We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 2,815 Hotels in Guangzhou
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of this hotel was very nice. Little far away from the madding crowd of Guangzhou. Yet it was so much within the city.

The check in process was quite fast. I was offered a free welcome drink also. Sheer size of lobby and beautiful western music mesmerized me.

Lift and room looked little tiring. But I must mention the size of the room here. It was quite big and spacious. It had all basic facilities including an inkjet printer! Wow!

Toiletries’ were decent though I was not happy with the quality of bathroom fitting but for one night it hardly mattered!

The price of the basic food was quite decent.

Morning breakfast had nice spread.
Check out was quite fast too.
I think this hotel need little facelift otherwise almost everything looked ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure if they have any new wing. Room should be better there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Singharay,

Thank you so much for you thoughtful response. We are so pleased to have had you as our guest. I am so glad that during your short stay with us you were able to enjoy the location, the room, the lobby and music and I am so happy to hear you were delighted with your breakfast. I will pass on your feedback in regards to the bathroom fittings to the hotel management as we are constantly looking for ways to improve what our hotel has to offer. We so look forward to your next stay with us and welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
mt@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    31
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
19
9
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night, check in was ok. I didnt eat yet so I ordered some room service. By the way my room is very nice no complaints there. I had ordered Tomatoe soup, but the green soup i tasted was mushroom ..... Ok, can happen i thought although tomatoe sounds and is really something completely different. Then the burger, they had no fries told me, ok no problem, but filthy oily hash browns .... Brrr with the oil i could fill a bottle. My first bite of the burger was that there was something very tough in it which i could not bite through ..... Upon checking i almost threw up, it was a big piece of Pork Skin ...... In my Burger!!! Disgusted!! This was the Crowne Burger their House Burger!! From there on it did not get better, breakfast has some good things to it, the dinner buffet was tasteless. We tried a few meats, chicken, lamb chops and steak pieces just to try. One taste for all, baked in a lot of butter, all meat tasted literally the same. So i would suggest to others, for the food look elsewhere, for the rooms its ok. Overall not impressed with this hotel we look for another IC Property next time. We were here for the Furniture Fair.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller196420,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It is very upsetting for me to learn that you were disappointed with your food and beverage experience. Please be advised that the managers and chefs of the departments involved have been informed and are reviewing the details of the situations mentioned. They will be reviewing with their teams and taking steps to avoid this experience occuring to future guests. It seems there was a miscommunication with the soup at room service and the bacon on the burger was too overcooked. At Fresh Restaurant you may have missed our grill to order meat staion that offers marination meat selections such as, herb and garlic, peppercorn and curry. We hope you will trust to return to our hotel and if there is anyway I can rectify the situation for you please feel free to contact me personally. We do look forward to welcoming you back and showcasing to you the many delicious dishes our 3 award winning restaurants have to offer!
Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently read a book called the "Fred factor". The book is about those who go far beyond the call of duty and look at relationship building and customer service as a great source of pride. It encourages us to be "Freds" and look for them. Well, I found four! I was in Guangzhou on business and finding the city, transit and culture intimidating. That's when two Canadian employees named Jenny and Blair come in! They were very knowledgeable and helpful about all our concerns. I almost couldn't believe how nice they were until one night I was in the hotel lounge by myself (they had the night off and saw me alone) and they invited me out on the town with them. I had a blast! That night they introduced me to the Western chef Dave. Dave was so much fun and enlightened me on so many amazing features of the culture and the local cuisine. We had so much fun that night the next day I was invited to the market, this time we were joined by Jesse (one of the hotels managers) she was lovely and grew up in the city and told me so many fascinating things about the city: its past and culture. I had felt overwhelmed the first few days on the trip but thanks to these four I am looking forward to visiting Guangzhou on business again. The hotel was great but it's the people that make it so amazing. Thanks again you guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Lucky B,

Thank you so much for your kind comment and great feedback about the service you recieved during your stay. It was a pleasure to be able to show you some of the great attractions that our neighbourhood has to offer. Our team looks forward to your next vist to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre. Please let me know if I can offer assistance for any future bookings.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
mt@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

1) The pool is outdoor, but heated. It's kind of cool in winter days which is not very cold comparing north China but too cold to have a swim in nature temperature.
2) Every time I stay there, they send me a portion of Cantonese soup in a thermos. The soup is very good, and they put it in a thermos to keep warm but sometime the thermos was too old that can’t keep warm any more.

Room Tip: xx08 room is always my choice, it has a big squre hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Wei H,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. It is so wonderful for me to hear that you were able to enjoy our heated pool, even during the winter months. I am happy that you enjoyed the turndown service soup. For future stays if you find the soup is not at the desired tempurature, please feel free to contact our guest services and we will be happy to pick it up and warm for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
mt@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Trouble with existing reservation, front desk staff suddenly did not speak English anymore, contacted manager did not even bother to listen to the history but started right away with "Sorry, you have to accept...". Ended-up paying more than confirmed. Learned only after paying that breakfast was not included.
Overall not an experience I will repeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear mrsmith0815,

At Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre we are always appreciative of your valueable feedback. That being said, I am troubled to hear that the service you received at the front desk was unsatisfactory. Many of our front desk staff members have a very good English speaking level and are continually working to improve this as well. In regards to the miscommunication with your booking I will pass this feedback to our front office managment, but if you would like to discuss the matter further with more detail, please feel free to contact me directly. We strive on our great service and would like to take every measure to enhance your experience every visit. I would like to resolve this matter with you. I hope you will trust to return to our hotel in the future and we always look forward to welcoming you back.

Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
mt@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed only one night in this great hotel.
It seems that the rooms have been recently refurbished because they are great with a stunning view.
The buffet was very nice and the Dim Sum breakfast at the Chinese Restaurant was fantastic.

Room Tip: As high as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Brice,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the hotel facilities,service and food. We were delighted to receive such recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 for two nights. Checked in at nearly midnight but staff were friendly and efficient. The room was a great size and well equipped. Cleanliness was excellent. Mini bar well stocked and quite reasonable pricing.

Only wired internet in the rooms so iPad users beware.

Breakfast was really very good, great, fresh scrambled eggs, brought to my table by a helpful friendly European staff member. Excellent buffet choice, seemed to be good for other nationalities too.

Used the concierge to book a car, I needed to go to Zhongshan (about 1 1/2 hours away), nice car, reasonable price for the day, easy to arrange.

Location is great, literally 3 minutes walk from the Metro.

I will stay here again next time in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the hotel service, food and facilities. We were delighted to receive such recognition. As for the internet, actually you can use the free wifi internet in room. If you have any problems with the wifi, please contact our operators and I am sure they will help you with the wifi problem.

All Team Members at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards
Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#118 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.