We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 2,387 hotels in Guangzhou
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice but far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went to this hotel on several ocassions when the canton fair was held in Lihua, it was the best hotel to stay since it was connected to the fair and was an ellegant hotel with great rooms and food and also it was one of the few american chains in town so it was the place to go. Now with so many alternatives closer to the Pazhou complex starting from the Grand Hyatt, Four Seasons, and Ritz with almost the same room rates all the way to the Shangri La and the Westin at are across and connected to the fair it virtually useless to go to this hotel. As for the service and the room quality, the hotel is now old and you will definitively have better of this at the other hotels mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    683
    121
    21
    13
See reviews for
60
35
35
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Fabulous spa with first rate massages. Tried the vigorous sports massage after a long day. My sister had the foot massage, very good as they are experts in reflexology, treat yourself!

Glad fresh OJ is back in the lounge and better food selection recently. Really can’t fault China Hotel on location, accommodation and service, we’ve been staying here for years.

Room Tip: Executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Executive room during stayed 23/12-26/12, Very high service standard with well trained staff, Lots of choices & wonderful breakfast. Location right at the MRT station. No complaint, no regret to stay. Definitely will recommended to friends and must come to stay with them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the China Hotel in August 2012 while adopting our son. It was a haven! The rooms, while relatively small, are well-appointed, clean, comfortable, and largely quiet. Maybe most-importantly in Guangzhou in August though, they were pleasently cool!! Our sons, ages four and two, LOVED the pool which our room overlooked and liked the play area which is pretty big. Having a Starbucks and a few dining opitions as well as a few small stores *in* the hotel "complex" was nice, and the short walk to the 7-11 and McDonald's was a blessing! We were also able to hit a couple restaurants and shopping areas frequented by the locals. There is also a large park nearby. The breakfast was vast and delicious even though the cooks look less than enthused to be making it for us. ;) Since we had our adoption agency looking out for us and taking care of most of our details, we didn't have a chance to interact with the staff, but the few times we did were positive experiences. Although we were sad not to be staying on Shamian Island for this adoption, we are extremely pleased this is the hotel of choice for our adoption agency. It's a great, beautiful hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas and New Year period. We had an excellent buffet on Christmas Eve with plenty of variety for all tastes. Overall I couldn't fault the hotel, the Concierge was helpful, all staff spoke good English. It was very clean, comfortable, great location for the metro, which is so easy to use and so cheap. We went to the Chimelong Safari park, which was great and again so easy to get to. The weather was very up and down and it was difficult to know what to wear each day. It would have been nice to have been able to use the pool which looked lovely. The gym had everything you would want and was quiet, but then I think it was a quiet time of the year. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would happily of extended it.

Room Tip: Executive was worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Guangzhou is the industrial capital of China. With thousands of factories and traffic jams that go on forever, it’s nice to get to a hotel like the Marriott Guangzhou so that you can unwind. The good news is that the hotel is located in an area where you have plenty of options for eating and shopping. There’s even a bus stop for a trip to Maccau at the corner.
The rooms are luxurious and room service is perfect. Everything is clean and the amenities are great. I wish all my meetings could have been scheduled at this location.

Room Tip: High floors with a city view. The pool view, as you can see, is just OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful receptionists. Room is well-lit and clean with comfortable beds and is reasonably spacious. Just a few minutes walk out of the hotel is the metro. Starbucks is within the hotel building itself and Mc Donalds is nearby. Not much to do around the hotel ... but there is a well-known park nearby. However with the metro nearby it is easy to get to some places of interest which are just a few stops away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott
Address: No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#123 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, is one of Marriott International's flagship hotels in the Asia-Pacific region. The hotel enjoys a prime location in the heart of Guangzhou, with easy access to Pazhou CIEF Complex and Guangzhou East Railway Station by Metro, and only thirty-five minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport. It is the closest international five-star rated hotel to the new airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou to your Saves list