We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Hotel Guangzhou to your Saves list
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥688 (RMB)
Ranked #20 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was on a business trip and stayed there for 4 days. the hotel looked nice from outside and the lobby is the best thing about the hotel, but rooms.......they shout renovation. The rooms are very old.......it was a big set back for me wile entering the room. Another best thing about the hotel is the location....lots of shopping malls, hotels and restaurants are around. The breakfast buffet was nice. May not stay here, when ever i travel next!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Please do accept our sincere apologize with regards to the room which you were staying in. Refurbishment plan of our Superior rooms is scheduled to enhance our room design and product to meet the needs of our guests. Our Deluxe category and above are more spacious (64㎡) which has a separate bedroom and living room.

We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our rooms and welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    1,048
    181
    35
    18
See reviews for
100
42
42
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is exactly what a 5 star hotel should be. Staff very helpful.Improvement would be having advisory staff near hotel elevators with a little better command of English. Great breakfast.
Beautiful, well appointed rooms. Very Clean. No HVAC problems. Restaurants and shopping fairly nearby as well as in the hotel.
CanAM Clinic right in the hotel with English speaking staff.
Would also suggest that the children's play room location were not such a well kept secret.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou!

We were glad to learn that your experience with our staff and had a good time with us. Admittedly, the English level of some of our local staff needs to be polished. Operational English courses will be conducted regularly and we will continue to have more foreign associates to work with us. In addition, we will arrange certain direction signage according to your suggestion.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location is great, the neighborhood is very nice, the rooms are huge (maybe I was upgraded to a suite - unless all rooms are like that), the service is very welcoming and the breakfast is very nice. There is a very nice shopping centre across the road, a choice of restaurants, and a couple of nice bars. This is a good hotel, and a very nice choice for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate to hear that you truly enjoyed our service and your experience has been positive.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed here completing the adoption of my three yr old daughter The deluxe suite was just big enough to give us space to spread out and at the same time provide a space in which we could bond. the welcome baby basket was unexpected and appreciated. the maid service was top notch and very responsive each time we called. the breakfast buffet was plentiful with choices for everyone. even after 7 days, I was not tired of the choices. I would absolutely stay here if I am ever in the area agai , and will be recommending this property to my other friends who are currently waiting to travel to China to finalize their adoptions

Room Tip: we stayed in a smoking room, because there was no non smoking available. you could not tell this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience you had during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou.

It was such an honor that we could have your comments and high valuation regarding to our service, rooms and breakfast buffet. We are delight that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is a real 5 star experience to stay in this luxurious hotel. The cotumer's service is unique. The staff is professional, lovely and oh my god they really know how to talk to costumers!!!
The rooms are amazing. I'll let you discover the spa which is a real paradise...
I would definitely recommend this hotel to the whole world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Garden Hotel while you are traveling to Guangzhou!

It was such an honor that we could have your comments and high valuation regarding to our service, rooms and spa. We are delight that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

We would like to thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Friendly and efficient check-in - confusion on check-out Overall service satisfactory. Excellent location, rooms adequate and clean but dated with small bathrooms and no separate shower. WIFI connectivity and TV channel choices however perfect .
Breakfast rather mediocre and for what is on offer expensive hence we gave up after one try. Food & Beverage outlets generally overpriced like $ 50 for two not very tasty club sandwiches and softdrinks. No wonder the outlets are empty in the evenings as there are some great Italian, Spanish etc restaurants offering excellent food at reasonable prices just round the corner.- food for thought for the management to try and capture their clients to remain in-house..............

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Please do accept our sincere apologize with regards to the room which you were staying in, our Deluxe category and above are more spacious which has a separate bedroom and living room, it has a large bathroom that has a separate cubicle for the shower and toilet. We also apologize for the breakfast not meeting to your expectation, we would like to suggest you to try breakfast buffet which provide various of food and soft drinks.

We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service standards and welcome you back in the near future. Please contact us for your next visit so that we can recommend a room which will meet your expectations.

Yours Sincerely


Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our family stayed here recently for an adoption trip. We had 2 deluxe suites, which were so very nice! What a beautiful facility with attentive staff. Our hallway seemed to have a housekeeper on duty around-the-clock. Anytime I needed something, I could easily find someone to help. The breakfast buffet satisfied everyone from my uber-picky 2 yr old, to the eat-everything-offered 7 yr old, to our Grandma who vowed not to eat anything in China! The restaurant staff was fantastic at anticipating our needs and always very responsive. The cost of a Coke ordered at the restaurant was a little silly, but oh well. Plan ahead and bring your own! We used the children's playroom, which was small, but usually my kids were the only ones in there. We also visited the library and the swimming pool and found all areas to be squeaky clean and well-equipped. The outdoor playground was closed while we were there; my kids would have loved that as a daily diversion! The hotel has several restaurants, but with small children, we usually opted for dining at less-exclusive places. Within walking distance, there are plenty of affordable Chinese restaurants as well as several Western chains (McDonalds, Subway, Starbucks, etc.) and non-chain Western restaurants. The shops are pricey, and really, the hotel is nicer than anyplace we would stay in the U.S., but it was so very nice and welcoming. It's the nicest hotel I have stayed at in China (20+ hotels in 10+ cities) There is even a United Airlines on the bottom floor that can help with your travel needs if that is your departure airline. I would readily stay here again, and I've already told my friends getting ready to travel to China that the extra cost of this hotel versus some of the other options is so worth it. Thanks, Garden Hotel, for a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegardenhotel, Quality Assurance Office at The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience you had during your recent stay at The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou.

We are delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel, service and facilities. Your feedback inspires us to consistently maintain the high standards at all times for our valued guests.

We do appreciate your recognition of our staff. It is with great pleasure that we extend such positive feedback to our colleagues who are dedicated to ensuring each of our guests stay is memorable.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Quality Assurance Office
Email: QAOffice@thegardenhotel.com.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No. 368 Huanshi Dong Road, Guangzhou 510064, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#19 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#104 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Garden Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Hotel, Guangzhou is one of the first landmarks of 5 star luxury hotels , it showcases a perfect blend of Cantonese heritage and contemporary sophistication. Garden Hotel offers welcoming ambience, memorable experience and classic culinary tour. Garden Hotel boasts 828 guest rooms & suites, 150 apartments, 8 multi - function rooms and 10 dining venues. The perfect choice for your journey in Guangzhou! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Garden Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Hotel Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.