We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.367 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510065, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 2,545 hotels in Guangzhou
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A decent stay...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Some friends were in GZ on business and so they booked their rooms and mine here. Rate was 410Y which was reasonable. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the Garden Hotel, one of the airport bus stops.

I was only here for two nights so I didn't use any of the hotel's facilities. I took a walk around and they have a business center, barber shop, massage spa/suana, several restaurants, and high-end luxury brand clothing stores. I found the rooms in good condition and wi-fi was included with my room, although a hotel employee had to come to my room and install a wi-fi router on the desk.

Although I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants, my friends' clients took us all to dinner at a Chinese place next to the hotel (note: as you exit the hotel and onto the sidewalk, turn right and walk about 100 meters). It is not a fancy place, more like a hole-in-the-wall type joint, but the Chinese food was really good here and likely not expensive. There was no signs in English, so I took a photo of the only sign in front (Xi Fang Cai). See attached photo.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    459
    98
    23
    10
See reviews for
2
6
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Generally it is passable for a hotel stay with most service as what you would expect from any hotel. They check room cards after midnight so that is a plus. The bad thing is the bed, which is rock hard and unlike most 5 star hotels, it is more like 3 star quality. Will not recommend for anything other than business travellers. Lastly, one rude staff at the hotel lobby spoilt my entire impression of this hotel. I had to meet a business associate in the lobby and had forgotten to bring my phone from my room, therefore I asked a service staff standing at the lobby if there is somewhere I can make a quick call to my associate's cellphone. To my disbelief, he replied "find a phone yourself" in mandarin in a very disrespecting tone and even starred at me like I was the one being ridiculous. Very disappointed in how this staff treats his hotel guests. Would have made a complain but my associate arrived and I had to leave. Not the treatment one would expect from a self claim 5/4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 2002 (back then it was a Best Western). In 2006, the hotel was sold and completely remodeled. This property is in my favorite section of Guangzhou (very upscale and international). The cost is 3/4 of the price of other near-by hotels (the best pricing is through Expedia or Ctrip). Location is great, walk to subway (around the corner) and shopping surrounds the property. I'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I was 3 nights in there mini bar was too bad and hotel charge us for bottle of water but most of hotels is free for 2 small bottle in each day but unfortunately hotel charge us 60 rmb for each small bottle and unfortunately no print the price on menu of mini bar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good location. Free and good in room Wifi. Everything ( bed, pillow, room size and cleaniness) up to its should be standard. Good location.

Standard Cantonese dimsum, at similar prices, should cross the bridge to Garden hotel for better quality.

But at its rate (~RMB530), very good value. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you're used to real 5 star, this is definitely not even remotely close to 5 star. They don't show you to a table at the breakfast buffet, they can't really speak english in the front very well, and the rooms suck. This isn't even as good as a 4 star! Also, TV was mediocre, and the location isn't too great. Its 8 stations from the railway station, and its not in Tianhe. Tianhe is the best area to be in because of the malls there, this has a mall, but there is no food at the mall. Only plus is there is a Starbucks around the corner.

Room is also totally outdated, and their credit card processing won't accept discover card unlike every single other hotel in China I have been to. I was disappointed. If they said 3 or MAYBE 4 star, fine, but they have plaques and awards all over saying "5 star" and "China 5 star." Who did they bribe to get those ratings? Its definitely not any reputable company that gave them 5 star, its a Chinese 5 star rating for people who don't know what 5 star is.

Also, this is one of those hotels where 90% of the customers here smell like they shower in cheap cologne. I hope that says enough. Its OK but not 5 star, and that's why I was so disappointed.

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet isn't great. If you have a discover card, you can't use it for your deposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Location is the best for this hotel. Stayed 6nights because of the better price during Trade Fair.
Room we had was small. We asked for a non-smoking room but we got smoking one. Food was very expensive and not good. once we went for dinner buffet because it was raining outside and Sultan Resto nearby was full and had long queue, so we had no choice but to stay in the hotel. Dinner Buffet was dissapointing, not so much choice, doesn't taste any good, we paid almost 600rmb for 2person. OMG! breakfast buffet was just fine, not much we can eat, nothing special.

I suggest if u can go out, better eat outside.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel

Address: No.367 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510065, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#41 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#53 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
#53 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guangzhou
Guangzhou Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.