We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Save Saved
You added China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 2,387 hotels in Guangzhou
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Handy business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stay here because it is next door to the exhibition centre at Dongfang Binguan. The rooms are good, beds comfortable, service efficient and food good. There is always plenty of staff on duty. Not all the staff have equal amounts of English though, so it's good to know some Chinese (Mandarin or Cantonese)

Room Tip: If you're a Marriott Rewards member you'll get a good upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    683
    121
    21
    13
See reviews for
60
35
35
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a typical Marriott! Very conventional but effectively designed. Nothing spectacular but serves all your need. After erecting in Guangzhou for nearly 2 decades, China Hotel is still as it was. Very convenient to eating and shopping areas. Metro exit is just next to the hotel, nice service and despite its history, the hotel is still very nicely maintained. Very clean, good bed and comfortable set up. Service is extremely nice. I forgotten to take back my credit card and once I arrived at the room, the phone rang and a staff arrived and apologized. My only negative comment is the reduction of shuttle service to East Station. East Station is famous for the long taxi queue. If the management could do something to help the train passengers, it will do them a big help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been staying at the China Hotel for about a month now and can say without a doubt that this hotel is wonderful. It is a "monster" of a hotel ...but even though it is big ...you have that small hotel feeling where the staff gets to know you ...even the General Manager. He can be found at least once a day in the lobby greeting guests and chatting with them. The hotel has a few restaurants and all have fabulous food. Food Street has amazing fried rice. Unlike other hotels ...this one always has taxis available when you need them. It is conveniently located right above a metro stop. It has a starbucks and a 7-Eleven two doors down. The park across the street is beautiful and relaxing with a museum and a lake with small boats. The hotel has very comfortable rooms in the Marriott style and very spacious suites. Make sure you come stay at this fantastic property ...you wont regret it!

Room Tip: It is China ...so you will find many smoking rooms ...but make sure you let them know what you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This large and busy hotel ticks the boxes in many areas. Helpful staff, nice rooms and comfortable beds. Location is great for shopping areas with a number of large malls located nearby. The Club area is popular and the staff there are helpful with translations and other extras like late check out. We found the staff to be friendly and always willing to give advice. The food and drinks in the Lounge area were excellent and plentiful. There is a nice spa located at the back of the building. An excellent choice for a stay in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel, 7th march 2013 f 5 nights. Still here at time if writing. Cristine Caminiti After reading many reviews mostly good, I'm was shocked to read the few bad ones. Nothing of those bad reviews met us at this hotel. We arrived at 9 am and were very welcomed for an early checkin at no additional costs. The hotels attached to a mall so Starbucks nail salon hair salon post office 7 11 is all available. Biggest bonus, metro literally on the door step. Yeixui park a stroll across the road for early morning walk or the lantern festival which we went to today. Hotel was almost 100 percent full yet every need and assistance was met. I'm not sure what rooms others stayed in who complained but for 127 dollars per night our room on 15th floor is outstanding value for money. Mattress is lovely, room is modern and decorated beautifully can watch tv from the bath. Gym is well functional spa, a tad expensive but there are many massage outlets in the building. Never tried the dining outlets but I'm sitting in the pool bar now in the gorgeous evening weather and it's perfect. It's not the four seasons in that sense of luxury but it's pretty dam awesome value for money. I honestly honestly give it a 9 all round. Location location location. Two minutes drive to all the wholesale fashion market district and just one metro stop away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is located near the center of Guangzhou. I lived during the night before the Lattern Festival, there is a night lattern next to the park to the hotel, which is quite nice!

The hotel seems renovated with a Chinese style theme (thus that's called a China Hotel), managed under Marriott. I am a platinum member and room was upgraded to executive. I was told there is no suite available for twin bed (if I booked King bed I suppose to be upgraded). However, there is free buffet breakfast and lounge access for platinum member.

The breakfast is of good variety of food, the lounge is also nice and it's opened till mid-night and you can always get your cup of coffee there! (with some cookies if you like)

The room is nice, with all the amenity in it , even including a bowl of bath salt. The only drawback is there is not much view in my room (was right near a construction site). I was able to catch a taxi easily in Hotel (perhaps it's not peak hour).

The shuttle bus to Hong Kong is just downstairs to the hotel, cost about Rmb95/trip, which is quite convenience for me to get back home.

Room Tip: Try to fight for a suite if you're gold or platinum members, it seems they're pretty kind to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're not in Tian He, this is a place to consider. While it's old, the interior room decor is certainly nice and comfortable.

Pro
There is a starbucks, deli + wine shop in the hotel.
next to a subway stop
friendly staff (but not necessarily efficient - somehow I think it's the hotel set up)
easy to get a cab
close to the airport 20-25mins
nice bathrooms!

Con
always busy at all times of the day and night
you can occasionally hear people speaking outside your room as they walk by

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.... i've stayed in north wing and south wing, i prefer the north wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott
Address: No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#84 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, is one of Marriott International's flagship hotels in the Asia-Pacific region. The hotel enjoys a prime location in the heart of Guangzhou, with easy access to Pazhou CIEF Complex and Guangzhou East Railway Station by Metro, and only thirty-five minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport. It is the closest international five-star rated hotel to the new airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.