We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Canton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Landmark Canton Hotel to your Saves list
Landmark Canton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Qiaoguang Road, Haizhu Square,Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

got a Exe suite at offer price S$ 130(w/o Breakfast). Got a 23 rd flr room which is refurbished.

Room-Exe suite come with a bed rm and a sitting rm, flat screen TV at both rm. Room is clean and modern after refurbished. I got a very good view from both rooms window, of the Pearl river, esp nice at night. No bath tub, only standing shower. Water will leak out thru the glass door, making the restroom floor wet when showering. I wonder why the hotel has miss this.

Bed and pillow is too soft for us. Room come with Safe, kettle.

Service- basic ok, few staffs got sour face when you ask too much question. Concierge are helpful and polite, same goes to the waitress at the lobby café. Can't say the same for the staff on the 39th flr restaurant. Room service ladies impress me most with their fast delivery of phone charger and sugar, upon request. Overall don't feel much hospitality.

Location- one of the plus of this hotel is location.
-From airport, take no.5 bus, drop at Haizhu sq. 10mins walk to hotel.
-10mins walk to Beijing walking street.
-2mins walk to Pearl river, also Hong yi seafood restn.
-5mins walk to various wholesale malls.
-30mins Taxi to Mt. Baiyun costing abt 24yuan
-5mins walk to Metro line.

Restaurant at 39 floor is expensive, and the staff just walk off,when I ask to look at the menu for tomorrow breakfast.

Overall, I am happy with the exe suite, and my stay, mainly because of the convenient location.
Try to get a refurbished room if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room, and river facing if u like views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    192
    89
    21
    18
See reviews for
20
35
11
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A great hotel and well located in case you need quick access to one link plaza.
The service and staff at the hotel were friendly, impeccable and most helpful. Also at our floor we had a lady stationed near the door at all times which just made us feel very safe since we were 2 ladies travelling alone.
One link plaza was a 5 minute walk, and there were plenty of restaurants and nightclubs nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I travel to the The Landmark Hotel twice a year for the Canton Fair, and it is average at best. The rooms are poorly maintained (although it would seem they are in the midst of refurbishment), check-in usually takes longer than it would anywhere else, and most of the staff have no clue of what they are doing. The breakfast area for this time of year is crowded and unorganised, and the quality of the food is poor. However, the Oriental Legend restaurant for dinner is AMAZING.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my friend in the business suite - GRANDDDDD! Check in was quick, although we were told breakfast was not included even though it was meant to be. Oh well...

Room was spacious and had a more traditional refined look. Great massive views of the Pearl River - particularly spectacular at night. We made good use of the free internet in the lounge although we felt a bit uncomfortable as we felt like the staff kept eyeing us.

Location was good, about a 10-15minute walk to Beijing Road during day time. I would recommend getting a taxi back to the hotel at night though - the route we took during daytime was very quiet at night.

We got the business suite during a 50% off sale, I probably wouldn't pay the full price for it and try somewhere a bit closer, but for my price, it was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great location! 200 m to Haizhu Square MRT, comfortable,clean, modern,convenient - restorant, family mark ( convenience store) .
To airport by taxi RMB 200 but avoid heavy traffic, may try MRT RMB 7/pax, cheap & convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed here as we attended the Canton Fair, so prices were up. Kenny & Mark at the concierge desk are very helpful. The room was a reasonable size, but the bathroom was quite compact. The room was clean but tired looking & bed comfortable. There is no wifi in the room. The hotel is close to restaurants of varying cuisines. It is about a 10 -15 minute walk to Beijing Rd, but ask for clear directions as it is not very straight forward.
Breakfast lacked variety, unless you eat pork. The food looked unappetising, not so fresh, and was not very tasty.
We would probably try a different hotel on our next visit to Guanzhou.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Poor service from frontdesk when I everytime to call to frontdesk to request service! The electricity plug in room was out of order. When I asked the frontdesk to help, the staff replied impatiently they'd find someone to help. On another day, when I requested for 2 more bottle of water, a frontdesk officer replied with poor attitude that she wonder it's impossible to provide such extra bottle of water.

Toilet in lobby was dirty! The room was dilapidated.

Good service from housekeeping. Good location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Canton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Canton Hotel

Address: No.8 Qiaoguang Road, Haizhu Square,Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Canton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Landmark Canton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Landmark Canton
Landmark Canton Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Canton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.