We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Good location”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Canton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Landmark Canton Hotel to your Saves list
Landmark Canton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Qiaoguang Road, Haizhu Square,Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Miri, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Good location””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Was given the renovated room on the 15th floor. Amazing views of the River at night with the lights on under the bridges. Great location and walking distance to metro station and from major restaurants, bars and clubs. Managed to get free hotel wifi too. Staffs were really helpful and friendly. I will recommend this hotel to my family & friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    192
    87
    20
    17
See reviews for
20
35
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here in February-March 14. Hotel has great facilities (pool, gym and excellent wifi!). The location is excellent with most rooms fronting the pearl river (wonderful view at night). It is also a short walk away from Beijing Lu (road) where you can do most of your shopping. Unfortunately the service is not up to par for a 4 star hotel. Although I've expected communication issue (since my grasp of mandarin/canto is minimal), I did not expect their staff to be so ignorant of guests. However, I think they hire a lot of interns (especially their counter staff and bell boys) hence that makes up for their lack of service (sort of).

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors as those have been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The check in took a little longer than normal due to the large size of the hotel and the guests celebrating the Chinese New Year. The bellhops helped us take our bags upstairs which was kind but not requested and still expected a tip and tried to hang around for one.

The Bathroom: The smell in the bathroom was disgusting and even with the vent on all day the smell never went away. It was nauseating to use the restroom and take a shower. The shower door did not shut because it was crooked and so water got on the floor in a puddle. Many times the housekeeping did not replace our toilet paper.

The Room: We stayed in the Executive Suite and it was not honestly represented through the pictures in terms of décor and cleanliness. The décor was very bear and made the room dreary looking. It was a good size for a family. We were on the 33rd floor and it always gave us a good view of the Canton Tower and river, which was best looked upon at night because the ridiculous amount of pollution covered most of it in the day. Which brings me to another point. Smoking is allowed pretty much everywhere. We sometimes caught the smell of cigarettes floating through the ventilation system. That and the mustiness of the room and pollution leaking in caused for a feeling of constant uncleanliness in the air and we had trouble breathing.

The bed was extremely hard. I normally can sleep on firm surfaces but this one was too hard.

There are restaurants in the hotel but each is extremely expensive as expected.

I used the gym but the lighting was limited and I felt uncomfortably watched by the staff. The view was nothing special from the gym. The swimming pool is not as "fun" as it seems in terms of décor and lighting from the photo online. There you were somewhat watched by a lifeguard in regular dress on a phone.

I found out that the sauna costs so I did not use this.

There is a mini-bar and a refrigerator in the room with overpriced drinks. Make sure that when you check out that you see your list charge in case they charge you unfairly. We drank nothing but I still checked the list because it seemed little charges could pop up anywhere.

There is a Family Mart on the bottom floor close to the lobby which serves as a convenience. Our room service food and price were average. You will be charged a 15% service charge.

I will not return to this hotel as it had more cons than pros.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. .
Great location. .
Just 10 minutes walk to Beijing lu street for good shopping.
Amazing views of the River at night with the lights on under the bridges. .
Staff are quite poor in English for a big hotel like this.
I stayed during canton fair time. Check in and check out was quick and efficient.
Overall I'd stay here again coz of it's good location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Found this hotel to be reasonably good. We had dinner in their restaurant and it was excellent.
The rooms were perfectly acceptable, nothing special, but nothing to complain about.
The location is very good. A short walk to the river front and a about 15 minutes walk to the shopping area nearby.
There was a large LCD sign across the road from our room, but it was turned off reasonably early so was not a problem.
Our Chinese hosts told us that this is quite a famous hotel in China and considered to be good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location on the pearl river. Few steps from metro station and from major restaurants, bars and clubs...
The hotel is quite nice: like Many chinese hotels. Huge lobby, some shops inside and taxi service outside.
Rooms are nice but not wonderfull... Found Some Beatles walking in the carpet. Bathroom quite small, but Many services available that in Italy we don't have. I asked For wifi and it works in my room...
Good For business trip but For vacation also. I'd recomend to Who doesn't have really High expectations!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I was looking for a place to get over jet lag from the states and I loved the write up and reviews on this site. Price was excellent as was the location, prime by my standards. I ended up with a mini suite which I considered to be rather large for only $80 US. Amazing fresh fish restaurant around the corner, a 2 min walk and an outstanding place for dim sum or Chinese breakfast.
Excellent area for walking and discovering the real China. Lots to experience on both sides of the river. The hotel is old, but I love that old Chinese feel versus a new modern place. Excellent bed and wonderful river and city views. I was on the 35th floor. Wow.

Room Tip: High with a river view. A must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Canton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Canton Hotel

Address: No.8 Qiaoguang Road, Haizhu Square,Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Canton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Landmark Canton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Landmark Canton
Landmark Canton Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Canton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.