We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou to your Saves list
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 2,847 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful receptionists. Room is well-lit and clean with comfortable beds and is reasonably spacious. Just a few minutes walk out of the hotel is the metro. Starbucks is within the hotel building itself and Mc Donalds is nearby. Not much to do around the hotel ... but there is a well-known park nearby. However with the metro nearby it is easy to get to some places of interest which are just a few stops away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    759
    152
    31
    16
See reviews for
90
46
41
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First up, this is a great hotel. the rooms and service are all up to Marriott's standards, except for the rude security guy at the elevator who scoffed at me when I asked for directions to the lobby to check in.

The rooms, though showing some wear and tear, especially on the bathroom "marbled floor tiles" that is peeling, is comfy and spacious. Pity about the lingering smell of smoke in this non-smoking property. Chine people, apparently just can;t stick to the no-smoking policy. To digress, I have seen men blatantly smoking in air-conditioned spaces in the city when there are signs and even attendants around them turning to a blind eye in trying to enforce the no-smoking rule.

The beds are firm and typical Marriott, and shower had a rain shower (with not that strong pressure, and ended up like a drizzle rather than rain) faucet in addition to the hand held faucet (with stronger pressure). The tub is besides the shower in the same enclosed bath.

TV had great channel selection of both local and international channels including CNN. Spotted the room service menu but foods were not that appealing; I rather you head downstairs to Food Street (chinese cafe) that stays open till midnight for amazing shrimp wantons and perfect congee.

If you feel adventurous, there is a MacDonald's opp the hotel.

The only convenient aspect for travelers is the proximity to the subway stop next to it. But other than a gigantic park near the hotel, you really have to take the train to reach major tourist sites and attractions. Subway tickets are cheap, ay 3-8 chinese yuan per ticket. The machines in the stations only accepts 5 and 10 yuan notes and 1 yuan coins, but you can break your notes at the counters with the attendants who, weirdly, are not allowed to sell any tickets. The single journey tickets are chips that you tap to go into the station, and drop into the coin slots on your way out of the gantries.

If you are here for the fair, then this hotel is perfect as it is directly opposite the fair grounds, but for people like us traveling, this location is only ok...

Back to the hotel. the front desk staff are friendliest and I suggest you approach them and skip the not very helpful concierge if you ever need to ask on anything. This is a huge property and security is actually very efficient in keeping weirdos out as you need key access to get to your floor in the building.

Did I mention there is also a Starbucks in the building?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great hotel. Our room and bathroom was large, clean, and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. There is a large desk work area, and my internet connection was very good. The breakfast was great, with super service. Other meals were very good also. They have a beautigul garden and pool area on the top of the 4th floor. Our granddaughters loved it. Marriott has an international staff training program and you can tell since they have consistently excellent service. There is also a 24 hour McDonalds just across the parking lot, great, if you are traveling with children. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel, and will stay there again when in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quite good but not perfect location near the metro station and shopping centers, nice and helpful reception staff, modern design. The room was not extremely spacious but quite comfy for short stay, clean bathroom, but slow room service. Very poor Wifi conection, it was very difficult even to check the emails. No way to use IE. Good breafast and service in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I noticed the reviews about how this is a popular place for those who are there adopting children from China. Well--we were one of those families so I never even really took notice of how many kids were there because we were in the middle of it all! Regardless, this hotel was top notch. The doormen will not let you open the door--they are on top of things and constantly trying to pamper you, taking care of you constantly. Even when my son dropped a cracker on the floor in the lobby, a staff member would not let me pick it up and insisted that he clean up the mess!

We upgraded our room and we were so glad that we did. The room was huge! I loved the bathroom, as the tub and shower were separate and so nice. The housekeeping staff cleaned the room so well every time. We were there for 7 nights and we were never disappointed! There is a mini fridge there and you can request that they remove all of the items in there and place your own items to avoid paying $5 or more for a bottle of water!

There is a 7-11 attached to the hotel and it was so convenient for buying water, sodas, and snacks. There is a McDonald's right across the parking lot and for a family with 4 children, this was so helpful.

If you want to go somewhere to eat or shop, all you have to do is go to the concierge and they will write things down in Chinese. Then you walk out and get in the line for a taxi and hand them the note from the concierge. We went to Walmart, Shamian Island, and to a couple of restaurants.

Also, the underground subway system is right at the hotel. We ventured out and used it to get to a big mall and it was so cheap (and fun!)! The concierge can also help you with instructions for that.

We loved the breakfast buffet! There were so many choices, both Chinese and Western style. The staff there also aimed to please.

My daughter and I got a pedicure downstairs and this was a real treat. I got a massage at the spa and it was so nice and relaxing. This hotel has so many things--spa, restaurants, etc. You could stay there and never have to leave but I do recommend taking a taxi and seeing Shamian Island as well as seeing the Walmart there---it's very different from those in the states!

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end of the hallway and it was very quiet. We never heard our neighbors at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is quite busy with westerners picking up their adopted babies/children. So the hotel can be quite noisy and an obstacle course in the lobby and in the restaurant for breakfast.

Rooms were beautifully appointed and quite large with a sitting area, work station and large flat screen tv that can swivel to the bed or to the sitting area. Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious with both a tub and shower.

Breakfast buffet was fantastic with so many choices for various palettes and foreign tastes. I would eat a nice breakfast and end up skipping lunch. The staff in the restaurant were great, always cleaning off tables and providing fresh juice upon request and coffee/tea any way you like it.

The location is not the best for sightseeing and shopping. I would recommend to stay at the Marriott in the downtown area, closer to the shopping areas, as there are more restaurant options as well. Any of the restaurants and shopping is easily accessible by taxi.

Overall, for business purposes, the hotel was very clean, quiet (in my room) and comfortable. If you dont mind the Disney atmosphere at breakfast and in the lobby, its a nice hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from any guests who may be families adopting or traveling with young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. We were very travel weary by the time we got here and only had a night here but were returning in two more nights for another night. We tried to figure out a way to stay here the whole time but had to leave to get to another part of China for a couple days. We could not wait to get back here. Lots of shopping attached to the hotel. Lots of restaurant choices in and attached to the hotel. Wonderful breakfast! The best of the whole 2 week trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#19 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 2,131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#20 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#47 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#21 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
3.7 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#7 of 2,847 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: No.122 Liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510015, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#83 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Although, our dedicated Chefs will take you on a culinary Journey through Western and Asian Cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.