We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury prison” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Swan Hotel

Save Saved
You added White Swan Hotel to your Saves list
White Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Shamian South Street, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510133, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 2,564 hotels in Guangzhou
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury prison”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here when we adopted our daughter. The staffing was creepy - each floor had a uniformed monitor making a list of when you leave and return. Any hallway activity, no matter how quiet is not permitted. Presenting our child with a birthday cake without renting a banquet room was not permitted either. The entire staff is polite and formal without any genuine friendliness. My wife is Chinese (from China) and speaks Mandarin fluently and was unable to pierce the rigid and guarded way in which each guest is treated. Clean and quiet yes, but if you want nice, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SW England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Was in Shamian last year and the White Swan was gutted. Just the floors left as most of the walls have been removed. Didn't seem to be much work going on so not sure when it will reopen. Those who complained about it being tired should be satisfied now !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for ten days in May of 2006. I found the hotel clean and very safe. The hotel staff was great. We only spoke English and the staff went out of their way to help us.
View from the room of the Pearl River was lovely. Walking in the neighborhood was safe and interesting.
Food was very expensive. And finding familiar food was an issue. For Americans who say they could eat Chinese food everyday be forewarned Chinese food in China is not the same as American Chinese food.
Though the room was very comfortable the beds were firm.
We were there for adoption of a precious angel. We plan to go back there in the next few years.

Go to the pearl market. Pearls at great prices.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We first stayed here in early 90s and the hotel was fresh, clean and fancy in comparison to the other hotels we could have stayed in. The restaurants were very good and we had a lovely view from our suite. Most of this is still true, however, the hotel needs a refresh and some sprucing up. In addition, many new hotels have opened and the competition is much more fierce than when the White Swan first opened, so it needs to keep up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I remember coming here as a kid back in 1988. Back then this was by far the top hotel in Guangzhou or possible China. Even Queen Elizabeth stayed here as well as many presidents and stars.

It use to be included in the book World's top hotels. It has seen its days though, it is getting a bit tired being around for so many decades, but some of its past oppulence still shows. The rooms are large and comfortable and recently had an update, and the atrium with the man made lake and waterfall is still beautiful. It may no longer be the top hotel in China but the price reflects this so why not.

A lot of Western families that come adopting Chinese kids stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Hotel

Address: No.1 Shamian South Street, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510133, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#83 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#220 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Swan Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Otel so you can book your White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Swan
White Swan Guangzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.