We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good large hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou to your Saves list
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China (Yuexiu District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #32 of 2,882 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good large hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The service is hit and miss... Meaning the staff can be really attentive or sometimes fail to see you and you can be waiting for a little while. Overall the atmosphere is good, no real personal touch but all the amenities you would need after a long day at work! I would stay again... The rooms are very comfortable and have all the necessary extra's you require!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GM-TheBarrhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed for 1 night at this property while attending the Canton Fair and can say that my expectations were more than met. Check in was very easy as they have a dedicated elite desk. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The Executive lounge was very large and had a wide variety of items to choose from including made to order eggs at breakfast as well as a number of choices for the evening happy hour. Overall, this is a very good hotel and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and a s a regular hotel user across the world found it disappointing. The instructions on how to use the safe deposit box are unclear (4 digits or 6) and it took two calls to get someone to open it after it locked. The layout of the lobby is impossible to navigate an know how to find the elevators as the shops have taken over. In the bar could not sign the bill as the hotel computer could not match my name and room number despite having both right! On a multiple day trip, the internet service says 24 hours but kicks you out at noon:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winenfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to canton fair and stayed at China Hotel.
Room was newly renovated and spacious.
Decor excellent with spotless crisp white sheets.
Bathroom new with large window into bedroom making bathroom appear bigger and brighter.
Room smelt of aromatherapy products ....wonderful!
Bus service offered to fair excellent....
Starbucks in hotel building ....added bonus

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really good room, in fact GREAT room.

Nice exec lounge BUT massively understaffed,so no one could greet me and help me find a table at breakfast and it was messy too. Not nice when you want to eat. The hot breakfast service was a little slow too, they should think of another way to do this when the hotel is extremely busy.

Otherwise its great, everyone is very professional.

Actually a bit out of the way, for my meetings this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePeroxideFiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location. Good services. Helpful staff. Must try the hotel's "food court"... super convenient and good food. Hotel decor is a bit out dated. Everything is standard... but expected a bit more for the price I paid (compare to other hotels in the area).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loileduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou at the beginning and end of our trip for a total of 3 nights in September. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, from the bell boy to the door person to the check-in staff to the housekeeping staff. Most spoke English. The bell boys were tripping over each other to help you with your luggage. Front desk always answered any calls to them with "Hello, How can I help you Mr. ---". Very good service overall.

Room amenities included soft slippers, sewing kit, Q-tips, comb, toothbrush. Just place your tired looking leather shoes in the shoeshine basket to receive a free shoeshine! Room has a safe in it. Bedding was very comfortable. Large screen LCD TV, mini bar fridge in room. Free coffee and 2 local bottled water bottles in room. Don't touch the Evian water, it will cost you. A/C was pretty quiet.

The first night we got a room on the 10th floor facing some tired looking buildings. It was a large room and we were very happy with it. It was furnished well and all the Oriental artwork and decor looked good. The shower was separate from the bathtub. The second time we checked into the hotel, at the end of our trip, we got a room on the 14th floor in a different wing of the building. While everything was as good as the first room, the water drained very slow in the bathtub and the shower wasn't separate. The shower head was very low for me. The bathroom was all marble tiles. There is a weigh scale in every bathroom.The entire hotel was renovated recently.

You can get to China Hotel easily by Metro subway from Baiyun International Airport. Just follow all the English signs to get there. Take Line 3 (Orange Line) from the airport and get off at Jiahewanggang station and transfer to Line 2 (Blue Line) heading towards Yuexiu Park. Get off at Yuexiu Park and exit the station by the D1 exit. When you use this exit you end up at the side entrance of the China Hotel. It takes about 35 minutes by Metro subway. All stops are announced in English and there is a map of all stops above each door. A very good system indeed.

We took the airport shuttle bus back to the airport at the end of our trip. That took 35 minutes also. You catch this bus at the Dong Feng Hotel, right next door to the China Hotel. Just walk to the right of the Dong Feng Hotel (when you are facing it) to the end of the driveway. Enter the tiny office on the right side to buy your bus ticket. They run about every 15 - 20 minutes. The bus is air conditioned.

Convenient location to shopping area around Guangzhou Railway Station (one subway station away). There is a McDonalds restaurant in front of the main entrance of the hotel. There is also a sushi restaurant in the hotel area which is pretty good and charged reasonable prices. The hotel has a very large pool. There are free English and Chinese newspapers on each floor by the elevator. The lobby is nice and warm but the couches were not very comfortable.
We did not try the spa or pool at the hotel. We had breakfast each morning at McDonalds. It was just too convenient!

I definitely recommend this China Marriot Hotel and we WILL definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gymnasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#49 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#15 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
3.7 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#20 of 2,882 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#28 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#73 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing