We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of Regular Hotels, Here Is A Good Alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimelong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chimelong Hotel to your Saves list
Chimelong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 2,820 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Tired of Regular Hotels, Here Is A Good Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

After staying in many hotels downtown and getting tired of how the aging rooms lack maintenance, I was glad to try this one out.
Even though the rooms were not as fresh as expected, it was overall a great experience with not only a good bed but a spacious room with all the necessities.
In the safari ambiance, the restaurants are quite interesting, especially the Petrus.

This is quite far away from the downtown area (a good 30 mn) but worth it. And if you are coming with kids, there are plenty of activities (zoo, park, etc...).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    572
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
103
22
6
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

the hotel has the theme of a zoo or jungle which is very interesting to me. the entrance lobby was very cool. however there were so many people checking In. it took me 20 min to get a room (Omg). the room was big and I like the animal theme as well. the best of all was that I can get in and out of the theme park in just under one minute.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service is very poor, the food in the room service menu is bad, sold out and you have no choices at all. My husband and me stayed for 2 nights there on our business trip to Guangzhou and were really very disappointed. We had to wait for an hour and a half to get our room. And although the hotel has a lot of foreigners no one of the staff speaks even acceptable English. I had to spell Salt & Pepper twice to the room service before the lady understood what I meant. The breakfast is good but they are not kidding about the deadline of it. Because it’s so huge and hence very impersonal you don’t get a lot of help there when you are asking for activities to do downtown. And there is absolutely no internal communication; you have to explain yourself three times to three different people in two different receptions before you get what you want. And every request is answered with a question?!

Room Tip: We asked for an upgrade and we got one so you might want to try...we were staying in the hunter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we have stayed during conton fair for 4 nights. clean, fresh, new decorated, helpful staff, speak English okay. we have also been to water park which is inside the hotels garden it was a great experience. definitely recommend it. only bad part is you are quite far from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited Chimelong Hotel for 2D1N ovr the weekend.
First we went to the Waterpark till sunset, kids loved it. At 730pm we see the Circus (I recommend to pay extra 100RMB for VIP seats), was the best performance i have seen in years, better than Cirque de solie's,O, Quidam, Alegria, Saltimbanco, House of dancing Water....etc.
Next day we visited the zoo, walking and taking the touring bus for about 5 hours. Can feed giraffes and elephants, kids enjoyed.
Food was just so so. Hotel (mine is Tower 5) is just standard,

Room Tip: Ask agent and book for newer Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spend two days one night there thru joining a package tour in Hongkong. Took while to check in due to a lot of people arriving at the same time but could see the staff trying their best to make things go smooth. Huge room, fully equiped and matching the safari theme. Then had a nice lunch at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Went to safari zoo in the afternoon using the hotel shuttle bus. Lot of animals especially togers and pandas. Not to be missed. In the evening watched the circus show. Most enjoyable. The staffs there were all efficient, helpful and polite. Truly a most wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Avoid the holiday season. In fact go there on week days. I heard that during the holiday seasons and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the peak season. Both the theme parks and this hotel has been highly recommended by a few friends

1.the wait line for checking in and out are long. We arrived around noon, and could not get a room, have to leave the luggages and went to the park first.
2, the hotel room seems all right. If you pay more, the newer rooms may be better. The room had some wild life deco, the bath room could use some remodelling.
3, they also have rooms got view of white tigers in your living room,-really temptated to upgrade it.
4, the ground is nice-surrounded by trees and plants. From the lobby or the dinning room you can see white tigers, or flamingos in the court yard.
5 the hotel has many restaurants, all pricy. We did not get to try all of them. The one we tried does have great quality.
6 the hotel has many amenities on site,- bowlling alley, game arcade, shops, in door and outdoor pools,
7. They also have travel agents onsite selling tickets for buses or boats, if you coming from Hongkong. In short, the hotel provide a lot of convienience to all kinds of traveller.
8, other benefits staying at this hotel, you get very nice seating at the circus show, which made huge difference for us, who could not to get to the show too early. Other useful benefit includes fast pass for visiting the water park and other theme park, my son got played all the major rides in the water park without having to wait very long.
I would recommend this hotel to family with small kids or who want to enjoy multiple parks but with time constraints.

The service is good. Not like US, you have to prepay the room.
The room is clean. The hotel could improve some area, to make it more the compatible with international standard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimelong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimelong Hotel

Address: Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#128 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chimelong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chimelong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chime Long Guangzhou
Hotel Chime Long

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimelong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.