We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crownplaza quality is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 2,546 hotels in Guangzhou
Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crownplaza quality is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have been here for a week.

The room was spacious but I had a suite. For a suite it was an ok size. The bathroom was fited with the things you might need and all was clean.

The room was fited with a large walk in closet and a big screen TV. The sitting area was not so very special but ok.

The Lobby bar was good but the menu was to limmited in my opinion. You could always eat at the fresh restaurant but that was the whole day buffet and that is not so my normal choice.

Breakfast was very good with choices of western as well as asian foods. Buffet style which is ok with me for breakfast.

The help I did get during for example rebooking of hotels etc was also very good. So all and all and would go here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre while you are travelling to Guangzhou! It was such an honor that we could have your comments and high valuation regarding to our service.

We are delight that you enjoyed our guest and breakfast in Fresh ADD restaurant ; it is our endeavor to ensure that we provide all the necessities to our discreet travelers within the hotel.
Next time you come to Guangzhou, please do contact our colleagues for more local information and I am sure that they are happy to show you the nice scenery and facility in Guangzhou. Hope you will also love Guangzhou.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre and wish you all the best!

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    82
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
17
9
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I've stayed in the Crowne Plaza in New York and couldn't praise it highly enough.

This one was a different matter.

When I first arrived I felt welcomed and found the staff could speak English.

After the second day there, my room had not been cleaned or tidied and I came back to find my bed still unmade (all this was chargeable locally by the hotel.) This was not the case in New York). The rooms itself was spacious and high up, with excellent views across the city. Could have done with a bit more attention to cleaning, especially in the corners and edges.

The wi-fi was good, available all over the hotel, which was one of the main reasons for booking this hotel.

The Conceige service was terrible. As we could not speak Chinese we asked them to book a flight to our next destination, Nanjing. When we arrived at the airport the check-in girl said our destination which was completely different. We then had to return to the hotel, had an argument with the Conciege and had to ask to speak to the hotel manager to get this mistake sorted out. We wasted a whole day.

Room Tip: All is not what it seems in China, beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre on your recent stay in Guangzhou. We would also express our appreciation for your comments with concern to the hotel services.

Please do accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback to the concerned department and corrective action has been taken.

We are highly appreciated for your constructive comments, which are extremely helpful for our improvement of service. I hope that this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be any of your assistance as I would be more than happy to help.


Molly Zhang
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in September on a business trip. I was told by a local friend that this 63-floor building used to be the tallest structure in the city and it is still referred to as "the 63-floor" by Guangzhou people. Standing in the room on a high floor, you can get a very good view of the city. I have been to Guagnzou many times but it was the first time that I saw this city from such a high perspective.

The building was recently renovated for the hotel before it opened this year. Rooms were spacious with brand new hardware and gadgets. Internet was free and there were plenty of electric outlets. Hotel staff was friendly. Breakfast was great with abundant food choices. The food and beverage manager, a young Dutch man, even stopped to chat with us because my colleague was his countryman. On our second day of stay there was a typhoon and people were lining up in front of the hotel to wait for taxis but there was none in sight. When I asked for directions to the nearest subyway station, a young customer service lady patiently gave me directions until I fully understood.

The only thing that was a problem was the elevators seem to be either inadequate or were running too slow. It took me almost 5 minutes on the last morning to get to the lobby from a high floor because all elevators were busy and some were taken down for maintenance. Other than that, I have nothging to complain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your wonderful experience you had with us during your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and provide the true hospitality of a 5 star hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a family trip to Guangzhou on 19-20 Nov and we booked 5 rooms in this hotel as recommended by my friend. The stay turned out to be quite good overall. We were impressed by the spacious room, and the professional team in the cafe who offered help on seating, parking and food demand etc in a nice and warm manner. We had a very pleasant stay and breakfast gathering in this hotel.

