We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, will definately come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimelong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chimelong Hotel to your Saves list
Chimelong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 2,830 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great resort, will definately come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Wish I knew about this place earlier, such a great weekend trip! We got an excellent deal from China Travel Services in HK, the whole weekend was around $1200pp for overnight hotel including breakfast, round trip ferry tickets and shuttle service from pier to hotel, ticket to Chime Long Circus and ticket to 1 of the themes parks.

It was a 2 hours ferry ride from China Ferry Terminal in Kowloon to Lian Hua Mountain, Panyu with a stopover at Nansha, the ferry seats were 3/5/3 configuration and was really full both ways so get you assigned seats asap. You could also upgrade to VIP seats if they are available. We took the 9am ferry but in retrospect should have gone for the 11am one so we didn't have to wake up so early. The complimentary shuttle to the hotel takes about 30mins, try to sit in the front as there are no air con and mosquitoes at the back in some of the buses.

Hotel is quite big, fortunately they separate the check in area for tour groups and individuals so even if you hit the peak hours and the line looks long, it's actually pretty quick. If you bought a package as well you have to line up to pick up your tickets at the concierge. Wifi is free and rooms had full amenities, do request upper floor and non smoking if needed. They had mosquito plugs in the rooms but we actually didn't use it and only got bitten at the zoo. Rooms are alright and seemed clean but the walls are paper thin.We stayed at the zebra block and was the closest to the waterpark and also to the Butterfly resturant which we thought was the best. The buffet breakfast at the tiger restaurant was a blast, huge selection of food and the restaurant had a glass area of flamingos and white tigers you can eat breakfast next to. Avoid the japanese restaurant, all their food except the rice was clearly frozen, the best restaurant had to be the Butterfly restuarant which had a huge selection and very tasty food. (Yummy dimsum, bbq skwers and pyramid shaped fried rice!)

Massage was excellent and clean in individual private rooms. They had foot and body massage and was 20% off before 8pm. Book earlier as they don't have enough rooms especially at night when there's nothing else to do. The resort is about 30-40mins away from town. We went to the circus the night we arrived (10mins walk from hotel) and the zoo (free shuttle from hotel) the next day, highly recommend both. After checking out remember to book your free shuttle from the hotel to terminal, everyone takes the 6pm (last) ferry back so make sure you wait outside the lobby for the shuttle 15 mins before.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    576
    84
    17
    11
See reviews for
115
22
6
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent a weekend at the Chimelong resort and truly enjoyed it. There were a lot of people waiting at check-in, but it was done quite quickly. Our room had a king size bed for us and a bunk bed for the kids. Rooms are very spacious. There are a lot of things to see and do there. My husband and the kids spent the entire day at the water park while I enjoyed the massages offered by the hotel, which BTW, were not so expensive. We only went to the White Tiger Restaurant and the Butterfly Gourmet for our meals there. The White Tiger was my family´s favorite. It had a good mix of Asian and Western cuisine and the white tiger atrium was impressive. The Circus is not to be missed, it´s quite impressive. We also went to the games room ,which is quite small, but has some arcade games, ping pong table, bowling alley, chess room, etc. My only complaint is that the room we were given, in block 5, had a part view of the water park (nice) and was right in front of the hotel worker´s dorms. In the evening, my kids wanted the window drapes open so they could see the park and you could see the workers relaxing in the evening smoking and watching us. Not very comfortable, but we just closed the drapes and that was that. But, in all, this place was great and we will definately be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

It is a hotel that is suitable for families and offers a great vacation with the clean environment and serene surroundings. It is located in the outskirts which gives tourists a relax feel and it is definitely the best place to unwind from the hectic city life. The hotel had a grand entrance and the hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and we were able to live in luxury during the vacation. It had a bunk bed for children and it is definitely an all time favourite for families with children.
The theme parks were amazingly fabulous as it offers a wide range of rides from the mild to the thrilling. The queues were moving and the waiting time was reasonable. We did not have to wait more than 15 - 20 minutes even though it was China's Children's Day. The rides are definitely a getaway from the stressful city life and you'll get a chance to scream it all out.
The wet park was remarkably clean and the water was crystal clear. The rides were again amazingly thrilling and fun.
The safari was fascinating. There was a wide variety of animals and the animals look good and healthy unlike in many zoos where most of them are half dead!!!
The circus is of international standards and the performances were world class.
Definitely a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation and a place of comfort and luxury. A must visit for every individual!!!
Chimelong, we love you!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This Chimelong Hotel is located at the outskirt area, about 20 minutes away from the city centre - Qi Fu, but are closed to the industrial area, such as factories Hitachi, etc. It would be ideal for people who attend conference + holiday.

