We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 2,847 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were staying here while adopting our new daughter. The hotel is very nice and caters to, among others, families who are adopting. There is an outdoor play center with some playground toys, and a small room with some indoor type toys. There are several restaraunts in the hotel but are ridiculously expensive. Venture out and find one of many local restaraunts within walking distance that are much more reasonably priced (the Thai restaraunt in the Friendship Center accross the street was a big hit and very affordable). Having a suite was really nice with new baby. She could take a nap in the bedroom and we could use the living room without waking her up. Staff here was great too. The only disappointment was that the temp of the pool was freezing and we were unable to swim. Not sure why. The staff assured us that the pool was open but the gate was padlocked and the attendant actually led us through the bushes to get around the gate to get in. Very strange and a useless endeavor because we couldn't swim anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We regret to learn about your comment for our restaurants and swimming pool. For your reference, our restaurants have different packages preferential promotion for guests choosing. Allow us to share that according to the state sanitation regulation, the gate was padlocked in order to guide guests enter the swimming pool through the disinfecting pool to ensure swimming pool hygiene.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to serving you again.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    1,064
    185
    35
    18
See reviews for
105
43
45
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable and clean rooms and everything works, friendly staff, good food, good location for shopping, reasonable gym, business lounge is ok, fruit basket and roses in the room a nice touch. Starbucks next door. This is fourth stay and no doubt will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou! We truly appreciate and value you as our repeat guest, and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back.

We are delighted to learn that you had a enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities, location, and the friendliness of our team.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in a business trip and the hotel is perfect for this kind of stay.
Nice buffet, friendly staff, huge lobby, good common areas.
The room was big enough and the bed very comfortable.
It definitely met my business standards and my expectations.
Close to restaurants and shops.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our buffet, service and facilities.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.


Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenthotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you've been traveling for a bit around different parts of Guangdong, Garden Hotel is an oasis to tired travelers. Its a pretty decent 5-star hotel with numerous service staff waiting to fulfill your every whims from opening the door of your cab to pressing the lift button each time you walk into the lift lobby. The room is amazingly well-furnished and the toiletries supplied are surprisingly of high standards and quality. TV surfers would love the fact that there are many English channels ensuring that you won't miss your weekly dose even while traveling.

The hotel is conveniently located near the row of shops, eateries and bars that are familiar to foreigners. While the food served at the hotel is excellent, there're a couple of excellent eateries just opposite the hotel exit which shouldnt be missed. For example, the wanton noodle shop is well-known for its springy noodles and decent price.

Even non-occupants of this establishment would love the fact flagging a taxi is never a problem as there's a perpetual taxi queue right in front of the entrance. Although it can be rather pricey but its worth the pamper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience you had during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou.

We are delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel, service and facilities. Your feedback inspires us to consistently maintain the high standards at all times for our valued guests.

We do appreciate your recognition of our staff. It is with great pleasure that we extend such positive feedback to our colleagues who are dedicated to ensuring each of our guests stay is memorable.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

After visiting two other cities in China on our adoption trip (Beijing and Guiyang), I had lowered expectations for our hotel in Guangzhou... especially after our reservation was moved from the China Hotel (Marriott) to the Garden hotel.

I could not be more impressed. We stayed in one of the 2-room suites on the 14th floor, and I have to admit that this was one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Very spacious, beautifully decorated, and just overall relaxing.

The breakfast buffet was the best we had seen in China, and it was also great to meet other adoptive families while we were there. The outside gardens were breath-taking! Amazing!

We did not take advantage of the fitness center or the main pool, but I wish I had. There was an outdoor playground just behind the pool area that kept our kids entertained for hours!!

If we ever have the opportunity to visit Guangzhou again, we will undoubtedly be staying here.

Room Tip: There is a significant upgrade in size and quality of the rooms between a standard hotel room and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with the overall hotel facilities of the hotel.

Your compliments will serve as an added motivation to our team to carry on the service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely


Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had asked our tour agency for a good hotel in Guangzhou that is centrally located - near shops, restaurants and activities. The Garden Hotel meets all that we had asked for and then some. Upon entering the hotel, we received a friendly greeting by some of the hotel personnel that were stationed around the lobby. The lobby itself is quite large, impressive and modern in design. Just to the right-side of the lobby is a full-service bar that has live entertainment (piano and singer) for each night (3-nights) that we were there. The bar area also serves appetizers and sandwiches for a light meal. We had drinks and sandwiches there on two separate occasions and both the service and quality of food there were excellent.
The rooms were quite spacious, clean and well maintained, and the beds were very comfortable for a good night's sleep.
The included all you can eat breakfast buffet was excellent - large selection and good quality. There was more than enough food to last the whole morning.
Stepping outside the hotel, there were many gift shops, shopping centers, fast food shops, coffee shops including Starbucks and many restaurants all around the area. By the way, the Garden Hotel itself have several very nice looking restaurants inside but we did not get a chance to try them out because there were so many nearby places to eat.

The Garden Hotel is definitely an excellent hotel in a great location - we would like to come back here again when we plan another trip to Guangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms and service. In addition, our hotel is honor to award as “The Best Business Hotel in Guangzhou" by Business Traveller for the 9th consecutive years.

Your kind recommendation will serve as an added motivation to the team to continue to provide premium service that you have experienced. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby, as has been noted, and the gardens are also beautiful (really the whole hotel is pretty). The things that stick out from our stay include the breakfast buffet (which was very good, included southern rice noodles, and peanut butter for waffles, but they did sit all the adopting families way off in a corner wing, which was mostly funny, but did make me feel like some sort of segregated citizen), the beautiful weddings, well-appointed rooms (for China), and the proximity to western food (Pizza Hut, McDonald's) and non-western (There is a Pho place about a block away that was amazing), but I don't recommend going out too much at night as you will be accosted by those seeking to sell you everything from drugs to people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quailty Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our breakfast buffet and the overall hotel facilities of the hotel. We are sorry about the seating arrangements that was not upto your expectation. We do try to satisfy and meet the guests need in all the ways. Lots of adoption families like sitting together for sharing and having fun, as well as there is beautiful garden view with waterfall and has more space for children to play. Of course, you might choose the seating that you prefer and we are happy to be of help.

Besides, rest assured that safety and security in the hotel for our guests is our top most priority. There are many security features in the hotel to ensure the privacy and safety of our guests.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAoffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#54 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
1.6 mi away
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#7 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#12 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#21 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#99 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou is one of the first landmarks of 5 star luxury hotels , it showcases a perfect blend of Cantonese heritage and contemporary sophistication. Garden Hotel offers welcoming ambience, memorable experience and classic culinary tour. Garden Hotel boasts 828 guest rooms & suites, 150 apartments, 8 multi - function rooms and 10 dining venues. The perfect choice for your journey in Guangzhou! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.