We checked out in the morning of 20th and planned to take a family picture in the lobby to have a record of the great time we spent in this hotel. While we were all set I approached a lobby officer to help us to take the photo. He rejected bluntly and said the hotel did not allow photo-taking. It was quite an embarrassment moment as I had my 12 senior family members line-up orderly in front of me with smiling faces ready for a photo. Though quite surprised, we respected the hotel policy and did not take the picture. But we would expect to be rejected in a more nice and professional manner. When we expressed this to the lobby officer before leaving the hotel, he simply repeated the policy again, and then look-up the sky. With the feeling of being ignored, our minibus left the hotel with 13 angry people inside.

My purpose of writing here is not to accuse a particular hotel officer. I think as a 5-star hotel, the service can be more flexible and customer oriented (e.g. advise the policy and then allow to take one photo for the group as exception) and at least the staff should be trained to say "No" in a better manner. I hope my reporting would be helpful to improve service in this hotel, as I do want to come back next time when I visit Guangzhou.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience with our spacious room, and the professional team in the cafe . All your great comments are the encouragement for us to continuously maintain the highest standards which you have experienced when you stayed with us.
However, please do accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused while you asked for photo-taking. We would like to show our gratitude to your kind understanding of our hotel policy and we have communicated your feedback to the concerned department.
Once again, thank you very much and for your recommendation, also we hope the unhappy experience will not deter your to visit us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be any of your assistance as I would be more than happy to help.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Crowne Plaza not what it once was... Late night arrival, straight to the bar, beverages ok but food it's too late and I thought 5 * stands for a 24h service. After some discussions the team finally sends the room service staff to at least get us a club sandwich. Dessert order, only one available from an anyway small selection of sweet stuff. The one available is a fruit salat that is quite likely swimming in sugar water at least since hours with all vitamins gone. Cheese cake? Not marked as a 24h menu item as the challenge for the staff probably would be too much to slice one although it is on the menu.

The rooms were quite ok, spacious although the requested king bed ended up to be a twin with about 1m width so watch out before you make a turn in the night as you might end up on the floor. Phillips iPod docking stations in the rooms are a good addition, so is the free wireless internet, even if the speed at times is a bit low. With the bed situation the PC upgrade to the next higher category but this little bed turned out a boomerang.

In general the hotel has a hygiene issue, especially the breakfast buffet! Breakfast coffee is served only if you're lucky, a "Thank you!" for the favor poring your tea is not even replied to with a "you're welcome" or so. The hotel management is invisible and that obviously reflects on the staff. The Expat Chef was the most visible one.

For the Priority Club late check out I had to talk to 2 people and insist due to "high occupancy".

The best service was probably the check in by the duty manager who was quite fast and as it seems even managed to dig out my PC number from their system.

Room Tip: Stay away from the twin beds if you're used to sleep in a proper KING size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your sharing with us. We do apologize for all the inconvenience that was caused. Your comments have been shared with our team and necessary steps have been taken to ensure that our service standards will be improved on your next visit.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre. Once I read your review I was very concerned to learn that you were not satisfied with our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
I hope that this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.


Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

A group of us travelling to Tibet, catching a flight in Guangzhou had an overnight at the Crown Plaza. We were met at the door AND inside by the front desk manager, greeting us and offering helps. We thought we were royalty. We had brought a LOT of extra stuff including bikes in boxes. The porters were very helpful and we never sensed that air of looking for more tip money for their services. It was genuine. I need to comment on their honesty as well. My roommate left a wad of cash on the bed not thinking - probably jet lagging. At dinner we had a manager come to tell us that the housekeeper, in turning down the bed reported it to him and asked my roommate to go to the room and get the cash and count it to make sure all was well. Service and style of these people - impeccable.

Room Tip: As it is city centre in the rather mundane city of Guangzhou I can't say there is any particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review during the recent stay with us.

It's delighted to hear that you and your friend had enjoyed your stay. Service is the most important training that we provide to all our colleagues and we happy to see that it has made a difference.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The hotel stay was very comfortable.The best thing about yhis location what we liked was its location.It is centrally located so we can go for shopping easily and so many restaurants around the place.The hotel rooms were also cosy.The staff is also very helpful.I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time in writing your review and your wonderful experience you had with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

As a 5 Star hotel, we dedicate ourselves to achieve the true hospitality and excel in our service standards. We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and provide a memorable stay.

Thank you for sharing with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.


Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#111 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.