The only problem I had with this hotel was at the time of reservation, I faxed my reservation details from Hong Kong, to book for 2 rooms, but upon arrival I was told that only 1 room was booked. Fortunately, they managed to sort out the problem fairly quickly. So, make sure that you book your hotel and followed with written confirmation.

Foyer is very well decorated with sample of animals, such as deer, and giraffe. And most people are impressed with the White Tigers Cafe.

Hotel rooms was exceptionally large, and it feels living in a large apartment than just a hotel room. Security guards patrolling 24 hours in 'Section 9' where the Executive Suites are located. Fantastic landscaping/garden. I'm very delighted the fact that there is always little golf buggies waiting at the foyer to pick up passengers from Section 9 to the main foyer building.

Breakfast was alright, but the circles presentative was impressive. Trip to Chimelong Safari Park arranged by the hotel shuttle was handy, and the transportation to the Crocodile Farm was very convenient too.

Well, speaking about transport to the nearest town, Qi Fu. I suggest that you use the same driver who sent you to your hotel in the first place. Although, they looks a bit doggy, and I doubted if they are licensed taxi driver as they all uses their private vehicles to take people around. I guess, it is safer to have male adults travelling together in a group.

Overall, it is of excellent services, location, and quality 5 stars hotel. It is definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Excellent Trip, though difficult to communicate and travel. Enjoyed our time there, esp. the Wild life safari and Circus. Must go for the circus. Must spend at least 2 nights at this place, since there's lots to see. The White tiger restaurant was amazing. Overall our stay was short and great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Spent 4 nights at Chimelong Hotel. Had the Hunter family room with bunks for the children. Very nice hotel. Safari theme. Short walk to Circus in the evenings. Shuttle bus to theme park - but can walk. Went to crocodile park which was horrible. Animals kept in awful cages, some looked very stressed. Thai crocodile show was good. Safari park was fantastic - can get up and close to the animals. Lots of tigers (white, golden, etc), cubs in incubators. Circus very enjoyable. At the hotel having breakfast whilst looking out onto the white tigers was amazing. Restaurants very good. Was able to check-in early which was great seeming we'd done the overnight train from Guilin to Guanghzou. Would recommend if you don't want to stay right in the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

To reach the hotel you can take a bus from Hong Kong or Kowloon. Or you can take a boat ride from Kowloon. The Pan Yu area where the hotel is situated is very close to Guangzhou City with convenient transport system.

Near this hotel, you can also make side trips to "Bao Mo Yuen" a beautiful Chinese garden and museum and also to visit Lotus mountain.

The theme of this hotel is Africa. You can see 2 white tigers when you are at the restaurants having breakfast. The rooms are big and very clean. The areas where they kept the animals are so clean that you at once know that the management pays special attention to the cleanliness of the whole area.

There is an over 200 space golf practice range, a water park, a huge zoo (where a male monkey winks at all the ladies passing by); a huge dome theater where there is a "cirque-de-soli" type show on every night!

I took my son and my 80 year old mother there, my mum was so happy, she was smiling the whole day long. You won't go wrong with bringing anyone there, I highly recommended this hotel for a relaxing and fun fill holiday.

As for business people who attends the Trade Fairs in Guangzhou, the train station is so near that they can do business in the day time then return and relax in the evening. The family would not have been bored. Why stay in a Guangzhou City hotel?

Not to mention the Chinese, Japanese and the buffet restaurants- every one is fantastic! I absolutely enjoyed my stay there. Pan Yu area is famous for their cuisine and you will not be disappointed with the restaurants inside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimelong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimelong Hotel

Address: Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#115 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chimelong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Chimelong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chime Long Guangzhou
Hotel Chime Long

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimelong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.