our personalized service. The newly renovated Deluxe category and above are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities as you mentioned.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.


Yours Sincerely
Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 day and after change hotel. Because I didn't like service. No so clean rooms. Old furniture and bathroom. Breakfast not inclusive although I paid 200 baks per night. Location is well, but it make hotel not relax able place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comment had been shared with our operation team, they certainly will focus and improve the service areas that you mentioned. Please allow me to say about our hotel facilities and equipment have been renewed consistently, the newly renovated Deluxe category and above are more spacious (64㎡) with an elegant design, exceptional facilities and superior amenities. For your reference, one of the current preferential promotions to stay Deluxe room category and above, will be able to enjoy 90-minute session Body Massage at Angsana Spa,buffet breakfast at the Cascade Cafe , and free use of the Health Club (24 hours) for relax as well. Please stay confident with us, we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Again the lobby is truly impressive,with a huge gilt mural backing the reception desk. The rooms are small and very outdated for such a supposedly elegant hotel.
The restaurants are all mundane and overpriced, One last complaint - The hotel business center is run by an old rude lady who should have retired years ago as she unfortunately is not capable of running the center anymore, mind you the business center has four other ladies of great patience, and all try theirs best to help the many adopting parents, and some times things are lost in translation, but the manager is unfriendly and simply to be avoided by all cost. In one of my previous trip I even tried to talk with the front desk manager but he was simply incapable of providing any explanation at all. I did talk with one of the foreign staff on exchange training programs, and was so surprised in the dept of her knowledge, now I understand it's all about the training, so I already booked for my next trip stay in the International Hotel (Grown Plaza), (ten (10) minutes walk away, shuttle connection to the Airport, and have better services.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regretted to learn from you about your unpleasant experience on recent visit. A meeting was conducted with our operation team to rectify all those mentioned issues.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that you can contact contactus@thegardenhotel.com.cn to give us a chance to serve you better on your next visiting plan.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my third adoption trip to China. First two trips I stayed at White Swan. This was the hotel preferred by my agency to use. I could not have been happier. The room/suite consisted of a living room area with couch, chair, armoire and tv. Also a desk and two more business type chairs. The sleeping area was a separate room with two double beds. I am a single mom with two daughters, and we were adopting a third. My girls are 12, 10, and 9. This room was great. We had two blow up air mattresses in the living room, so everyone had their own bed. It was nice to have the table/coffee table in the living room. We had lunch in the room several times, using the electic hot pot and ramen noodles from Trustmart! The only small complaint was the bathroom. The tub/walk in shower area door was not sealed well, and we had water leaking into the main part of the bathroom, as well as out into the bedroom. Sopped it up with towels, and in a day or two, they repaired/re-sealed it. But the carpet never seemed to dry. The garden itself is lovely, and we had a routine everyday to go feed the fish, and play hackey sack on the lawn. The breakfast buffet was wonderful...something for everyone! We never ate at any of the restaurants at the hotel. There are many, many restaurants close by the hotel, that offer much more reasonable prices. I would enthusiastically recommend this hotel to anyone, and would stay here again if I return to Guangzhou :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comment had been shared among our operation team in order to ensure a better service to be provided in the future. For your reference, our restaurants have different packages preferential promotion for guests choosing.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an area where a lot is going on. There were many people staying here that were doing international adoptions, including us. There is a lot of waiting around for paperwork to get completed so we were able to use their outdoor play area for small children and their indoor play area. But we were shocked to find their beautiful pool and kids pools were not heated and were at 64 degrees F It was no wonder that nobody was outside sitting by the pool. Difficult to understand that a hotel on this caliber would not have done that. The restaurants were very good but way over priced for the area. There seemed to be way more employees than they needed-especially in restaurants. It made me feel very uncomfortable to be stared at while we were eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn about your comment for our swimming pool and restaurants. Apart from the swimming pool and outdoor play area, Children playing room on 6th floor of Garden Tower and the hotel's back garden are good for children playing and sunshine. For your reference, our restaurants have different packages preferential promotion for guests choosing, and operational training courses will be conducted regularly in order to improve service skills of our staff as well.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#16 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#119 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou, the first and only Platinum 5-Star Hotel in Guangzhou, the flagship hotel of the Lingnan Group's deluxe hotel collection — LN Garden Hotel and the Headquarters Hotel of The 16th Asian Games, is a premier destination for guests from home and abroad featuring exceptional facilities, superb services and personalized Lingnan style hospitality. The Garden Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Guangzhou's prosperous business and entertainment district, with easy access to the airport, train stations and the Taojin Station of Guangzhou Metro Line 5 located in front of the Hotel. The Garden Hotel boasts 828 exquisite guest rooms and a wide array of distinctive restaurants and bars offering exceptional fine dining and wining experiences. The grand Convention Hall and ten versatile function rooms, feature state-of-the-art facilities and impeccable services offered by a dedicated catering team, are the perfect venues for hosting high-class banquets, meetings and special events. The hotel also features a well-equipped business centre, health club, spa, shopping arcade and back garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.